Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nextcloud Server Ready with Support from Linnovate

Linnovate - Open Source Innovation | 1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

39 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Brooklyn C.

NextCloud Review

  • October 31, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Licensing and pricing policies: all the official components of Nextcloud are both free as in freedom and as in free beer. You pay only for support and update services. That's not the case with ownCloud.
Long-term roadmap: at the moment, ownCloud seems to be more focused on corporate customers and more relevant for investors, while Nextcloud seems to be more focused on extending "direct" user-to-user communication and cooperation features.
Security: Nextcloud refuses continuous (that is, malicious) attempts to authenticate from any computer, except those whose IP addresses are included in "brute-force IP whitelists". (Of course, the best possible whitelist you can configure is an empty one.)
What do you dislike?
There are some cons of using Next Cloud that are worth mentioning. You (usually, but not necessarily) have to self host, which also means implementing and owning your own backup policy. In addition, sometimes upgrades break if you have lots of apps enabled. This is also more frustrating as sometimes the web interface can be a bit slow on some systems, especially on one of the Arm boxes I use. I run into problems with the web interface not loading data e.g. list of users, but loading the menu, top bar, and footer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Enhanced storage of files in a safe and secure manner
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In its simplest form, the Nextcloud server is "just" a personal, free software alternative to services like Dropbox or iCloud. You can set it up so your files are always accessible via the internet, from wherever you are, and share them with your friends. However, Nextcloud can do so much more. I highly recommend it for all considering some type of secure, yet user friendly storage software.


    Samuli V.

Great self hosted Cloud

  • October 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Available everywhere and with every device. Nice integration to LDAP authentication and groups. Really easy to add needed enhancements. Good variety of enhancements available. Works nicely with Zimbra as authentication backend (LDAP).
What do you dislike?
Sometimes mobile connection fails. Don't know if it's Nextcloud or network issue. After upgrading to 14, lost ZimbraDrive. Hoping to see it come back soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I wanted to have all data to myself and have possibility to enhance the behaviour. Needed the place to share our Lions Clubs data and notes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to implement and customize. Easy to add plugins/3rd party additions.


    Information Technology and Services

Private and simple storage cloud solution

  • October 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nextcloud let us centralize key documentation for our sales team. When working with big projects that include several departments and lots of people, having quick access to our "mini private sotrage cloud" makes a big difference in our daily work lfe. Forget about Dropbox and go for a open-source private environment!
What do you dislike?
The front end could be more polished. Drag and drop could be improved. Furthermore, the Windows client doesn´t let you handle files and it is just for sync purporses. Cannot connect to Windows as a network unit (This would be a major plus, as it would work as a NAS). Still, it doesn't get to function as a sort of "Google Drive". Updating can be kind of tricky.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When dealing with multi-party projects, access to the deal's informations is key. By centralizing all of our sales process docs within Nextcloud we've improved the way out teamwork flows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not looking for a wow-factor, and simple, real-time file sharing, Nextcloud can be the way to go. Try it out, as it can be of easy implementation and it is pretty well priced as well. Furthermore, it is 100% open source!


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Self hosted Google Docs? Sign me up!

  • September 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that Nextcloud allows me to have very Google Docs/Calendar/Drive like functionality that can be completely self-hosted. I have concerns about the privacy of my data and this helps me to feel better about who is controlling my data (me). I also like how active the community is and how easy it is to find answers to my questions. The community support that I've seen has been really great and I'm glad to be using software that has such a thriving community. Finally, I love love love how many apps there are for Nextcloud. There's a great feed reader app, an e-mail client, several calendar apps, and all sorts of other apps that make this a great groupware solution for personal/SMB users.
What do you dislike?
The thing that I dislike the most is the fact that updates tend to break my install. I don't know if this is because my hosting provider has some controls in place that block part of the update or what. I don't know that I would have these issues if I had Nextcloud hosted on my own server, but whatever the reason is, all of my updates have been rough. Now when I want to update, I just back up my data, build from scratch, and reconfigure everything. It takes more time, but I have the benefit of not having to worry about a broken install.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a great groupware solution. If you don't have an Intranet, or you don't subscribe to services such as Office 365, or gSuite, this can solve a lot of problems for you. It provides great collaboration and groupware functionality that is really easy to use and administer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a groupware solution for personal use or for an SMB, please consider Nextcloud. It's wonderful software that provides a lot of functionality and can make your personal intranet or SMB look years ahead of the competition.


    Information Technology and Services

The Onsite, offsite file server with so so much more

  • September 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nextcloud even at the unpaid level has a huge number of very useful features which link into both desktop and mobile really well, making working while in or out of the office and syncing important files something you never have to think about. And that's just the tip of the iceberg.
What do you dislike?
The Docker resources are slow to update which is a shame as the new features look great
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing access to file historically needs VPN's, VPN clients, in some cases BYOD and support, Next cloud provided a central file hub, with GDPR auditing and building on that, provided a good communications replacement.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start with the ease of backing up files, and expand to the access off site, add a sprinkle of ToTP (2FA) and enable auditing. Once they have got the hand of this, then add a few extra plugins, then wow them with the video conferencing. Have the whole thing linked to AD and you're good to go in less than a day


    Financial Services

Good for sharing docs

  • July 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to share documents via email, links, or by adding them to a shared file/folder. It is easy to access. Safe way to share internal documents, powerpoints, videos, etc.
What do you dislike?
Limited collaboration options. Not the prettiest or most functional UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure and safe cloud based sharing platform. Easier to have all documentation and information on one centralized platform.


    Telecommunications

Solid cloud storage and team sharing

  • July 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
My sales team teleworks a lot. We are even slip in between two main cities, making real-time file sharing a must. Nextcloud has shown to be a great platform, and has responded with the right features every time we would need more space or further features. Powerful and simple cloud storage for small and medium enterprises.
What do you dislike?
Migrating files and working with big teams that are on-line 8x5 can be tricky. It is essential to make changes and big uploads on an out-of-hours schedule. We're still trying to find some files that went missing on out last big migration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Real-time file updating. Inside sales follow-up. New Account Managers have fast access to newly assinged accounts. Documentation processes are way simpler!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are currently working with storage at a LAN level, forget about it! Try out Nexcloud and forget about the danger and risks of storing locally and working remotly.


    Media Production

Peut convenir sous certaines conditions.

  • June 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Son accessibilité, le fait que ce soit un logiciel libre.
Il fait son job principal, c'est à dire synchroniser différentes données, depuis divers appareils principalement mobile, sur 1 ou plusieurs serveurs.

Il est surement en phase permanente de développement et il peut s'avérer très pertinent à l'usage dans un avenir proche.
What do you dislike?
En remplacement d'un autre concurrent, une équipe nous a contacté pour que nous utilisions ce service dans notre réseau informatique pour faciliter le partage d'informations.
Nous en ressortons plutôt sceptique, ne savant pas vraiment quoi en penser au fur et à mesure de l'utilisation du produit au sein de nos services.

Autre point, le service demande des machines informatique performantes, il utilise beaucoup de la puissance de la machine, ce qui peut être une contrainte pour une société qui ne bénéficie pas d'un parc informatique performant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Des bénéfices plutôt maigre, car les différents utilisateurs au sein du service de la rédaction n'ont pas tous aimé son ergonomie, son interface ou alors son utilisation au quotidien.
D'autres ont vraiment aimé le côté "logiciel libre" et donc sans contrainte comme d'autres gros acteurs du marché.
Donc il est compliqué pour nous de ressortir de vrais bénéfices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Etant un logiciel à accès libre, il peut etre une alternative à des sociétés qui ne souhaitent pas investir dans de lourds programmes équivalents.
Cependant attention à bien vérifier avec le personnel qui l'utilisera que tout le monde comprend son fonctionnement dans le détail, sous peine de perdre plus de temps à expliquer et ré expliquer certaines fonctionnalités.


    Mental Health Care

Sufficient Storage

  • April 04, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nextcloud is easy to navigate and control. It's simple software.
What do you dislike?
You used to be able to edit documents within the server, however, now you have to download and reupload. It also doesn't show you when the document was last uploaded, or by who.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Organization and storage of all files.. has eliminated a lot of paper. It's also easier to protect information storing on secure servers rather than on individual computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a great tool for storage of all files. You can restrict particular files/folders to any users.