Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Gimp pre-configured by Miri Infotech Inc. on Ubuntu

Miri Infotech | 2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,385 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nancy T.

Best free substitute for Photoshop!

  • January 13, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GIMP is a free and open-source image editing software available for any OS. It's the best free substitute for Adobe Photoshop as it's free and contains advanced image-editing features unavailable in Paint. You can add and work with multiple layers for an image, making editing and adding new content easier. GIMP has easy tools to resize images without losing much quality and scale images up or down. GIMP allows you to rotate pictures or layers with ease. The best part of GIMP is the transparency layer, where you can draw anything with an alpha background. You can remove borders from images and crop the image to the content efficiently. You can recolor any part or the entire image seamlessly through features such as recolor, highlights-shadows, hue-lightness-saturation, etc. GIMP is a universal image editor that supports any format. You can save the images you work on as PNG, JPG, TIFF, GIF, etc. GIMP can also be used to open WebP images in the editor. Compared to Photoshop, which now requires a $20 subscription every month, GIMP is the next best solution for any new or novice designer looking for the best alternative.
What do you dislike?
GIMP's boot time is slow. It takes a few seconds after you right-click on an image file and select Open with GIMP for it to open the editor finally. The only downside to GIMP is that you cannot build a career with it. The design industry heavily prefers Photoshop and those well-experienced in it as it's the standard. While GIMP is excellent for beginners, it has no scope outside personal use.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GIMP has been my go-to image editing solution for well over a decade. Converting from PNG to JPG or other file formats has been relatively easy, thanks to GIMP. When I save images from Chrome, they're always saved under the WebP format, which the default image viewer or Paint on Windows cannot open. Using GIMP, I can conveniently open the images to edit or save them as JPG or PNG for less hassle. GIMP is very handy for web designing projects where we use the image editor to make layouts and banners we embed on the website using CSS. I also use GIMP to help create slides for presentations wherever an image or a banner is required to make the presentation more visually appealing. As someone who previously used Photoshop and switched to GIMP since it was free, there's not a single feature I miss in Photoshop, as GIMP covers everything.


    Design

A solid image editing software for beginners

  • December 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using gimp for 12 years and since the start itself it was really user friendly, the UI is great, tools have improved quite a lot, and the added plugins improve the usability
What do you dislike?
Nothing i could say , for a novice user like me this is even better than learning photoshop. There used to be a bug that is gimp crashing while startup but now it's corrected and updated
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Editing photos, making logos, photo resizing , background changing, layers, adding gradients, touching up the image and all.


    Mazhar H.

Best 3d text and pictures editing, side adjustment

  • November 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Image editing / shrinking and growing on various sides which I like the most
What do you dislike?
The selection tool needs to be refined more
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are lots of features that I admire as open source. I mostly use for image alignment for fixing the angle


    Leonardo S.

Gimp review

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
gimp helps me with everyday tasks, editing prints and implementing documents quickly and easily without the need for many plugins or other software to help me .
What do you dislike?
For more robust editions, it is necessary to use third-party software, I believe that a more complete version could meet its use in a decentralized way to the main software, so that it would be possible to carry out more complex editions or those that require advanced techniques.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The application helps me in gathering requirements, when I need to use images to create a process document with images of the user's steps, quickly and efficiently with a few clicks, having a fantastic result.


    Joe G.

Such a good photo editor you wont believe its free

  • November 21, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great selection of tools that are as good as premium editors you pay a lot for monthly.
What do you dislike?
Nothing so far love it! We recommend it to friends and clients.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We need to edit a large random of graphics before we laser engrave them on chopping boards and slate. This software does a great job every time.


    Anoop T.

The best alternative for adobe photoshop

  • November 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy way to composite photos and generate raster images with in-house tools. It's totally open source and get updates at regular intervals.
What do you dislike?
It is difficult to install in the windows operating system. It works flawlessly in Linux systems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Graphic designing and photo editing


    Education Management

Best tool for quick repeatable tasks

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love GIMP. We use it as a free alternative to Photoshop for the majority of our marketing team. It is easy to learn and makes repeatable tasks with a non-designer a snap. It is easy to install, train others and use. It is nearly as powerful as the alternative which makes design tasks easy. Things like changing file formats, colors and making transparent background on images are much easier with GIMP than alternatives.
What do you dislike?
There is not the community that you get with Photoshop online. People post tutorials, but it takes more time to find answers. Also, there is no phone app that really works well for quick on-the-go tasks. If the GIMP community would build one - or an online version that would be wonderful, and I'd probably move away from Photoshop. There needs to be more development focus that makes illustrator - not just photoshop - irrelevant.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GIMP helps us with more than half of our image design needs for field marketers, web designers and other marketers who need images quickly and efficiently. We have a few designers on competitive products, but GIMP meets the needs of 90% of use cases.


    Kiersten L.

GIMP is an Awesome Image Retouching tool 😍

  • November 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used GIMP for Image Retouching projects. I can easily adjust image color, crop images, customize brushes and adjust the gradient seamlessly. It helps me to remove background images pr background color easily. I love how I can customize its menu, toolbar and side panels according to my needs. And the awesome thing is it also supports pdf format. It's free and open-source software; it doesn't require a commercial license. Its a cross-platform software. I have installed it on my Linux system and on my windows system. It uses less resources as compared to other image editing tools.
What do you dislike?
The only thing is its complex software it requires hands-on practice to work smoothly. Other than this, it has almost all the features that photoshop has. It's a powerful tool, and there is nothing to dislike about it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GIMP helps me to do image editing, post creation, logos, banner and much more. It's free, so I don't have to spend extra money on a license. It's a life savor tool for me; it helps me to do image editing easily and complete the client's projects on time


    Vanshika T.

Powerful free and open source editing software

  • November 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GIMP gives us lots of tools to express our creativity in the editing field. It is a free, open-source tool with enough features to manipulate any image. It is small in size and easy to install. It has a customizable interface. It allows retouching the photo and making a new photo with professional results.
What do you dislike?
I feel some lag issue on editing large size 4k photos. I feel it for a few seconds in starting, but it works perfectly after a few seconds. There is no issue in GIMP I have found.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use GIMP for making logos and editing photos. The layering feature helps in editing more productively and professionally. It is a free tool and the best alternative of Photoshop, and we do not need to buy any costly software for graphics and editing content.


    Lorenzo S.

Alternativa profesional a Photoshop

  • November 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lo que más me agrada del Software Gimp, es que cuenta con todas las herramientas básicas para editar fotografías de manera profesional. Recorte, exposición, trabajo con capas, modificación de tamaño de elementos, etc.
What do you dislike?
Es algo complicado de utilizar en un principio, además de que suele colgarse (congelarse) algunas veces cuando trabajo con fotografías de gran tamaño.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Solucionó el problema de licenciamiento que teniamos con Adobe Photoshop, puesto que tenemos varias computadoras en la sque trabajamos y era complicado adquirir varias licencias d eun mismo software. Por ello recurrimos a un software de código abierto.