Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 8 on CentOS Stream 8 by Neodoo

Neodoo Microsystems | centosstream_8_tomcat_8.5.75_v1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS Stream 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

97 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rakan A.

Best in terms of flexibility

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to control most of the things via the configuration files like server.xml
What do you dislike?
Most of the configuration should be done directly in the files , there is no GUI for most of the configurations especially the security configs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web hosting with excellent performance and great security features.


    ercument y.

open source web server

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
no license fee, it can be installed in any environment.
What do you dislike?
There may be problems with performance and hardware. The user interface is somewhat problematic.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are running mobile application web services on tomcat server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is a successfully fulfilling web server that you can use for free.


    GouriS S.

Apache Tomcat for hosting the web application

  • November 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I liked the most about Apache tomcat is it provides faster deployment of applications built in java language.
What do you dislike?
What i don't like about the apache tomcat is it's GUI. It is very basic, and also sometimes i observe the problem of memory leaks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have used Apache tomcat for hosting the java based web application and created the Rest APIs


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Tomcat for easy hosting

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat web server is easy to deploy Java applications. Not much configuration by Developer.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it was a little hard to debug what went wrong.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Without Apache Tomcat, we use different web servers. With Tomcat, easy to maintain and easily configure.


    Automotive

Apache Tomcat

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automation of server features and routines
What do you dislike?
Requires a deep knowledge.
Setups and maintenance can be tedious
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Provide a running environment for internal and internet application runtime


    Saurabh K.

Most Stable web container

  • May 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure on the cloud as well as on the local system. It helps me to deploy/test my java web-based applications. Application startup is faster than other web servers. The good thing is it's Open source and free. I can also configure additional security like configuring certificates, add http headers in the tomcat easily.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the service consumes more CPU. Apache team needs to work on that. Also, sometimes I find it hard to restart the server. Service becomes unresponsive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can deploy multiple java applications on Tomcat. Tomcat makes the deployment easy on local as we as on the cloud. Also I can implement additional security in Tomcat like adding certificates, configuring http headers,etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an open-source web container, and one can deploy multiple applications via tomcat. Also helpful in running heavy applications. If you have multiple applications to deploy, go for apache tomcat.


    Vishwanath T.

Vishwa's thoughts on Apache Tomcat

  • February 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is user friendly which is sufficient for web applications developed in Java.
What do you dislike?
Cant manage EJB or JMS applications on this server. It would be better to upgrade.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Some of the benefits are easily deployable, easy debugging the issue. Easy to install on any platform.


    Lilan S.

Recormand tomcat for automate web app deployment

  • January 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to configure locally, well as the cloud. I have mainly used to automate web app deployment because we have more than 25 services to deploy at once. Application startup is faster than other web servers. I liked it most because tomcat is open source.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult to find the plugin for automating web app deployment in AWS. I have to write my own plugin for automatic restart.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Application startup performance. Tomcat is a Lightweight server. so I able to reduce automatic deployment time and serve our customer requests faster than earlier.


    Banking

I preffer Tomcat because it's easy to work with...easier than Websphere

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to build war files, configure...ease operation
What do you dislike?
I can't find any disadvantage in this case
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As I wrote above. It's easy to build war files


    Airlines/Aviation

Good open source software

  • January 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This an excellent Light weight and open source software, not too difficult to use
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike about TomCat but there can be additional feature you can add to it to make it more user friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it to create a share web resources within my organisation.