Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 18 Desktop - NICE DCV for 3D AMD-GPU based graphics instances

NI SP - Remote 3D and HPC | 2021.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

53 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rafik N.

The only option for developers on PC

  • October 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a developer you can install your IDE, languages or server platforms-containerized or not - with a finger snap. Evrything is an apt-get install away.
Then, it's not difficult to go to cloud or to work remotely- Ubuntu is literally powering the internetz. So this is basically why teams at Google use Ubuntu Desktop for their work!
What do you dislike?
The UI could use some modernization- icons being too big for my liking - plus shipping more terminal alternatives, etc...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Well for me it's the fastest way to get developers start woeking without caring about installing tools and dependencies- this solves productivity AND quality problems for us - all while being free,!


    Vivek S.

Ubuntu - for most Business Needs

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a Linux interface. Very robust to viruses, and the command-line interface is handy once a user gets accustomed to it.
What do you dislike?
Command-line interface can be challenging to get used to initially.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have installed Oracle 12c software for business needs. The file structure allows for easy to execute database IO operations and secure connections.


    Brandon K.

Different experience if you are not use to it and be aware some programs would require alternatives

  • September 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and nothing different compared to Windows OS and Apple OS
What do you dislike?
Does not support Windows OS only applications even though it is possible it is hard to setup and work properly. Even then it is still flaky
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
They are great for older systems to bring back to life and give out to people in need
Recommendations to others considering the product:
setting up Windows OS software to work in any Linux OS can be flaky so be ready to find alternatives


    Zayed R.

Ubuntu is the best OS in linux -free forever

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
-Easy and simplicity of UI
- Simple way to operate it.
- Free software is available to use.
-Its command-line easy to accessibility and usability
- No worries of any antivirus due to good security.
What do you dislike?
- sometimes is complex for a non-technical person to use it.
- Product support need to improve it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I regularly using ubuntu for developing the python and Nodejs coding, here easy to install and use it.
Easy to use GIT command line for pushing the code in Github.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will highly be recommended to use Ubuntu Desktop, easy to the installation and use it.
There are no worries about any paid licences, Easy to learn and use for beginners.
Simple to find the application available to use in the Ubuntu environment.
Software developers can easy to use it command-line coding.


    Dhiraj S.

Ubuntu ui and development tasks

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has all development support for development of new web applications, CLI tool and it has ease in deployment of full stack applications in different cloud platform.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes new updates impact the whole structure of builtin applications
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I majorly write python scripts for automation of work to create pull requests and commits the git. Also, usage of anaconda for machine learning algorithms make it fit for use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Prerna S.

Linux on the GO

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Helps to get started with the linux experience without partitioning or any other way to provision Linux os.
What do you dislike?
It may be tough to work around with Ubuntu Desktop due to space constraints and minimal ways to get things on the go without getting stuck.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Linux experience on the go and helping with the need to particularly installing a Linux OS


    Jose M Ortega .

Forgetting windows in an easy way

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is probably the best-known open-source operating system, and some of the most famous distributions rely on Ubuntu Desktop as an installation base on machines that have memory and CPU limitations. The community is one of the most active when it comes to releasing updates and patches for applications.
What do you dislike?
One of the problems we can find is the automatic update policy that can sometimes break the package system that you have installed. Many times you need to install a version of a program that is not supported by a package or library that is installed. In these cases, you may have to recompile the application with those libraries that are supported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
From the user's point of view, the distribution complies with all those basic applications in daily use, such as the browser and mail client. For more advanced users, it also provides tools and utilities that allow you to configure and manage the system in a simple way.


    Financial Services

Its more expressive and interactive

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Best thing is security. No need to install any antivirus.
2.More Interactive and graphic interface.
3.Look and feels are up to the market expectation.
4.More stability and cohesiveness.
What do you dislike?
1. Product support.
2. Hardware compatibility issues.
3. Little bit complex for non-technical users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. installation of docker and usage. I love this OS for my containerization. Cloud compatibility is the best thing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest if you are a technical user, go for it.


    OLUWATOBI ADETUNJI A.

Need a break from typical OS, Try Ubuntu desktop

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has an excellent graphical design, and I don't have to worry about been invaded by viruses, worms, or trojan. It has enabled me to be versatile with using comandline
What do you dislike?
It might be difficult and complex to use for people not in the technological world
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has helped me learn more about Linux OS management


    Financial Services

Ubuntu Desktop awesome experience

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The incredible thing about it is it doesn't hang or become unresponsive like windows desktop, and being from a technical background, I find ease in using it, and my experience is closer to using a mac.
What do you dislike?
The installation of applications isn't as simple as we do either in windows or mac.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it as a server to host my applications.