Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenFire pre-configured by Miri Infotech Inc. on Ubuntu.

Miri Infotech | 3

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

Openfire Review

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Yes, have been using this product for chatting between two persons in a secured envronment.
What do you dislike?
Need to provide more REST API featuring chat scraping for security purpose.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Enabling chat between two registered users after login which provides secured communication between two users.


    Jayesh P.

Best software to create in house chat server

  • July 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its open-source and very much stable. We are using this for the last ten years, never been down.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about it. almost perfect
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We communicate with other office employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just go for it, very easy to setup and use.


    José Roberto V.

The internal communication tool that best suits your business needs...

  • February 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The configuration, administration and management of talk groups are easy to use. The server where the product must be mounted is within the reach of any micro-company that requires this product.
What do you dislike?
Currently at the company level we have a requirement on the use of openfire for effective communication, similar to a Microsoft product, that is, we need the processes of video calls, phone calls and other options that openfire on-premise does not support, we have seen the option of openfire web but this 2021 with the problem that FlashPlayer stopped working, we are concerned about implementing it and not having adequate support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There was a need to have an internal communication tool that was audited by ourselves, Openfire helped us with this process because we can define the communication groups, we define them between departments without other departments mixing. This option helped us to separate confidential information between the sectors of the company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Currently Openfire meets the expectations of internal communication, we know that the market has other types of products for the same purpose; but today for today on a personal level, Openfire pleases and does what I need.


    Computer Software

Great Opensource communication tool

  • September 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free , opensource, has a lot of integrations and plugins.
What do you dislike?
Java memory issues on server side, We need to cron a restar of openfire service.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You have a free solutions that makes communications easy and free, and could be used in any hardware
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have no money to spend on a cloud based solution and you want a free, robust , stable solution where you are the owner of your data, then Openfire is for you


    Nicolas (Nÿco) V.

Very simple and practical

  • February 21, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Openfire is very simple and highly graphical, which makes a good recommandation of beginner sysadmins
What do you dislike?
It does not scale high, so it is not suited for big corporations
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Integration into the IS, fluidify the communications between community/team members
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it in small companies


    Heather S.

Openfire works great!

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use Openfire for our internal instant messaging. As a virtual company, communication is key, and this helps us stay informed.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it needs to be rebooted to prevent crashing. Can get annoying.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to communicate quickly and efficiently using Openfire instant messaging.


    David A.

OpenFire Chat Server

  • October 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We used the OpenFire Server for our internal IM platform. It integrated nicely with our Active Directory and running on the Linux platform "just worked". We had very little maintenance except for routine updates we need to do on it.
What do you dislike?
The plugin system was sometimes buggy, but got better with time. Our engineers also preferred other clients to the Openfire chat client, but thats the power of Opensource and choice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Instant Communication platform - worked with our AD and we controller access.


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Most efficient XMPP server

  • March 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Allows plugins
Quite stable server
A product of Ignite realtime, which has related products
What do you dislike?
Admin console has many details
Not enough support from users to use
XMPP messages sometimes have delay span
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Problems: a quite stable XMPP server for chat application
Benefits: A quite stable server, open-source, can handle a fair number of requests
Recommendations to others considering the product:
An efficient XMPP server, arguably the best one since it is quite stable and open-source


    Alexander H.

Working as expected

  • March 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
open standards, open source, it's free :-D
Many authentification methods, a webbased client, external access also possible.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes after updates you have to search for a solution to get it running again.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Internal company communication.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitively worth a try


    Alexander P.

One of the easiest-to-setup XMPP servers

  • June 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Openfire, despite being powerful, is really easy to get started with. You can use it standalone, or configure LDAP — all a matter of a few clicks in the GUI setup. It also works with Docker, although there were some problems with this setup.
What do you dislike?
It seemed like Openfire would work in Docker (there are even some ready images in Docker Hub for that purpose), but it didn't go really well. We've ended up setting it up on bare server alongside our dockerized setup. Also, it is a bit hard to integrate with some systems it wasn't meant to be integrated with (i. e. no lack-like flexibility), but if you are a developer, there's nothing impossible for you!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used Openfire as a student team chat server, so it's