用数据重写行动

手册

Cris Collinsworth 和 Neil Hornsby 如何使用 AWS 上的机器学习来变革我们观看橄榄球比赛的方式

用数据重写行动手册

Cris Collinsworth 和 Neil Hornsby 如何使用 AWS 上的机器学习来变革我们观看橄榄球比赛的方式
PFF 如何改变游戏规则 (2:53)

PFF 对橄榄球的分析要比地球上任何其他人都更深入细致。尽管公司拥有超过 500 人的团队,但单靠人力能够实现的结果总有局限。利用过去 14 个 NFL 赛季每场比赛的上亿数据点,并借助在 AWS 上使用 Amazon SageMaker 构建的机器学习模型,PFF 在分析和评价运动员方面走在了世界前列。

出乎意料的分析师

并非总是如此。PFF 由 Neil Hornsby 于 2006 年创立,但其发展历程始于 20 世纪 80 年代初,当时 Hornsby 受到新电视节目的启发,该节目每周在英国境内播放 NFL 精彩片段。

Hornsby 开始阅读所能接触到的一切美式足球内容,当了解到 Paul Zimmerman 所著的 A Thinking Man’s Guide To Pro Football 一书时,他立即买来开始阅读。“这本书让我爱上了橄榄球”,Hornsby 在 2016 年为《体育画报》撰写的社论中说道。“我读这本书的次数远超过这辈子读过的其他任何书。” 这本书不断推动 Hornsby,让其更加热爱橄榄球这项运动,并且为球迷欣赏比赛的所有精彩时刻开启了全新的复杂领域。

2003 年,Hornsby 受到启发,追随 Zimmerman 在游戏评分方面的脚步;在 2006 年,其更进了一步,在保持 Zimmerman 对于准确性和公平性高于传统智慧的高标准精神的同时,将其带到线上并众包对每场比赛中每位球员的分析与评分,从而最终在英格兰卢顿创立 PFF。

到 2014 年,PFF 在全球拥有 30 多名员工,并成功吸引了超过 30% 的 NFL 球队成为其客户。这开始引起大众的注意,包括某位知名广播员:Cris Collinsworth。

一次偶然的相遇

Cris Collinsworth 曾 16 次成为体育艾美奖获奖广播员,并且是一名前 NFL 外接手,他经常旅行,但长期居住于俄亥俄州。他出生于代顿市,其父亲 Abraham Lincoln Collinsworth (在 Abraham Lincoln 的生日当天出生) 是肯塔基州高中篮球历史上的最佳射手之一,并于 1958 年获得全国冠军。体育运动在家庭中盛行。在代表佛罗里达鳄鱼队参加大学橄榄球比赛之后,Cris Collinsworth 于 1981 赛季的 NFL 选秀第二轮被辛辛那提猛虎队选中,从而回到俄亥俄州度过了整个 8 年的 NFL 职业生涯。从 NFL 退役后,Collinsworth 在辛辛那提开始了 30 多年的广播生涯,当时在 NBC 的周日晚间橄榄球节目中从事解说工作。

2014 年 6 月,Collinsworth 在互联网上搜寻信息以帮助他进行赛后讲解,期间偶然发现了 PFF 的网站,其中包含了对每位球员进行颜色编码的深度数据图表。他立即购买了订阅以了解更多信息。后来,Collinsworth 向公司发送电子邮件,想要了解他们是否可以提供更多的数据见解,并在五分钟内接到了一通电话。电话是 Neil Hornsby 打来的。

他的英国口音一开始让 Collinsworth 觉得自己刚刚被耍了。但在与 Hornsby 短短几分钟的交流之后,他意识到 PFF 是货真价实的数据来源。Collinsworth 最终购买了公司的多数股权,2014 年 10 月,Neil Hornsby 将团队和他的家庭整体搬到了辛辛那提。

使用 AWS 挖掘金矿

此次搬迁让 Hornsby 比更好地接触团队,并且吸引的投资让 PFF 实现了规模的扩大。然而,仅靠统计数据和分析师所能完成的工作存在固有的局限性—Hornsby 和他的团队开始将他们的基础设施迁移到云端,随着这些新系统上线,简化的流程可实现更多的数据收集。随着数据库规模的不断扩大,PFF 开始寻求更多方法来评估和衡量赢得橄榄球比赛的因素。

2019 年 7 月,PFF 宣布将其整个堆栈迁移到 AWS。“我们拥有了数据宝库”,Collinsworth 说道。“与单独人工处理相比,我们可借助人工智能和机器学习处理更多的数据,并探寻出人工无法看到的模式。”

根据 2019 年 7 月的新闻稿,“PFF 将使用 AWS 计算、存储、数据库、无服务器、分析和机器学习服务来提高运营效率,加快创新并更深入地分析比赛统计数据。借助 AWS,PFF 能够展示以往从未公之于众的指标,从而改变球队、球迷和媒体对橄榄球的体验方式。”

Collinsworth 表示:“我们对每场比赛中的每位球员进行研究和评分,通过与 AWS 合作,我们可以更全面地了解、改进和增强对这些大量数据的处理以及将其提供给球迷的方式...使用 Amazon SageMaker 等服务帮助我们构建、训练和部署机器学习模型,以便我们更快地生成预测并向团队和广播合作伙伴提供深入的见解。”

自从与 AWS 全面合作以来,Hornsby、Collinsworth 和 PFF 期待他们在塑造和改变橄榄球比赛的分析方式方面发挥作用,更重要的是,变革球迷的观看体验,证明比赛不仅仅是满足观众的视觉需求。

如果 PFF 可以使用机器学习分析球员,设想一下您的企业可以做些什么
了解 AWS 如何转型其他企业 
了解 NFL 如何使用 AWS 来变革球迷观看体验
NGS-football-graphic

FEATURED AWS SPORTS PARTNERSHIPS

Rewriting the Playbook

with Data

How Cris Collinsworth and Neil Hornsby are using machine learning on AWS to change how we view the game of football

Rewriting the playbook with data

How Cris Collinsworth and Neil Hornsby are using machine-learning on AWS to change how we view the game of football
How PFF is changing the game (2:53)

PFF analyzes football in more detail than anyone else on the planet. And despite a team of over 500, there are limitations on what can be accomplished by just humans alone. By leveraging millions of data points from every game over the last 14 NFL seasons, and using ML models built on Amazon SageMaker on AWS, PFF is leading the way in how players are analyzed and evaluated.

An unexpected analyst

It wasn’t always like this. PFF was founded in 2006 by Neil Hornsby, but his story starts in the early 1980s when Hornsby was inspired by a new TV show, broadcasting weekly NFL highlights in the UK.

Hornsby started reading everything he could on American football, and when he learned about a book by Paul Zimmerman, A Thinking Man’s Guide To Pro Football, he sent for it immediately. “That book sold me on football,” Hornsby said in a 2016 editorial he wrote for Sports Illustrated. “I’ve read it more times than I’ve read any other book in my life.” The book became a catalyst for Hornsby, cementing his love for the game and opening a universe of complexity and appreciation for all that the game could offer.

In 2003 Hornsby was inspired to follow Zimmerman’s footsteps in grading games and in 2006, took it a step further, while maintaining the spirit of Zimmerman’s high bar in accuracy and equity over conventional wisdom, by taking it online and crowdsourcing the analysis and grading of every player in every game, founding PFF in Luton, England.

By 2014 PFF had over 30 employees located across the globe and had managed to attract over 30% of the NFL teams as customers. This began to draw attention including that of a certain high-profile broadcaster, one Cris Collinsworth.

An accidental encounter

Cris Collinsworth, 16-time Sports Emmy award-winning broadcaster and former NFL wide receiver, has traveled a lot but has always had roots in Ohio. Born in Dayton, his father Abraham Lincoln Collinsworth (who was born on Abraham Lincoln’s birthday) was one of the top scorers in Kentucky high school basketball history and in 1958 won the national championship. Athleticism ran in the family. After playing college ball for the Florida Gators, Cris Collinsworth was drafted in the second round of the NFL draft by the Cincinnati Bengals for the 1981 season, returning to Ohio for his entire eight-year NFL career. Upon retirement from the NFL, Collinsworth began a 30-plus year broadcasting career in Cincinnati and is currently on NBC’s Sunday Night Football.

In June 2014, Collinsworth was scouring the internet looking for information to help him with a post-game show and stumbled across PFF’s website, with color-coded depth charts rating each player. He immediately bought a subscription to learn more. Later, Collinsworth emailed the company to see if they could provide even more insights and within five minutes received a phone call. It was Neil Hornsby.

His British accent immediately threw Collinsworth who thought he had just been punked. But after several minutes of drilling Hornsby, he realized PFF was the real deal. Collinsworth eventually purchased a majority stake, and in October 2014, Neil Hornsby relocated the team, and his family, to Cincinnati.

Mining for gold with AWS

The move gave Hornsby better access to teams, and the investment allowed PFF to scale. However, there is an inherent limit to what can be done with statistics and analysts alone—Hornsby and his team began migrating their infrastructure to the cloud, and as these new systems came online, the streamlined processes allowed for more and more data to be collected. With the databases growing so large, PFF began to search for more ways to evaluate and measure what wins football games.

In July 2019 PFF announced it had migrated its entire stack to AWS. “There is this treasure trove of data,” says Collinsworth. “Using AI and ML we can process more data than humans alone and look for patterns that are impossible for humans to see.”

Per a press release in July 2019, “PFF will use AWS compute, storage, database, serverless, analytics and machine learning services to improve operational efficiency, innovate at a faster pace and drive deeper meaning from game statistical data. AWS will enable PFF to uncover never-before-seen metrics that will change the way that teams, fans and the media experience football.”

Said Collinsworth: “We study and grade every player on every play in every game, and by teaming up with AWS, we can better understand, refine and enhance what we do with these vast amounts of data and how to deliver it to the fans…using services like Amazon SageMaker to help us build, train and deploy machine learning models so that we can generate predictions and deliver insights faster to teams and broadcast partners.”

Since going all-in with AWS, Hornsby, Collinsworth and PFF are looking forward to their role in shaping and transforming how the game of football is analyzed, and more importantly, transforming the fan experience, showing that there’s more to the game than meets the eye.

If PFF can analyze players using machine learning, imagine what your business can do
See how AWS is transforming other businesses 
Learn how the NFL is using AWS to transform the fan experience
NGS-football-graphic