Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenSSH FTP Server for Ubuntu 18.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Been using OpenSSH FOR MANY YEARS

  • January 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It’s an all in one for secure access and file transfers to machine across the lan, wan, and internet.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the security requirements don’t match the server and it can be difficult to figure out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in infrastructure so accessing many machines from Linux to Solaris to AIX as well as machines in AWS is very convenient with OpenSSH.


    Retail

Very capable remote login software.

  • December 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The degree of protecrion given to avoid unauthorized access.
What do you dislike?
Not as easy to deploy as more commercial products.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to mobitor business securely when away from the site.


    ANKIT A.

openSSH in action

  • December 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use , familiar command like access
What do you dislike?
nothing as such to dislike as of now , this software is satisfying my project needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
connecting to remote mechine and provides authentication


    Christopher M.

Our default SSH server on RedHat

  • November 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have been using OpenSSH on our RedHat 6 and RedHat 7 servers for several years. I'm not sure if this is somethibng that comes default on Rackspace's Redhat servers or if they make it for us. Either way it generally just works. The thing I like most about it is that I have no problem running our JSCH programs that connect to the various servers running SSH from within a Java Thread
What do you dislike?
One thing I disliked, and this might be nitpicking or might be my ignorance, but I couldn't get it working on Windows with Cygwin. For whatever reason I just couldn't get it working
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins automation. We've always used SSH for remotely accessing a box, but it;'s become especially useful to run some of our post deployment shell scripts that execute bash on a remote server via ssh after a jenkins build.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it? Not sure really, it just works.


    Mahmut B.

Best service for tunneling and secure application deployment

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Robust and fast usage of OpenSSH. It provides many features like easy installation, secure and fast access to servers.
What do you dislike?
Nothing I would say, it is extremely vital piece of software for application developments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure communications over single and/or multiple servers. Muxed through many-to-many pattern and suuplies transportation security.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it without any suspicion or dread.


    Milad T.

A must-have tool for security.

  • October 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH is mature and de facto standard in industry. I use SSH on a daily basis, it is a reliable and stable technology. It is compatible and works across many platform and is battle tested. Must have tool for every developer.
What do you dislike?
Despite of the fact that openSSH is very stable, some of the patches/updates break compatibility with older softwares. Specially wrappers in different languages can suffer from backward incompatible patches. OpenSSH team does a great job providing documentation but it can get confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure data exchange between internal servers and managing remote/local servers with ssh.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a must have tool. Learning ssh is essential.


    Ricardo R.

The de facto standard for remote shell access

  • October 19, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH is the standard and omnipresent solution for secure remote shell access. It provides security and encryption for several other protocols as well such as git+ssh, sftp, scp amongst others.
What do you dislike?
Given its popularity, it is a frequent target of security exploits.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- provides secure and encrypted access to remote shells on servers
- secure source code transfer on git servers
- provides secure file transfer between office and datacenter servers
- tunneling connections
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easily available on any UNIX or Linux distribution.

Do not even thing on using it on windows.


    Scott K.

An easy, secure way for remote shell connections and thensome

  • September 11, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact it's the industry standard for establishing remote secure connections, whether it be shell (cli) or using it for other features, such as copying files, or even VPN tunnels. Having the ability to custom configure hosts in your ssh config is really nice (along with being able to import features on every host) -- I absolutely love using ControlMaster's and Port Forwarding.
What do you dislike?
Security vulnerabilities in the past with openssl (which is typically what is linked to ssh via the library for encryption).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It enables us to securely connect to other servers and network devices, along with having PAM integration, we're able to use a custom OTP module for 2FA that makes it easy to deploy to other systems without having to modify the source code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SSH is very powerful, it's not just for connecting to remote hosts/shells or other network devices -- you can do port forward (local or remote), VPN tunnels, ControlMaster's (which allow you to re-use any existing, open connection held by the ControlMaster), X11 Forwarding, etc. Plus I don't know any admin in their right mind who wouldn't utilize and require ssh for remote connections.


    Information Technology and Services

Secure Shell Tool

  • August 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's an opensource and secure tool for connecting to linux and other appliances with shell console connections.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike about this tool. I use it daily!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure connections between servers.


    James D.

How else do you plan to access a *nix server remotely?

  • April 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open SSH is a very powerful remote access tool. It runs on just about anything *nix based, from Linux to BSD to OS X.

I use it daily for server configuration and monitoring.

Its fast and secure.

Provides full console access as if you were siting in front of a terminal.
What do you dislike?
There really isn't anything to like about OpenSSH, it is the industry standard of remote connection to a *NIX server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open SSH allows us to manage headless servers without the need of a resource window server. Its faster and more secure than telnet and saves the time and effort of switching monitors around on servers or connecting a console cable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There really isn't anything better than OpenSSH for remote administration of a *NIX server. It is by far my most used tool in administration!