Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nextcloud Server Ready with Support from Linnovate

Linnovate - Open Source Innovation | 1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

39 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wesley A.

Great do-it-yourself cloud service

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being able to have control over where my data is stored.
What do you dislike?
It can be a bit clunky in places, and it is a little slow on some devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to have control over where our data was stored, and Nextcloud allows us to do this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can install it yourself, even on a Raspberry Pi, so you have control over where your data is stored.


    Education Management

Convenient, secure and streamlined

  • September 01, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is clean and streamlined, much like a desktop file browser in a web app. You can easily set up new users with varying permissions, and can vary user permissions by folder or subfolder. You can also send links to files for access, requiring a password or not and vary permissions accordingly.
What do you dislike?
It would be useful to be able to configure the view, by including more columns (e.g. filetype, uploaded by..) and then of course to re-order/re-size the displayed columns. If there is a way to do this it’s not intuitive enough to figure out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securely sharing files between a small team, some of whom work remotely. Can easily then provide access to subsets of documents externally via link and password as opposed to providing logins.


    Frank B.

Premium features at zero costs

  • August 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are running Nextcloud on a local server, it's easy to have customer-related files stored in our cloud.
Some use the desktop client but most of us use the browser to up/download and manage our files.
What do you dislike?
Some file extensions (.ai/.psd/.exe) sometimes are not syncing properly with the desktop client, it's not really an issue if one file fails to sync, but its really a pain that the sync stops completely on the first error that occurs. It would be better if there's an option to skip the failed file and continue syncing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used to use OneDrive, but the pricing is so high compared to how we use it (per person + per month payment). Running Nextcloud on a local server is exactly what fits our needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's free, it's really fast, but you do need a little bit of knowledge on setting it up.
It also supports complete docker/docker-compose images to boot up a pre-made stack so you can just hook up a domain and start using your private cloud.


    Alejandra B.

Free and excellent cloud software

  • July 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about this software is that let you migrate all your documents, photos, music, and any file to the cloud to it secured servers, making them accessible through any device, so anyone of your team work can access them and work together anywhere. It allow you to reduce the used space disk and the best of all is that you don't have to spen no even a peny.
What do you dislike?
I really love how i can access all my files and work them from anywhere, the things that i think that can be improved about this software are in first place, the initial setup, it should be more easy to start to use, you need to be a little experience with this kind of soft to make run well at first try. The user interface can be also improved, make it look more up to date and professional. And use publicity to make it more known and more people use it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems that we solved with NextCloud are, that now all the members of the team can access to the work files up to date. We're more synchronize, we reduce the disk storage and the most important thing is that now we spend less money at office as this tool are completly free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this software to people work through many devices and who like to access to all their files no matter what device are they connect from. To people who would like to have a better communication with coworkers. It haves a lot of options and to the price, are a excellent option to try.


    Alex Z.

Nextcloud experience

  • July 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it is extremely customizable, it has a large number of apps that exponentially increase its use, it has a large development community that keeps it updated
What do you dislike?
It does not allow to add multiple local data storage, only in a directory all user files are saved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows users to access and share their files from anywhere without having to stay in their jobs, thanks to the integration with openfire and zimbra, they can stay communicated in real time which increases their productivity
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Plan and project the amount of users and storage to use when installing your own instance of nextcloud


    Jason M.

Excellent Cloud Solution

  • May 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Feature-complete cloud on my own hosting. PIM tools. Good LDAP integration. Desktop clients.
What do you dislike?
You need to host and administrate it yourself for it to be free.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to run multiple instances.


    Felipe R.

Nice service of cloud

  • May 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using right now at work. It's the "official" service of cloud that all employees are using. I like because all default files and programs of company is there. Good limit of storage
What do you dislike?
Isn't all employees using the service right now
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Transfer files is too easy right now, you just need to upload what you want to the cloud. I can open all my files at any sector of the company
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to synchronize in desktop version. Create a folder in your desktop synchronized.


    Thomas S.

Nextcloud ... it's your next pain.

  • April 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source and looks great. The features looks good.
What do you dislike?
We have spent more than two days to try to get it running:

1) We have used the Ubunu snap setup
It was great: we could immediately log in.
The configuration was the 1st pain:
snap has only has a very rudimentary documentation. Just try to find the Apache directory and try to change a mariadb, apache or nextcloud property. We either were not able the right property name (missing docs) or we were in the readonly snap directory.
There are hacks to mount snap direcotries so we can write - but we're pretty sure our settings will be lost with the next update.

2) Manual Linux installation
Nextcloud has godd looking but useless docs: you will not find a simple step by step setup doc for e.g. the latest Ubuntu Server. The end? Use google to find 2rd party tutorials. Most will not work with an up to date OS like the latest Ubuntu. Some tutorials work nice, but you will get a very old, not supported Nextcloud V13. Update? Read the next chapter.

3) Update
This is a real shame. The step by step instructions do not work, if you spend 1h and use google, you can get it running.
Of course, the 1st attempt fails, because you probably will upgrade from version 13 to 15. The Docs do not mention that its not possible to skip one version. Restore the backup, start from beginning. The tutorial talks about executing a phar file - which does not exist. Google solves the problem.
After 2h try and error, you finally get "success!".
As soon as we open the website, we get: Internal Server Error
"Check the log file", they write - but the do not mention the path to them. /var/log/nextcloud does not exists.

We spend some hours fixing well-known errors, unfortunately, the solution is not documented. Google is your friend: fix the 1st error, restart apache, google for the next error, restart apache, google for the next error, …

Once, Nextcloud displayed an explicit error on the login page and a non-clickable URL to solve the issue. Copy / Paste the URL - and guess what? "Page not found"

Nextcloud was our last pain.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We werenot able to get Nextcloud up and running stable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Wait 2 years.


    Ethan R.

Cloud Made Easy

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to implement cloud services through Nextcloud. We’re able to host it on our own servers as well.
What do you dislike?
I don’t like the options available to me in terms of apps that can be installed. Productivity isn’t the best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We’ve solved the need for a centralized cloud system and I have realized the application benefits that follow.


    Marketing and Advertising

Best Cloud Software out there

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Handles all my storage for files and photos. I can access my stuff from anywhere, mobile, work PC, home, tablets, etc. Replaces Apple Music Match and iCloud storage. No increased fixed cost with increased storage. I said good bye to storage full messages.I can just add another disk in my home server.
With my fiber internet 100Mbps Upload I have a great speed from anywhere.
What do you dislike?
Takes time to set up. You need to be a techy and not be scared of Linux to set it up correctly. The tutorials to actually help with your configuration are all over the place in the internet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Personal cloud, not exposed to marketing abuse as Google, Amazon and others would do. Privacy and no storage limits.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it, it's the best thing I did last year. I'm extremely happy to have my own server. I first tried a off the shelf NAS but that was too slow. This is excellent.