为什么我的 Amazon Aurora 数据库集群克隆、快照恢复或时间点恢复需要这么长时间?

上次更新时间:2020 年 10 月 21 日

我正在对 Amazon Aurora 集群执行集群克隆、快照恢复或时间点操作。为什么此恢复过程需要这么长时间,我该如何解决此问题?

简短描述

Amazon Aurora 的连续备份和恢复技术经过优化,可避免恢复时间出现变动。它们还有助于集群的存储卷在集群可用时立即达到全面性能。通常,恢复时间较长是由于在进行备份时源数据库中长时间运行的事务处理造成的。

解决方法

注意:如果您在运行 AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 命令时收到错误,请确保您正在运行最新版本的 AWS CLI

Amazon Aurora 会自动连续备份集群卷的更改。备份将在备份保留期内保留。此连续备份还意味着您能够将数据恢复到新的集群,并将其恢复到指定的保留期内的任何时间点。这样就不需要冗长的二进制日志前滚过程。由于您新建了集群,因此不会影响原始数据库的性能或导致中断。

当您启动克隆、快照或时间点恢复时,Amazon RDS 会代表您调用以下 API:

此步骤完成后,集群将变更为“可用”状态。您可以通过刷新控制台或使用 AWS CLI 检查您的集群状态。

实例创建过程仅在集群处于“可用”状态时启动。这分为两个阶段:设置实例配置和数据库崩溃恢复。

您可以通过查找 MySQL 错误日志文件来检查 API 是否已完成实例的设置。即使实例处于“正在创建”状态,也可以执行此操作。如果错误日志文件可供下载,这意味着实例已设置,引擎现在正在执行崩溃恢复操作。错误日志文件也是检查数据库崩溃恢复进度以及 Amazon CloudWatch 指标的最佳资源。

注意:如果您使用 AWS CLI 或 API 执行还原操作,请确保启用 CreateDBInstance 调用,因为它不是自动的。

检查源数据库上是否存在长时间运行的写入操作

防止长时间崩溃恢复的最佳方法是确保在执行快照、时间点或克隆时,源数据库上没有长时间运行的写入操作。任何长时间运行的 DCL、DDL 或 DML(打开写入事务)都可能会延长恢复的数据库变为可用状态所需的时间。

例如,如果为 Aurora 集群启用二进制日志,则会增加执行恢复所需的时间。这是因为 InnoDB 会自动检查日志,并将数据库前滚到当前点。然后,它会回滚恢复时存在的任何未提交的事务。有关 InnoDB 崩溃恢复的详细信息,请参阅 Innodb 恢复

当实例完成创建和恢复过程后,集群和实例便可以接受传入连接。

注意:Aurora 不需要二进制日志。除非有必要,否则最佳做法是禁用它。对于跨区域复制,您可以改为评估 Aurora 全局数据库,这也不需要二进制日志。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is my Amazon Aurora DB cluster clone, snapshot restore, or point in time restore taking so long?

Last updated: 2023-01-20

I'm performing a cluster clone, snapshot restore, or a point in time operation on my Amazon Aurora cluster. 

Short description

Amazon Aurora’s continuous backup and restore techniques are optimized to avoid variation in restore times. They also help the cluster’s storage volume to reach full performance as soon as the cluster becomes available. Long restore times are generally caused by long-running transactions in the source database at the time that the backup is taken.

Resolution

Note: If you receive errors when running AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) commands, make sure that you’re using the most recent AWS CLI version.

Amazon Aurora backups your cluster volume’s changes automatically and continuously. The backups are retained for the length of your backup retention period. This continuous backup allows you to restore your data to a new cluster, to any point in time within the retention period specified. This avoids the need for a lengthy binlog roll-forward process. Because you create a new cluster, there is no impact to performance or interruption to your original database.

When you initiate a clone, snapshot, or point in time restore, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) calls the following APIs on your behalf:

When this step completes, the cluster changes into the Available state. You can check your cluster state by refreshing the console or checking with the AWS CLI.

The instance creation process starts only when the cluster is Available. This happens in two stages: setting up the instance configuration and database crash recovery.

You can check if the API has finished setting up the instance by looking for the MySQL error log file. You can do this even if the instance is in the Creating status. If the error log file is available to download, then the instance is set up and the engine is now performing crash recovery. The error log file is also the best resource to check on the progress of your database crash recovery, along with Amazon CloudWatch metrics.

Note: If you're using the AWS CLI or API to perform a restore operation, then you must invoke the CreateDBInstance call because it's not automatic.

Check for long-running write operations on the source database

It’s a best practice to confirm that there aren’t long-running write operations on the source database at the time of the snapshot, point-in-time, or clone. Any long-running DCL, DDL, or DML (open write transactions) might lengthen the time it takes for the restored database to become available.

For example, you activate the binary log for an Aurora cluster, and this increases the time it takes to perform a recovery. This is because InnoDB automatically checks the logs and performs a roll-forward of the database to the present. It then rolls back any uncommitted transactions that are present at the time of the recovery. For more information on InnoDB crash recovery, see Innodb recovery.

When the instance finishes the creation and recovery processes, the cluster and the instance are then ready to accept incoming connections.

Note: Aurora doesn't require the binary log. It's a best practice to deactivate it unless it's required. For cross-Region replication, you can evaluate the Aurora global databases instead. Aurora global databases also don't require binary logs.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?