Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenSSH FTP Server for Ubuntu 18.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Connor H.

Administration Made Easy

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH is the default SSH package installed on most *nix distributions, I've never had to install anything else to make SSH work, it just does out of the box. OpenSSH is easy to configure and is packed full of useful features that make server administration a breeze. You can define various settings on a per-host basis using a dead simple configuration format so you never have to remember what arguments to use.
What do you dislike?
Like many *nix tools, OpenSSH serves its documentation in a format similar to man-pages. To a user unfamiliar with man pages finding the right thing can become a witch hunt when all you need is a single argument. More newcomer friendly documentation would definitely make OpenSSH the perfect tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a way to give developers access to things like databases and various network applications that were hosted off servers on a private network, through SSH tunnels we were able to give them the access they need without exposing the servers to the outside world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to learn the man pages format first or you may find yourself struggling to look up the correct information.


    Marc S.

There is OpenSSH, and nothing else

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Free, Open Source, easy to use. OpenSSH/ssh is such a common part of a developer/ops person's toolkit, that it's basically taken for granted. I've been using OpenSSH tools for 10+ years, literally almost every single day of my life...and i've never once had a second thought about using something else.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. Honestly, nothing. If you're comfortable on the command line, then ssh (et. al.) will just be a part of your everyday language.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are running large & small scale applications, mostly web based, built using open source technologies (java/tomcat/etc). Nothing is on-prem (using AWS), so it's critical i can connect to all of our machines via ssh.
I'm ashamed to admit, i can't even name a competitor in this space.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just make sure you're familiar - and comfortable - with the command line.


    Hospital & Health Care

OpenSSH is powerful and secure

  • March 17, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use OpenSSH to access production and development servers. It's easy to set up and maintain, well-documented, and powerful for all of our needs.
What do you dislike?
This isn't meant for casual users, so starting out might be a bit daunting for some.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can access a variety of computers and servers from one workstation, from any other type of system.


    Josh V.

I use it every day

  • March 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love being able to connect to my various systems and have a complete system at my finger tips. Most of what I do with my systems can be done with the command line, but occasionally I will fire up a graphical program with some delicious X forwarding. I also use the tunneling and SOCKS proxy features quite regularly.
What do you dislike?
I honestly can't think of anything I dislike about OpenSSH. It's been great for the last 16 or so years that I've been using it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can administer virtually any system as though I were standing right in front of it, all over an encrypted connection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenSSH opens up a lot of doors for interacting with remote systems. It's a great tool, and I think anyone who deals with any unix-like system should be familiar with it.


    Sunil W.

Everyone should learn SSH! OpenSSH is the common implementation.

  • March 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's everywhere. It's mature. It works pretty much the same way across platforms. The development team care about the security of the user.
What do you dislike?
Despite OpenSSH's own work, SSH, the underlying protocol, is still not that easy to understand. There isn't enough education for end users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using OpenSSH for secure comms across my networks. Having a common implementation of SSH makes life simpler.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There's no alternative to using it. Most people who need secure comms for network administration are already using it. A small few simply don't know that they are already using it.


    M. Serhat D.

Administer Remote Servers Securely

  • January 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH is a key tool for system administration. It is totally free and provides you secure connections with any remote machine. OpenSSH is the default SSH agent of many popular linux distributions. I have been using Ubuntu for a long time and I never needed to install another package to handle my remote connections. OpenSSH is highly customizable, you can set your own connection settings both from command line and configuration files.
What do you dislike?
Learning all the SSH commands and tricks takes time. Generating SSH keys, configuring the environment and setting up preferences requires experience. OpenSSH is an old software but it is not well documented yet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm managing my personal website with SSH connection and OpenSSH. I made all my remote servers managable with SSH connection. VPN and SSH are pretty efficient together. As an experienced linux system administrator I have been administering all the remote servers with SSH connection, which is kind of industry standard.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenSSH is the most popular SSH client for Linux distributions. It is simple, efficient and secure. OpenSSH will cover mostly all your needs to administer a remote machine and run commands on them. If you are looking for an SSH client solution, I suggest you to try OpenSSH first.


    Cesar I.

Easiest way to admin a remote server

  • December 30, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SSH and OpenSSH's implementation are the easiest way to get into a remote server and manage it. Getting a remote shell is just the beginning, port forwarding, and even X forwarding are key features that make ssh a great protocol. Password-less logins with public keys it's very useful as well as being able to automate tasks across servers saves tons of hours and repetitive work.
What do you dislike?
Configuration and hardening can be hard. Also windows as a server it's mostly out of the question. The handling of RSA and DSA keys can be a bit difficult sometimes. It's easy to loose a key and then you could be left out of a server. To remedy that there are some other tools that can help with the backup and handling of keys but it's not part of OpenSSH.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Administering remote servers is something that most software companies have to do most of the time. Having an standardized and ubiquitous way of accessing them is just a relief.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stick to the distributions defaults but check them yourself. Depending on what you need, you might have to tweak those. A bare-bones installation is only recommended if you really know openssh from top to bottom and you are sure that you need to do something like that.


    Phil C.

I can't live without SSH , Can you ?

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It just works and very configurable, and this is so magical you will never stop learning all possible tricks can SSH offers to you and makes you life easier and simpler, specially if you want selfhosted services for managing your data. One other cool thing is to be able to use it on your phone and get back your sessions using GNU screen and use CLI or ncurses utilities (IRC, mutt etc)
What do you dislike?
For advanced usage, It's not that obvious to use without a litle of network knowledges. Also I use mosh , orautossh and GNU/screen to make my session persistant, It could be also neat to add honts for relay services managed by community .or yourself to avoid NAT blockage (think teamviewer)..
I wish to have nice mobile app that use SSH as transport and "emulate" local processing, like file editor or chat client or webbrowser seamless., and eventually manage disconnection or cache, Last feature It would be good to have support for very asynchronous sessions on offline system, like a POST / RECEIVE over days or reboots, maybe a "shell service" over mail already exists
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote maintenance or developmentm, remote sharing, backuping, tunneling, git, rsync the list is too long...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at listed utilities , mosh autossh screen then get along well, also -D to setup a local SOCKS proxy is very convenient