Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Gimp pre-configured by Miri Infotech Inc. on Ubuntu

Miri Infotech | 2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,368 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jenny B.

I'm a huge fan of Adobe, but this took the crown.

  • June 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about gimp is it's always allowed it's user to make custom brushes, custom patterns and do be honest that's the words that's important. They allow for you to to customize nearly every single feature there is or upload something that another user has created.

It's give me the ability to be more artistically creative.
What do you dislike?
Oh the learning curve after updates. Awful, just awful. No in software tutorial to assist. It's another go online to their website and read, watch videos and figure it all out all over again. Drives me crazy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's solving the gap that adobe left. That artist to developer conversation that adobe I feel doesn't do, gimp does. They listen, they give free creativity and not only that a free software. It benefits my artistic abilities and my pocketbook.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This photoshop software has a strong learning curve, but it's worth it. Just have patience, look on YouTube and in the end you will never use Adobe again.


    Ananthakrishna T.

GIMP is a best alternative for any paid photo editing softwares

  • June 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
> The interface is user-friendly even for beginners.
> The software is completely free and open-source. So no need to worry about the security issues.
> The software is highly customizable due to add-on plugin features.
> It can be the best alternative for Adobe Photoshop.
> It's one of the best digital art applications with plenty of options. Customizable brushes, smoothness while working with the graphic tablets and compatibility with other image processing applications are some of the best features.
> GIMP forum really helps us learn and resolve many issues.
What do you dislike?
> Customer support is not good. But the GIMP discussion forums can help you resolve most of the issues.
> For the professionals, the interface looks old and glitchy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
GIMP helps me edit photos with almost as many features as a paid professional photo editing software. It really benefitted my digital art skills. As it is open-source, it is highly customizable if one knows some basic Programming language.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One who is new to photo editing software and digital artwork, this is the best platform as it's free


    Nathan M.

Free But Mighty.

  • June 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A robust alternative to Photoshop. The ease of use and powerful tools make even the most advanced Photoshop users right at home. It is fantastic for creative on a budget.
What do you dislike?
Everyone once in a while you might find something that has not quite been carried over from photoshop in terms of tools, or techniques and you have to find another way to do something.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me with clients who need to open my photoshop files but don't have Photoshop to open them. That way they are able to see on a later by layer basis what changes are needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are under a strict budget or you need someone to open your Photoshop files, give this a try.


    Akash K.

Great free and open-source tool for photo editing

  • June 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing is it's free and open-source which means we can save licensing costs. It can almost perform all the things that photoshop can do. I have been using GIMP for years for making social media posts and graphics design it helps me to do photo editing with ease. Mostly use background removal tool and retouching tool for phot editing. Everything performs well. Easy to export the photos in different formats.
What do you dislike?
It sometimes crash when working on large size images. It performance is not good it works slow and consumes more resources. If you are a beginner you need to spend lots of time to learn it. The interface is not that much intuitive like photoshop.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me edit the images for social media. Our organization uses GIMP for all types of photo editing, social media post-editing or graphic design work. I use GIMP most of the time to remove the background. It's the best alternative to photoshop. It is free to use and saves licensing costs. GIMP helps us to create a cover design, social media posts, enhancing photos and much more. The best part is it exports the photos in high quality and resolutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a free and awesome photo editing tool then GIMP is for you.


    Education Management

Best free version of Photoshop I've used

  • May 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that gimp is accessible and free. It is the best photo editor.
What do you dislike?
I haven't come across any dislikes yet it is all I could ask for
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have no problems with Gimp. The benefit of using it is it will do everything photoshop can but for free
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a free version of photoshop or a great photo editor, use gimp!


    Md Minhajuddin K.

Gimp is a good option for those who want a very good photo editor and use it for free.

  • May 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to learn and start using. A very beginner can use it without any hastle. It takes very less time to become acquainted with its user interface.
What do you dislike?
Some advance features of photoshop is not there
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I can create thumnails, tweak photos and edit them for my personal usage.


    Information Technology and Services

Open Source Image Editing Tool

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Solid build: GIMP is an open-source tool which has a solid build. The GUI is carefully crafted and takes a very little learning curve to master the tool.
2. Open source community: is by far most helpful. For sure, as a new user, anybody will face issues with these tools. The open-source community make it very easy to find answers to any questions you might have about this platform.
What do you dislike?
Performance: At times, I have observed that GIMP does perform very slow and buggy as well. Since this is an open-source tool, I expect some problems pertaining, but this is not a show stopper.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Slowness and bugginess is something that I have observed. This even happens on a highly capable machine and with the latest version of GIMP installed. Therefore, this shall be kept in mind.


    Jay C.

Great image editing tool for education

  • April 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The software is easy to use and easy to master
What do you dislike?
I would prefer that there is a more comprehensive manual for beginners on how to use the tools
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Editing images that can be used in the classroom. The features on the platform are great to obtain the right width and height for my diagrams
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The photoshop tools are great for the editing of images.


    Abhishek G.

The Only real free alternative to Photoshop

  • April 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best thing about GIMP is that it is a Free and open source alternative to photoshop. With this I was able to edit images to a extent that it is not possible to do with any free software.
What do you dislike?
The interface is a little clunky and old fashioned. Someone needs to take gimp as the base and make it easier for newbies.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it for editing images that I had put in my Master's thesis.


    Elisabeth B.

Excellent open source image editor

  • April 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Opensource software - lots of support and resources available (for free!)
- Interface is similar to other image editors, making it easy to convert skills
- Functionality sufficient for all basic image editing needs I have had, from goofy picture edits to serious image manipulation for marketing and web purposes
What do you dislike?
- Menus include many options, which means the one you need may be buried under a few levels. This can make it cumbersome to pick up and require Googling to find the options you need.
- It's a very full-featured program, which means it's pretty complex and detailed. It's not an easy one to learn your way around quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use GIMP any time that I need to do image manipulation work. This is a quick solution to edit the proportions of someone's profile photo for a team website page, or change colors to match current branding, or add a wizard hat as part of a custom thank-you to a coworker whose wizardly solutions you're thankful for. GIMP, in short, lets you take an image and tweak it in minor ways that make it fill your needs best.