Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Gimp pre-configured by Miri Infotech Inc. on Ubuntu

Miri Infotech | 1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,335 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Maryse G.

Effective and easy tool to edit my image files

  • January 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of use to get a professional result with a free open source software. I say ease because, even if I don't know how to do a specefic task, there is plenty of documentation, either from their knowledge base or from other sources on Internet.
What do you dislike?
The software can freeze sometimes and the only way out that I found yet is to shut down. Gimp. If I didn't save my work in a while, I lose everything. So I took the habit of saving often. For me this happened mostly when I try resizing a large image by a too big scale at once. So I do smaller increments and save at each increment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Overall, I am very satisfied with Gimp as a free tool because as an artist painter, I'm using it to edit image files of my paintings taken by a pro photographer. I edit my images to make custom adjustment to fit as a beautiful print on different merchandise to sell on my website. I am very pleased with the quality and result I get. I need to finish with a crisp high resolution image because I would not accept a blurry result for print. I get excellent quality with Gimp without having to pay an expensive subscription and I always find easily how to do anything. It is perfect for my needs.


    Diksha T.

Best open source image editing tool

  • January 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about GIMP is it is open source and lots of tools are available to edit graphics. Very easy to use, light weight and cross platform availability.
What do you dislike?
There are no such big things to dislike this awesome product but there are dew things which can be improved like the tools are not properly approachable under the toolbox. We have to go to the category.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this software for the image editing for various web applications, removal of background of the image, logo designing etc,. It is very lightweight and machine friendly.


    Online Media

Great image edotor for small businesses

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Loads quickly. Basic things for cropping and overlaying are easily available. You don't have to put too much time or buy a high end computer to use it. And the biggest thing is that it's free.
What do you dislike?
Not as great as photoshop. But if you are ok with missing features or have lot of time to edit, then go for it. Also, the documentation is lengthy and you may not get quick help videos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Image background editing, overlaying, these are the regular production issues for cataloguing that are best solved by this free software. Saves licensing cost.


    Graphic Design

Great Open Source / Free Based Editing Suite

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Same capabilities to edit and fine-tune images just like bigger name paid alternative software
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the program itself can become unstable when system resources are low
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick touch-ups and solutions for creativity when paid software is unavailable for use.


    Maurice J.

Community Involved Open Source

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great open source program for those unable to afford the more costly programs such as Adobe Photoshop and their Master Suite counterparts. Although there is a learning curve, the ability to do everything that these other software (i.e. Adobe PhotoShop) can do is unbelievable.
What do you dislike?
In all honesty, there is very little to dislike about the software provided by GIMP.org. The fact it was created in an open source volunteer environment with very knowledgeable persons just mesmerizes the crap out of me. I could never achieve such feats.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GIMP has helped me create some wonderful images for friends, family, and even work. The wealth of knowledge on the internet in the form of blogs, forums and YouTube videos is a melting pot of lessons to be learned. The end results for a novice graphics person such as myself are wonderful.


    Nitin B.

Best Image Manipulation Software

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GIMP is simply the best Image Manipulation Software available for free, and it is entirely open-source. It is pretty easy to use and is my go-to software for image editing.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike once you get friendly with the interface, but it might come as a very overwhelming tool for absolute beginners, given that there is too much to explore.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As the name suggests, GIMP is for image editing. It provides various tools within the software, which come in handy in situations like merging and stacking multiple images. If you are a photographer and need to blur/sharpen something, flatten the image, manipulate hue/saturation, and whatnot, you can do it all with this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do try this before making any bias towards it.


    Alex T.

You Don't Need Photoshop, You've Got GIMP!

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GIMP is a free photo editing software that does everything Photoshop does, or at least it does everything I've ever used Photoshop for. It gives me a wide range of options for editing and creating artwork, and saving it in various formats and ways.
What do you dislike?
It can be a little tricky to learn how to do certain things, especially if you are used to using Photoshop, but that just takes learning, and Googling will always provide answers to what others did.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Editing photos and artwork, as well as creating new images and artwork, and it's helping me do all the things I would need a Photoshop subscription to be doing. It's made things a lot easier for me.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for image editing and creating software, you need look no further, GIMP is what you need.


    Nripendra P.

Best Photo setup

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is very easy to set the photo in as per the required size.
What do you dislike?
A lot of content in the menu per item; because of that, it's very tricky to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
clarity of the images when we resize the image


    Telecommunications

Great Starter Program

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GIMP is a complex but useful software that can be used to edit and create images. I like the left panel layout best where I can view all the most used options instead of having to search for them. This made the software easier to use my first time. Now I know which tools I want to use based on the image and can locate them easily.
What do you dislike?
There is so much that GIMP can do; however, the panels are useful but overwhelming. I do not like the right-side panel and I tend to ignore it as the many options overwhelm me. Even if there is an easier way to accomplish a task, it is done the long way.

I also dislike the small font size of both side panels. There is probably a way to increase the size however I have yet to locate it and that in itself is a deterant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GIMP serves as a quick fix for image editing instead of purchasing a photoshop subscription. With GIMP, I can do the essential image editing needed for a project quickly and affordably.


    Philip N.

Making photo editing a breeze

  • December 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easily Gimp is laid out, giving the user an easy to access set of tools and "How To" information. Easy to drag and drop any photo to begin editing. Works great in most any photo format I have needed to use so far.
What do you dislike?
It is alittle slow when loading the software for the first time after a system boot. I walk into my office every morning, take my laptop out of my backpack, place it on the docking station and power it on. Once on I open my normal software I use and Gimp takes quite a long time to load up, but once it's loaded I'm good for the day with not so long waiting periods in between closing Gimp and reopening it later to use.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to create layouts of our Prisons that are not fully built yet, but make them look realistic so that I can program the electronic door control GUI for the Officer's to see an operator friendly display.