Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

PostgreSQL With Debian 10

Cognosys Inc. | V 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

496 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexandr V.

Powerfull DB

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A lot of features, smart backup, PG cluster ability, production ready DB
What do you dislike?
Troubleshooting something hard to do, poor out of the box documentation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SQL database help to org data


    Haripriya B.

Experience using Postgresql as database management software in industry.

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and open DBMS software and has a good GUI feature. PostgreSQL is the world’s most advanced open source database. Developed over 25 years by a vibrant and independent open source community, PostgreSQL was born from the same research as Oracle and DB2 and contained comparable enterprise-class features such as full ACID compliance for outstanding transaction reliability and Multi-Version Concurrency Control for supporting high concurrent loads. On top of it, there is a vibrant community of PostgreSQL professionals and enthusiasts that your staff can draw upon and contribute to.
What do you dislike?
It sometimes crashed when I open it in normal mode. I need to open it in admin mode to open it. It is considerably slower than MySQL, and it does not support the entire ANSI SQL 92' standard, much less the ANSI SQL 99' standard, which is widely used in the industry. PostgreSQL is not good when it comes to performance, and It is not much popular than other database management systems, making replication is more complex.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the education field, Postgres is used over other databases because of its ease of access and quality of support in all languages. PostgreSQL is available for almost every brand of Unix (34 platforms with the latest stable release), and Windows compatibility is available via the Cygwin framework. Native Windows compatibility is also available with version 8.0 and above. The source code is open to all at no charge. PostgreSQL is available for almost every brand of Unix (34 platforms with the latest stable release), and Windows compatibility is available via the Cygwin framework. Native Windows compatibility is also available with version 8.0 and above.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is highly recommended for the education field because of its good GUI feature and straightforward learning environment. I would suggest the computer science engineering people use this constantly. It's a little hard for beginners but best for professionals.


    Wade W.

THE preferred solution for an open source relation database

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres has many of the features that I have come to enjoy in more enterprise-scale databases, with the benefit of an open-source pricetag and community support.
What do you dislike?
If you are looking for a vendor, Postgres isn't your tool. In many ways though, that is a positive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Postgres was our primary data store for many years for our centralized data warehouse. Any relational data can be stored in Postgres, and there is broad support for clients and other tools to interact with that data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are comfortable doing a little sys admin work to get it up and running, you probably already know that Postgres is the way to go.


    Jagruti P.

PostgreSQL Review and experience on my point of view

  • July 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Simplicity and flexibility compared to other SQL databases.
- Logging is available for each and every activity if you eneabled that so its easy to understand if some users has changed any data.
- We can use complex data types which is available in postgres like geographic objects which help us to manage location data in the database if your application needs to manage user or other location.
- English Documenetation available for easy of use and that will not take much time to learn this database Software.
What do you dislike?
- The speed of fetching data is very low compare to others.
- Each and every open source software not support PostgreSQL compare to mySQL which support most of each and every open source sotware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Firstly, I solved many issues using this database. I like it the most because we can use both the console and User interface to manage the database.
- Secondly, we can use easily use AWS RDS to manage this database as RDS contains its configurations.
- Third, My requirement is to read data from Queue and then process data and store in database based on schdeuler which is run timely basis so I didnt find any slowness in my system bacase all things are managed at background level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check your requirement before choosing this database or any other relational database. If your condition is to read data from the database too frequently, then it might be slowness shows in your whole application.


    Sagar D.

Great scalable db for small and large project

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how this database could handle extensive data and small data. I have been using it for lots of small projects as well as for large project that handles data processing and event-driven projects. It's good to see such flexibility in heavily read-write processes.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike about it is the GUI to handle all the operations are not that user-friendly compared to what mongo DB or MySQL has. I wonder if the Postgres team gets to have some good UI UX for postgres as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using PostgresSQL on heavy read write application, and analytics project for huge data. Along with that working on projects for small scale project general management project.
The main benefit that I saw with using PostgreSQL is that its good for small and large project. I could use the same db server for large project while development and also small projects as well without having to thinking much on performance changes for small and large project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
GUI for managing Postgres is a bit complicated, and you should continue considering that you might have some bad experience with Postgres. Other than that, Postgres is excellent if you have huge read and write operations.


    Retail

Great for Multithreaded applications

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The great performance on top of the traditional DB ability to have a json data type really helps keep within the realm of SQL while creating a solid backend for microservices.
What do you dislike?
It has a little bit of learning curve but not necessarily anything bad I would say about postgresql
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using as backend for application specific data, with a lot of the data being stored as json in order to interact with apis
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not ready to go towards nosql but want the flexibility of it while maintaining traditional SQL, then postgresql is the way to go!


    Himanshu A.

Data base

  • June 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgre SQL is easy to use.
If you know the SQL it's super easy to learn the Postgre SQL.
It's also a fast way to store the data and fetching from the database.
we can use the Postgre SQL in any project./
It's very popular so if you learn it, it's will definitely benefit your professional life.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike for postpre Sql just if required some time to learn it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
you can use it in any of your projects for storing, fetching data from the database.
It gives you easy access to data.
I myself use this in many of the projects.


    Kishan K.

Best Relational Database

  • June 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1) It is a free and open-source database system.
2) It is secure and robust compared to other relational database systems.
3) Easy to store large amount of structured data in the database system.
4) Querying time is super fast and quick.
5) Frequent updates from time to time.
What do you dislike?
1) It is a bit confusing compared to other database systems.
2) Sometimes slow with big queries.
3) Apart from these cons, it's a great relational database system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Free SQL Database system
2) History of queries
3) Data analysis
4) Temporary tables querying


    Vishal A.

Quite easy to use and user friendly

  • May 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy and smooth workflow, handy and amateur level tool
What do you dislike?
certain restrictions towards handling of data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I usually use it for data analytics projects which is why valuable to retrieve, update and analyze data, and problems may vary according to the client requirement. However, the best benefit to use PostgreSQL is that you could use easy layman words as crucial commands which are easy to remember.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Instead of other complex query language platforms like Microsoft SQL Server or BigQuery, I would recommend PostgreSQL more.


    Mohit M.

Fast and reliable Database

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is easy to learn as it is similar to SQL server which we have been using for a long time.
It is fast and reliable and being free of cost is a cost-effective solution for many applications
What do you dislike?
Postgres can be hard for beginners to understand and use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use postgres to handle database for radiology data sent via various protocols like Dicom and hl7
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgre is an cost-effective solution for expensive databases