Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

103 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Andrii H.

Satisfied so far with technical side - UI can be better

  • September 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity. Working with aiven is straightforward and doesn't include any underwater currents. The documentation is excellent.
What do you dislike?
UI is not optimized for small screens (13 inch laptop), and generally, can be more "smooth". Takes some time to get used to it, and it still not very convenient.

Kafka connectors are not restarting if there were no configuration change, even when I press the button - some status icon (spinning wheel) would greatly contribute to useability.

UI for connectors can be better. (https://console.aiven.io/project/stg-eu/services/replicator/connectors)

There is no buttons to jump to configuration from there, probbaly will be much better if we have unified view for connector with "tasks" section etc.

Use case - I open multiple connectors for debugging with "ctrl +click" from the list menu so they will be separate windows.
Right now I have to copy paste link on list view and then click the button "edit configuration" separately on all of them -

suggestion - all the views to have URIs which could be accessed directly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
CDC data capture scenarios


    Financial Services

Well made UI but lack of flexibility in access rights

  • September 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very easy to create new clusters and enable connectivity with public cloud environments, also user management is quite simple which makes it easy to work with.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that there is a lack of access rights for user management. We can either grant user read-only which gives him too little permissions or we can grant him developer, which gives him too much permissions in the Aiven Kafka Console. Since we are controlling everything via IaC, we cannot grant users anything more then read-only, but with that they cannot really "read" 99% of the stuff like see topics or schema content or on the other hand in INT or lower envirnomnets we cannot grant them to see passwords of users or check ACL's in the console. Granularity is missing badly :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is giving us possibility to use it as central messaging BUS from multiple on-prem or public cloud systems and we can process them and forward them to systems as per requirement


    Kumar Saurabh S.

Still not in production, but super nice experience

  • September 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Communication was super seamless. Every time we need support Aiven team is just a message away. For example, in the PoC phase, we were looking for some on-demand thing to help us with the journey, and the team was always there to support us.
What do you dislike?
Probably documentation around complex problems would be interesting. For example, we want to connect two clouds with Aiven, and yes, there were some architecture diagrams provided, but I think when the use case is not so straightforward and Aiven has already solved it with previous clients, it's better to have detailed solution descriptions on the same.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Event sourcing and CDC with multiple clouds


    Insurance

Good offerings, very satisfied!

  • September 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy of use, terraform provider, cli, ...
What do you dislike?
Everything is ok. I have nothing what I dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We run all our services in K8s, but we wanted to offload some more complex operations tasks from our dev ops team.


    Insurance

Greate and easy set up of Kafka environment

  • September 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Straightforward setup, management and configuration. We also tried trial version for evaluation of our needs and the whole configuration took only few minutes, super easy
What do you dislike?
In world where everything is in code including also whole infrastructure, I found only some community developed Terraform, which was also hard to set up and use for Aiven Kafka
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At riskwolf we are insuring our client against internet outages of their infrastructure so we are processing multiple datasources of internet providers and also weather predictions to calculate price for given use case.


    Shehan T.

Really easy to navigate through the dashboard.

  • September 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Really intuitive dashboard gives access to all the necessary features Kafka has to provide.
What do you dislike?
There's no way to produce test messages to test consumers. Would be of great help if it could be build into the dashboard
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Messeging layer for event based architecture we are building for our services backend


    Information Services

A zero downtime fully managed service, what's not to like? :D

  • September 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's vendor-agnostic - I have been using AWS SQS, SNS and EventBridge for similar things before
What do you dislike?
Managing topics and all the gritty details has a bit of a learning curve I guess
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The transition from "databases and cronjobs" to an event-driven architecture


    Wholesale

Aiven Apache Kafka

  • September 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Nice UI, nice terraform module, k8s operator, variety of cloud providers, ability to scale both vertically and horizontally. I like the way your documentation is structured and the fact that it is really concise.
What do you dislike?
There are pros and cons of each point that I mention. 1. As for scalability: I would highly appreciate having a possibility to scale automatically somehow. It would be precious to be able to scale based on some metrics and Kafka usage and to set minimun and maximum number of nodes. Of course, Kafka scalability may be not that straight-forward due to the fact that scaling it would surely take some amount of time and may take a lot of time if the data volume is really high; but at least having an option to scale it up and down automatically would be cool and would imply reliability and assurance in the service. 2. As for documentation: documentation is concise but sometimes I would like to have a link to dive deeper into details on how that or another thing works. And just noticed that for example on this page: https://docs.aiven.io/docs/products/kafka/concepts.html, the underlined topics and the UI itself looks a bit poorer than the rest of your UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For now, we are just starting to use Aiven Apache Kafka, and we are in the middle of the consideration if to use it and how. From my side, I am an infrastructure engineer, and my benefits are to use a managed service, do not spend a lot of time and effort managing Kafka, describing it in IaC and so on.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to find topics and read their content

  • August 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
How easy it was to look up topics (using search), view the messages that are on a particular topic and then decode the b64 and read the contents. We needed to look up a mongo change stream and found what we were looking for in this message 💪
What do you dislike?
One thing that would have been good was to see what kind of volume a particular topic has. For instance, we wanted to know just how many messages were on a mongo change stream in case we needed to do some caching on the consumer end to be more efficient querying the DB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
At Wolt it helps when trying to communicate between different microservices. In our particular case we want to see when an object changes in the core mongo database and make some changes elsewhere in a separate system.

Obviously that's the benefits of Kafka :) but as far as Aiven goes it's great to have a managed solution and a UI for seeing messages / topics etc.


    Retail

Very cool experience !

  • August 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I could leverage some powerful workflow with the help the aiven-operator !
Integration of Prometheus monitoring is very cool as well.
And last but not the least, nice terraform provider.
What do you dislike?
Some documentation has been a little bit outdated, but the aiven team handle some of my pull requests to adjust the documentation/provided samples provided very quickly!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to serve a platform as a service and give a smoother experience to our software engineers team by leveraging the concept of infrastructure as a code.