Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Minimal Ubuntu 16.04 LTS - Xenial

Canonical Group Limited | Minimal Ubuntu 16.04 20210929

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - Xenial - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,080 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Services

Ubuntu for hardcore programmers

  • January 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a light Operating System utilise low resources its safe and secure in privacy concern. Its blazing fast.
What do you dislike?
The only disadvantage is it support limited application for the community where as other operating system have flexibility of application available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solvimg the Artificial Intelligence problem with it and it helps alot in every aspect beacuse of the low resource it utilize all the programmes which we design and code it runs fastly and smoothly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
On thing i ll like to say about ubuntu like if you are new to this you need to learn some good command .


    Haleemath Ath Hara F.

Best OS to take charge of your PC

  • January 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how Ubunutu lets you take charge of customizing your PC from A to Z. You can personalize the display to make it feel like Mac, Windows, or anything at all with the themes. The Ubuntu Software Centre has free applications for all your needs. I also love the pre-installed apps. Most of the apps you'd pay for in other OS, you'll get for free in Ubuntu. Not to mention, many open-source applications like GIMP work so much faster and efficiently in Ubuntu. The main attraction of Ubuntu is the Terminal which lets you do practically anything in just one window if you know the commands for it. And yet, switching to the GUI is not at all a problem either. The UI becomes more and more impressive with each update. Furthermore, Ubuntu is free can be installed on any device, even a portable pen-drive, and the installation process is pretty easy if you get the hang of it.
What do you dislike?
Switching from another OS to Ubuntu takes a lot of adjusting since everything works differently. The learning curve is quite steep, even for professionals. Ubuntu also tends to crash often after updates. I have had to reinstall multiple times in past years because something went wrong with the update package installations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is the best solution if you want to switch from paying for your PC's software licenses and start contributing to the Open-source world. Almost everything can be done for free on Ubuntu, and it lets you take control of every aspect of your PC, from the looks and feel to every technicality of it. I started using Ubuntu when my Windows crashed or would demand subscriptions for the most basic features like Office apps. Moreover, Ubuntu comes as a lifesaver when your default OS stops working and you're unable to log in to your PC. You can install Ubuntu on a USB device, make changes to your device settings by plugging in the USB and working on portable Ubuntu. I have been able to salvage my lost data multiple times this way.


    Niyati M.

Ubuntu-not better than kali

  • January 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing is like about Ubuntu is its operating system which is after all Linux. The command shell matches that of MAC, so very easy to use on both platforms and operating systems. Along with that, the UI is great for scripts and python.
What do you dislike?
The one thing I dislike and that too if I compare with other variants of Linux is that as a Cybersecurity Analyst it is not as efficient as Kali Linux with various inbuilt tools for penetration testing. However, it is still easy to install it from the command line, but it does consume a lot of time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a new bee in cybersecurity, it is always easy to start with ubuntu as the easy Linux operating system. With easy and flexible UI it is beneficial to manage a Virtual machine with low memory storage and less RAM as compared to other variants. Python becomes easy in this system with easy compatibility. Also, the notes features is amazing and easy to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are new to using Linux, I recommend using it. However, nowadays KALI Linux is the best variant to use.


    Rutuj D.

Ubuntu is underrated!

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use is at another level, and the simplicity of the software is just sweet. The best thing is that anybody can download and install Ubuntu for free. As the developers from the Linux community just ask for Donations and not any cost for the software.
What do you dislike?
The Linux-based Operating Systems don't have direct support to Windows programs. You can indeed emulate them, but it's just not the same. The smoothness and fluid-functionality of the directly installed apps feels different.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently, I use Ubuntu for Software Development projects and a desktop environment for teaching. the most significant benefit is that one can quickly learn and adapt to and from Windows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a fantastic product from the Free-Software community and the Linux community, absolutely recommend this OS. Also, though it's easy to switch between using Windows and Ubuntu, it's pretty hard to get the same apps and programs on Ubuntu.


    Anuj B.

One of the best linux with good UI

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
you can use both command-line option of linux and UI option like windows. Security is also better than windows.
What do you dislike?
Not all the software supported and sometimes buggy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used eclipse for my development environment


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Best OS for Personal / Business Needs

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stable OS
Open Source, free to use
Suitable for Development including Software, Embedded Development. Best suited for all the engineers and researchers
Frequent software updates
Excellent community helping to learn the distro, also in troubleshooting issues. Forum based helps in learning the unknowns at a faster rate
What do you dislike?
No major dislikes as it is a community based linux distro which has all the features required for all kind of development and day to day tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Scripts, all our developments related to prototyping and development of our intelligent modules.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu being open source shall be the go to operating system for industrial purposes.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu is free and easy to use

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and easy to use, large community, lite OS, and supporting most of the packages
What do you dislike?
Not suitable for large businesses, and not supported by part of the tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was the 1st OS that used by our company to develop and test our product, and some employees are still using it as a gateway


    Viraj R.

A developer’s playground

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of switching between my terminal and code editor, more control over the filesystem, kernel, and general structure of my system.
What do you dislike?
The GUI of the OS, of course, has its upsides, but for a novice learner, it tends to be less intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem statements involved in building a data pipeline, solving ingestion issues, and troubleshooting bugs.


    Malhar J.

Reliable Debian-based Linux flavour

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Package Management, Software Support, User Experience
What do you dislike?
OS Updates, RAM Management, Trash and Temporary files management
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am submitting the bugs from Ubuntu Live account on weekly basis. I have observed and verified certain security patches.


    Madhu B.

Professional operating system

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu operating system provides best solution for programmers for programming in different tools and command interface also very professional.
What do you dislike?
It's not a major drawback but for personal use will feel bit difficult and for professional use it best for sure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of installation for programming Tools and simple command base interface for command base programming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to professional who do programming of any language.