Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Amazon Web Services | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

314 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bidisha P.

CentOS

  • September 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the backbone of our ERP system and the reason we trust is CentOS provides a stable operating system to hold our ERP system's load. CentOS also gives us bandwidth to integrate other softwares which forms a pipeline.
What do you dislike?
CentOS support lacks in communication due to which SLA's are breached and we get downtime in our ERP system which we are not supposed to. The downtime causes tons of issues getting accumulated
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
CentOS powers our main ERP system
CentOS helps us with security and the data is finance oriented hence highly confidential.
CentOS is also leveraged to install Java,python which backs up our 3rd party integration plugins with ERP


    Pooja M.

Best OpenSource Linux OS for Students and Small Businesses

  • August 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open-source and freely available on market and runs on my old Intel-based Core2Duo laptop.
What do you dislike?
UI can be improved and some new features can be added into the system to help for daily uses.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's good for those who don't have much money to purchase a paid Operating system like MAC and Windows. As a student and employee, I enjoyed it a lot and I am using it now for coding.


    Yellala Venkata R.

Best and most hassle free secured OS

  • August 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, faster and most effeciently handles multi tasking.
I love it's security
What do you dislike?
UI is something that needs to be improved to make it more user friendly
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
High end servers and security, efficient computation


    Information Technology and Services

Best lightweight Linxu based Operating System.

  • August 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like it for being lightweight yet feature rich operating system. Its very suitable for using on the application server machines.
What do you dislike?
I don't like the package manager or the software installation process of the os. It could have app store for easy access to apps.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it for software development and application deployment.


    SAURABH B.

Best OS for hosting Application Developed On Angular Framework

  • August 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have used centos feature for hosting my application and it's really light-weight and friendly platform for me
What do you dislike?
the community support is not that great. i found problem while first time using this platform because of less amount of blogs but the help support from centos is pretty fast.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is giving me Ready-made platform for using for developement of Application like Entreprise-level


    GAURAV K.

Open source community developed Linux

  • August 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOs is open source developed platform which is free alternative to paid linux in market. It has similar 15 stacks that are available with paid linux like licensing, security package management with commerical support. If you have to maintain normal server where data breaching is not a serious issue then centos is best fit.
What do you dislike?
As it is a free tool there is no offical support only community support you will be provided. For updating any patches we need to depend on community to develop it. There is no offical certified administrator for centos technical support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is an excellent choice for running applications for small to medium level setups. Its manageable platform suits wide variety of deployment. It also allows corporates to save money that they cannot afford for paid version of linux.


    Aditya K.

CentOs review

  • August 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
centos is one of the widely used Os in development and there are many providers for centos. The ease of use, memorable commands and connectivity with various other services makes it a go to Os
What do you dislike?
Sometimes debugging the Os related issues as well as memory related issues(especially kernel objects allocation) is hard
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
hadoop installation
java installation
python installation
telegraf installation
database installation
systemctl service installation
and many more services can be added to this OS


    Devarishi M.

Alternative to Proprietary OS - CentOS

  • August 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and use. No cost. Different setups are available to meet specific requirements.
What do you dislike?
Need to spend some time learning it and specifically the CLI where the real power is.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using it at work and for making technical videos for my youtube channel.


    Naved S.

Centos

  • July 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Probably one of the best flavour of Linux that i have used so far.
What do you dislike?
There isnt much to dislike as this is the os which i used when i started my career.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
While installing any package through YUM. there was absolutely no delay.


    Computer Software

I’ve used CentOS and I am sharing my bit of using it.

  • July 25, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Only thing I liked about CenOS that it is fast.
What do you dislike?
I don't like its minimal support of user interface. Everything requires a lot of effort.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used only because it is required to support centos on our application. We used it to install Database.