Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Amazon Web Services | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

307 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

CentOS

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am working with centos for the last couple of years and the best part of centOS is

It and open source and easy to install.
Awsome GUI experience.
Easily get documentation on the internet for centOS.
What do you dislike?
To be honest, I didn't find anything odd in centOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used CentOS as a server in our production environment, I can easily deploy applications on centOS as it's highly secure.


    Zhuye C.

Easy to use for small business website

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the commands are same or very similar to Debian, I can use it easily if you were a previous Debian user.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the package manager yum is not up to date. Also there was a time, a version mismatch issue happened when I tried to install application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I set up several small websites using CentOs for students for education purposes.


    Online Media

Great OS, sad to see support discontinued

  • April 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has the Red Hat Linux Enterprise features and functionality with a stable server release.
What do you dislike?
Support has been discontinued and they are shifting course to CentOS Stream which is not meant for production servers but test builds which are less stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It used to have a long lifecycle of 10 years which provided a stable release without having to do any major upgrades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Since support for CentOS has been discontinued, I'd research an alternative to meet your needs.


    Swarup A.

A Candid CentOS Review

  • April 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As an enterprise-grade Operating system, Centos is truly a phenomenal experience for engineers and developers. I have been actively using it as part of software projects
What do you dislike?
Can be made more user-friendly for users who are not from a technical background. The configuration and performance metrics can be improvised by at least 20% so that they can be scaled for a wider user base.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Semiconductors deployment, IoT and AI-based solutions. Innovating use-cases on cloud computing, SAAS applications and edge computing. In summary, serving needs for compute, storage and networking.


    Financial Services

Cent OS

  • April 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The functionality and customizability of Cent OS
What do you dislike?
Remembering the different commands compared to more common distros
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to lockdown an OS and what users have access to
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Pay for Redhat or find a different free alternative since CentOS is being discontinued.


    Chamnes P.

CentOS is good is for community version

  • April 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a lot of package to install and customize
What do you dislike?
Now centos is no longer supported by RedHat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use to run test project with DNS server install on CenOS 6


    Information Technology and Services

CentOS Overview

  • April 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It open Source and stable and the best in the market for OS Performance
What do you dislike?
It is diffficult to operate for People from a windows background and also the customer support is NIL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using it as an Application Deployment server. The main benefit of Centos that is has very good compatibility with 3rd party Apps also it is very cost-effective
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best option if you are looking for Open Source OS


    Ahmed M.

Awesome!!

  • April 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The centos are good for learning & practicing for operating system. software management and virtualization the tools i used in yum, vim, vi etc., compare to any other operating system in Linux centos is user friendly and helpful.
What do you dislike?
there is no reason to dislike Centos Linux but in some Scenarios, i dislike rpm packages it could be difficult if they improve packages in rpm which could be helpful for others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the problem I faced in Centos and solved the yum repository while installing the software and packages. the productivity of the software has increased the performance of business


    Computer & Network Security

CentOS is still the best for open source

  • April 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and quickness of updates and fixes
What do you dislike?
Not as community friendly as ubuntu, but still good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we use it to spin up new envs quickly in vms
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a fine choice of Linux, esp for spinning up on VMs or in the Cloud


    Information Technology and Services

Great alternative for redhat users

  • April 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS has been the free option for many users around the world, without any license requirements can be used by anyone and with similar CLI commands to Redhat Linux.

The CentOS has been receiving updates to support newer technologies but be aware that there is not a complete support program like redhat does.

Compatible with the yum commands I have found many customers using this OS on any client or enterprise environment.
What do you dislike?
CentOS is really intuitive for anyone who has used other Linux distributions but for new users or people that want to make the first try into a Linux environment is not recommended, there are not as many forums with a lot of information on how to use it and there is also not direct support for it from a lot of vendors so is more like "you can try to use it but if anything happens if up to you to fix it"
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS helps to save some money in licenses to the companies, also the constant kernel updates allow some enterprise environments to keep upgrading their hardware and making it compatible work with the newer releases of CentOS.

It has become a handy option for any user who is experienced with other Linux distributions as one free option on the market that could be used on production environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to familiarize with other linux distributions before using this one.
If you are a red hat user you will feel this OS has almost no difference besides the support in how to use it.