Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

SoftEther VPN Server Free VPN for Windows 2019

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.4

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ovik V.

SoftEther: one of best VPN solutions I've used

  • May 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- functionality (support different types of VPN in our product - this cover most desktop and mobile OS)
- easy of use and learning curve (it's configure native as much as possible)
- works stable and fast
- easy to setup and start to use (I can setup ready to use VPN server in 5-10 mins)
What do you dislike?
- distribution method (only binaries or source code, no deb/rpm packges or official repositories)
- unsecure PAP authentification method is used if L2TP IPsec enabled with Radius
- once SecureNat stopped to work and I've switched to Bridge mode (which honestly slower then SecureNat)
- many small things:
* no service startup script in distribution
* no documentation for v.5
* no project roadmap available
* issues in GitHub fixing slow
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Universal unified VPN solution for corporate users. Most benefit is that this is one solution that cover all our users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I don't know any good alternatives for SoftEther - maybe Wireguard some day will became.


    Jesus M.

A free and complete VPN service provider

  • November 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SoftEther has several security protocols such as OpenVPN, which make it a really viable option. Another very important feature is that the traffic is unlimited. I also appreciate that you have an Android app.
What do you dislike?
Some websites are blocked when using this VPN, it is not compatible with banking websites. I also have a negative aspect regarding servers, since there are usually some on the list that do not work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This software allows me to enter free Wi-Fi networks with company devices without worrying about trying to verify my data traffic. It has also allowed me to navigate faster on servers with good connectivity.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This tool really works to help hide our identity when surfing the Internet, in a safe and reliable way. I recommend it, because it is a completely free software to which a remarkably committed community contributes, to help you log in from different countries to perform your tasks,


    Wesley K.

Public VPN project

  • September 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open, free and all over the world, easy optimalisation and customizable to your liking. Once you have it all set up and been using it you won't be going back to other VPN solutions. The fact that the software is Open Source tells you alot about its secutiry and credibility.
What do you dislike?
Depending on the hoster the connection can be bad/non-existant, if you host it yourself or within your company this is no problem with a good structured connection
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Keep data secured, Route connections and stay on the same network as colleagues regardless of location,
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a highly customizable VPN solution, this is the way to go.


    Telecommunications

Softether VPN

  • June 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked that it was easy to use and that it was available at no cost.
What do you dislike?
There wasn’t anything I did not like about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were using OpenVPN but had problems and using SoftEther VPN eliminated the.


    Tom B.

Great software to use for a bring your own device workplace

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and use allowing remote connection to the server so that work can be done remotely and data accessed
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike besides initial set up issues and bugs but are fixed through troubleshooting
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote access to data and ability to interact remotely allowing a more flexible in office schedule when needed


    Luis M.

SoftEther VPN is the best free VPN you could use

  • June 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SoftEther VPN has excellent remote places to connect and does not consume much broadband. I think it's easy to configure and its behavior is quite acceptable to be a free software. The interface is simple, where it is enough to select the server where you want to connect and turn it on. In addition, it shows important information such as IP and MAC.
What do you dislike?
Some locations are congested by the number of users, especially the locations of the United States and China, which are usually accessed to avoid restrictions on websites.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SoftEther VPN is an easy way to test our websites from different locations to measure their performance in terms of upload and download speed, because it has an innumerable number of servers around the world and with a strong privacy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this VPN to anyone whose business is growing and have higher needs than a basic VPN. There are quite a few servers with an acceptable speed and good security to surf the web.


    Malik F.

Unique services!

  • June 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This VPN is just a masterpiece, because they have so many features, not like the other similar VPN that they are on the internet, they give you every time a mini update with different servers that you can use and when you run a scan for the IP that you just got it doesn't even appear that you are using a VPN to hide your current location.
What do you dislike?
NONE, this is probably the best VPN ever
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
viewing contents that it was blocked in my country or testing new services or games that aren't available in certain areas
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should try this out you will never regret that.


    Emiliano L.

SoftEther VPN is the best free service

  • June 05, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
SoftEther VPN has residential IPs, something highly valued for those who frequently use VPN, allowing the user the privacy of the information and the reliability. The installation is easy and fast.
What do you dislike?
This software does not have stable servers. There are some slow and others to which you can not even connect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This tool guarantees the privacy of the information to some members of the company who need to perform certain investigations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
SoftEther VPN is the best free service you could find on the Internet.


    Vincent C.

Residential VPN to Bypass All Blocks

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This VPN has over 200 servers in different countries to choose from. These VPN servers are hosted by volunteers around the world who use their own home internet, which means that I may get a residential IP. A residential IP is really useful because sometimes websites block IPs that are coming from businesses or data centers. The speed of the VPN varies a lot because there are different servers with different internet and different speeds. I usually get 50 mbps on a good server and 1-3 mbps on a bad one. The speed is excellent for simply browsing the web and maybe for playing some videos.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the connection drops and there's some servers that it will not connect to. Only 200 servers maximum is shown on the list even though on their website, they state that there are over 7,000 servers. I do understand that these servers are hosted by volunteers and that it's not SoftEther's fault for outages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The workplace internet has a strict filter that blocks some websites and resources. With this VPN, I can easily bypass those filters and access sites that block business/data center IPs. Many forums block these type of business IPs, so I need a residential IP to access it. SoftEther VPN gets the job done flawlessly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is completely free and open source. It may not be the best paid VPN, but it is the best free VPN.


    Joseph G.

The most complete free VPN today

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
SoftEther VPN is the best free service that exists. It is a powerful undetectable software vpn that bypass most types of firewall restrictions offered by certain websites and organizations around the world.
What do you dislike?
Some servers are very slow and there are others with which you can not even establish a connection.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This software is used as a measure to maximize security in the network of the company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's simple to use and certainly outperforms the other free alternatives.