Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Aerospike Database Enterprise Edition

Aerospike (fka CitrusLeaf) | 5.6

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gil A.

A SOLID, High-Velocity Key/Value NOSQL Database

  • June 23, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Metadata was using a traditional NOSQL database based on open-source technology, but we experienced challenges with scale and speed as our database grew.

We selected Aerospike to replace MongoDB due to its the ease of use, simple configuration and high velocity reading and writing.

Along with the easy client development and support for async requests, we managed to boost our profiling algorithms and run twice as fast, enabling us to serve more customers in a shorter amount of time with even leaner hardware resources.

Switching to Aerospike broadened our capabilities and has helped support our company growth. We recommend Aerospike to any software company looking for a solid key/value database that is scalable, super fast and commercially ready.
What do you dislike?
We had no problems / issues installing or integrating Aerospike into our solution and architecture. Their documentation made it easy and we're experiencing no issues scaling it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our major challenge was to support our exponentially growing database without sacrificing on our platform speed nor purchasing significant more infrastructure. The results were Aerospike were amazing as we were able to more than double our performance while keeping a lean cloud infra.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation, talk to other users- make sure to set the best foot forward with the implementation and you're up for a sweet ride.


    Internet

Happy Customer

  • December 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We enjoy the reliability that Aerospike provides. Along with an ease of setup, it makes it a wonderful product.
What do you dislike?
Not a ton of community support, most problems need Aerospike support to be fixed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing and query large data sets


    Rajasekhar Y.

Aerospike - A high throughput, low latency distributed nosql datastore

  • December 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity of the architecture. Ease of Operations. high concurrency,low latency,high availability achieved with its robust architecture.
What do you dislike?
Minimal featureset to support growing needs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
high concurrency concerns with webservice calls.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for high throughput, low latency ,high concurrency ,nosql distributed database cluster, aerospike fits the criteria and deserves an active test for your usecase.


    Computer Software

Performance at scale

  • December 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Aeorospike and team delivered on performance requirements and exceeded expectations. Consistently getting 1-2ms latency on 1B requests per day.
What do you dislike?
Custom hardware required to meet these demands. Some complexity on loads and space management.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Real-time integration into bid-stream. under 10ms latency requirements including network round-trip. Aerospike allows us to shave critical ms out of our transaction time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely worth it to provide consistent high-throughput read-write capacity and maximize hardware investments. Focused product for meeting these high-demand tasks and worth it when you need it!


    Computer Networking

Aerospike

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Aerospike is easily configured. One simple config file (which must be the same across all nodes in the cluster) takes care of it. System recovers well on its own when a node fails. The AMC is a nice GUI with good at-a-glance info about the cluster. The Enterprise version is especially nice because it allows you to query and set parameters without having to use the command line tools. The support is also great, and the logging is fun (messages like "Now there will be cake" when the node is up and ready to ingest info, and "Now there is icing" when XDR is functioning.
What do you dislike?
Some of the tools aren't very easily interpreted or easy to use. The syntax can be confusing, and at one point there seemed to be a gang of tools that did similar things so it was confusing to know which one to use for what purpose.

Another issue I had was when I wanted to see some information about the kind of data we were storing, so I wanted to get a couple of rows so I can see what bins were being used, types, etc. I didn't want to select *everything* in a huge database, but there is no option to limit the output as there is with say, HBase. You have to use an external tool to do that. Also wish there was a way to do something SQL-like in terms of describing a row or set.

Lastly, I wish there was a way to have different TTLs for different clusters. For example, if you have a main cluster that you need to retain data in for a longer period of time for compliance, but in a remote cluster you don't need the same requirements, it can cause a waste of resources and become expensive. Since XDR sees shipped logs as client writes, maybe there should be a separate setting for XDR ttls. gmail
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A database that is faster than HBase, and replicating data to an AWS cluster to allow our web servers there to access the same information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Well worth reading through their documentation. It is thorough (much better than some other products) and contains a lot of little nuggets that will save you time. It pretty much walks you through considering how to scale out your infrastructure, how to set it up once you know what your resource needs are, and how to perform basic maintenance. The troubleshooting section could use some help, but the community forums are also solid. Make sure you take their advice regarding SSDs.


    Eric J.

Aerospike is easy to maintain

  • December 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Unlike other NoSql products (... cassandra hint...) Aerospike is very easy to set up and does not have weird, unexpected behavior. UDF's are fairly difficult to write and debug, but if you have a few simple ones they are very valuable. The Java Client for Aerospike is very good.
What do you dislike?
Indices and scans are fairly rudimentary. Unless your use case is purely a key-value store with a one-to-one mapping, this probably isn't the right database for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Serving content to websites with high throughput.


    Marketing and Advertising

PIQ's review

  • December 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, mgmt is easy, and also quick lookups based on keys.
What do you dislike?
No direct export or import from hadoop. Have to write a mapreduce job just to load data into aerospike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Fast key value lookups needed, where others didn't work.


    Arbi A.

Aerospike the nosql key-value database on steroids

  • April 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I've tested Aerospike [1] and other nosql databases when we were looking for a viable alternative to what we had as we were reaching its limit. What I liked in Aerospike is that you can easily confirm the exactitude of the performance claims, which is not the case for most commercial products. Also, in contrast to usual databases, there is no need to define sharding (i.e. how data will be fragmented on the different nodes of the database) or replication parameter (i.e. the number of node on which your data will be replicated so that you don't loose anything in case of node failure). These parameters are essential but as a developer you don't have to care much about them as Aerospike will do.
Also, Aerospike gives you the choice between in-memory storage (e.g. to cache user session data) or SSD disk storage (for durability) without any compromise in performance.
It has a powerful query language, and enable users to define custom aggregation functions based on the Lua programming language [2] which is very flexible especially when it comes to define business related aggregation algorithms.
Above all that, it is an Open Source solution.

[1] https://github.com/dzlab/analytics-examples/blob/master/nosql-batch-examples/src/main/scala/aerospike/java_sdk.scala
[2] https://github.com/dzlab/analytics-examples/blob/master/nosql-batch-examples/src/main/resources/udf/aggregations.lua
What do you dislike?
We really liked Aerospike, but as our use case was about Aanalytics that needs running heavy read-only analysis workload on the database. In addition, our use case required one big write workload directly from Apache Spark RDDs (Resilient Distributed Dataset) that may consists of billions of rows and hundreds of properties. These use cases were sadly not the appropriate cases where Aerospike can be used as it's a key-value database and not columnar oriented.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We evaluated Aerospike among other nosql solutions for Analytics workload and we found that it didn't fit well with our requirements. But we realized how good it is when it comes to caching volatile data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If what you need is a very low-latency access to single data, then you must consider trying Aerospike. If you are on AWS and look for an easily deployable key-value store, then you have to consider Aerospike as it has an officile AMI (Amazon Machine Images) that you can use directly from the marketplace. In contrast, if you're looking for a nosql solution to use as backend for you analytic workloads then Aerospike may not be the appropriate solution, but you can still evaluate it as this may evolve over time.