Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veritas Backup Exec™ for AWS BYOL

Veritas Technologies LLC | 21.3

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Architecture & Planning

Good Backup Solution

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful backup solution for tapes and disks.
What do you dislike?
The search feature seldom works and it could be faster when navigating windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Recovery of accidentally deleted files and folders, recovery of older files and folders.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Perfect backup application for both cloud and tape

  • August 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cloud backup integration with Amazon, Azure etc.
- backup to disk is totally simple
- backup to tapehas compression, encryption and management
- Technical support is quick and well trained
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such to dislike, Application has lot of feature to secure the server and other useful data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using the Veritas backup exec for disk and tape backup of all our server.
DR portion is simply useful for complete system state backup and virtual machine.


    Computer Software

Easy to use and integrates with IT environment with simple steps

  • April 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
User graphical interface and user experience
What do you dislike?
Can't cover some advanced backup requirements
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backing up our environment with simple steps


    Karthik C.

unified solution for Physical,Virtual and Cloud environments

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Operational Simplicity
instant recovery for Virtual machines
integration of SQL backup
Integration of Exchange backup
Integration of SharePoint
Veritas SaaS Backup Reporting Integration
Ransomware resiliency
Storage Lock down option
Easy integration with tape drive
Accelerator for VMware and Hyper-V
New simplified licensing model
2-factor Authentication
Enhanced Deduplication
What do you dislike?
Manual addition of email notification users
Schedule Reporting
Speed of access to backup sets
Expanded features
Job completion time could be improved
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Online backup of SQL database
VM level backup
Ransomware resiliency
Email alerts and notification
Meeting SLA for Virtual machines
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Kindly check the SCL and HCL before making decisions.It is very simple software ready to use.
Plan for Exchange backup as it requires downtime


    Daniel L.

Good Backup software for small business

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to configure. You do not need advanced skills to schedule a recovery plan or data backup. Backups can be configured to use a NAS, SMB, DRIVES...etc. This software is fast and has a deduplicity function. You can backup phisycal or virtualiced environments.
What do you dislike?
Sometines the agent can not be deployed or system services can not be installed with the deployment of the client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use deduplication and VMWare backup. This is a centralized Backup software, instead of use Windows Backup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it and make a good plan and configuration, it works.


    Aviation & Aerospace

My Experience with Veritas (Backup Exec)

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
this is one of the most beautiful software I ever met in my life, I used it for backing up the Data in many companies where I worked before, and before the cloud solutions were founded, I used this software for first time in 2005 - 2006, used it for backing up DCs, MS Exchange server, ISA Server and File Servers
What do you dislike?
just the main dashboard, maybe needs some re-design, but in general it is very Good
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backed up all Data in the companies I worked at, and sometimes I restored the data on disasters, and Data Transfer
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just make some re-design to the Dashboard


    Information Technology and Services

Decent solution but not the best on the market

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Provides a good fairly easy to use backup solution for you and your customers.
What do you dislike?
More time and resource intensive that some of its competitors like Cohesity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to back up our systems and restore if there were any issues from patching or stog applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at Cohesity and other competitors, they may fit your needs more and provide a better software.


    Gosi M.

Veritas Backup Exec

  • January 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and use, ability to recover both physical and virtual workloads, baremetal recovery to dissimilar hardware or across various virtualisation platforms
What do you dislike?
so far so good, however every product has minor challenges that ultimately are addressed with time
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Backing up of our customers' core infrastructure with quick recovery time objectives and strict recovery point objectives
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Veritas Backup Exec is a well looked after product that has been protecting customer data since the days of early computing. Over the years Veritas Backup Exec has evolved into a mid market solution.


    Computer Software

360 Degree Protection with Veritas Backup Exec

  • August 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only Backup Exec protects various environment from Virtuall, Cloud , Physical it also integrates with Info Map to give holistic view of what we have in our DC as well as cloud which allows to take appropriate actions with regards to data management
What do you dislike?
I hope they come with feature withing BE to failover servers using Azure & AWS native tools right with in the management console
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to consolidate data management and at the same time make the data highly available when needed. With this we are able to achieve compliance and uptime
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If anyone looking for data management solution Veritas BE is definately a good choice also its integration with Information Map make it a formidable solution


    Jamie J.

Reliable daily backups for server clusters

  • August 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Veritas Backup Exec is one of the most well known backup software solutions in the industry. One of the things I like best about it is the fact that, unlike some newer software platforms, it supports an array of legacy hardware backup solutions (such as tape backup) in addition to modern offerings like hot-swappable hard drives or even cloud backup repositories.
What do you dislike?
While reliability is good overall, I do occasionally run into issues that need attention to resolve. It's tough though to say definitely if those issues are necessarily to do with Veritas Backup Exec as opposed to the associated hardware the software is controlling, but nonetheless it hasn't been entirely hands off. That being said, when issues have risen, the tech support for Backup Exec has been truly excellent. They respond quickly and are quite knowledgeable in solving issues. They will also happily connect remotely to either walk you through or even actively perform the steps required to get you back up and running fast.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Veritas Backup Exec is an integral component of our complete backup and redundancy plan. It allows us to maintain a reliable set of both on-site and off-site backups and replications. It also allows for simple restore methods that are used in the event of disaster recovery or even for simple user errors such as accidentally deleting or modifying files or folders on our servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have any legacy hardware you want to continue to use for backups, I would highly recommend considering Veritas Backup Exec.