如何使用 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 计划操作积极提升特定事件的容量并对它们进行故障排查?

上次更新时间:2020 年 8 月 19 日

我如何使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Auto Scaling 计划操作积极提升特定事件的容量并对它们进行故障排查?

解决方法

您可以使用计划操作根据流量模式或预期的未来流量扩展容量。例如,您可能有一个应用程序每天在相同的两小时时间段内遇到流量增加的情况。或者,您可能正在计划即将举行的一次性活动,期望在几分钟内使流量显著提高。计划的操作在您指定的时间(以 UTC 表示)运行。根据您为最小容量、最大容量和所需容量设置的值进行扩展。

为 Auto Scaling 组创建计划操作

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台
  2. 从导航窗格中选择 Auto Scaling
  3. 选择将要在其中配置计划操作的 Auto Scaling 组。
  4. 在 Automatic scaling(自动扩展)选项卡上的 Scheduled actions(计划操作)下,选择 Create scheduled action(创建计划操作)。
  5. 为计划操作指定名称
  6. 根据您的使用案例指定 Auto Scaling 组的大小。您必须至少指定以下参数之一:
    对于最小值,指定组中所需的最小实例数。
    对于最大值,指定组中可存在的最大实例数。
    注意:除了计划操作之外,在扩展策略时,设置最小值和最大值参数也非常有用。实例数必须在最小/最大范围内,即使在计划操作触发后触发扩展策略(横向扩展或缩减)也是如此。
    对于所需数量,指定事件所需的实例数量。
  7. 根据您的使用案例指定触发计划操作的时间表。
    对于一次性事件:Recurrence(再次发生)选择 Once(一次)。对于 Start time(开始时间),为您的事件指定时间戳(日期和时间)。
    对于重复发生事件:选择再次发生时间间隔(例如 5 分钟或 1 天)。对于Start time(开始时间),指定第一次运行计划操作的时间戳(日期和时间)。如果指定 Recurrence(再次发生)和 Start time(开始时间),服务将在开始时间执行操作,然后基于指定的再次发生执行操作。(可选)指定 End time(结束时间)设置重复发生计划操作的结束日期。
    注意:如果所需的再次发生时间间隔选项不可用,则为 Recurrence(再次发生)选择 cron。然后,使用 Unix cron 语法格式为所需的时间表编写自定义 cron 表达式。
  8. 选择 Create(创建)。

排查计划操作的问题

如果未按预期触发计划的操作:

  • 检查 Auto Scaling 组的活动历史记录,了解预计将触发计划操作的时间段。如果没有相关活动,请查看计划操作的配置。确认按预期配置了再次发生模式和开始时间。
  • 对于重复发生操作:如果指定了结束时间,则在结束时间过后会自动删除计划的操作。要确认是否指定了结束时间,请检查 AWS CloudTrail API 日志以了解配置计划操作的时间。在 CloudTrail 中检查 PutScheduledUpdateGroupAction API 调用。如果您在日志中看到了 API,则必须创建新的计划操作以恢复计划扩展。
  • 请注意,在配置的开始时间与实际开始时间之间可能会有几秒钟的延迟。

如果已触发计划的操作,但未进行所需的更改:

  • 检查是否存在已暂停的进程(如启动或终止)。如果存在任何暂停的进程,您可以恢复这些进程。
  • 如果配置了动态扩展策略:检查活动历史记录是否存在由动态扩展策略引起的任何扩展事件。检查计划操作开始时间之前和之后几分钟的历史记录。如果存在此类活动,则可能会覆盖计划的操作。
  • 检查计划操作的开始时间左右的活动历史记录。如果配置了另一个计划操作以在类似的时间段内触发,请确认它不会影响或覆盖新的计划操作。如有必要,请更新计划的操作以解决这些冲突。
  • 检查活动历史记录中是否有任何失败或取消的启动或终止活动。如果找到此类活动,请展开失败/取消事件,并查看描述以了解更多详细信息。有关排查这些错误的更多信息,请参阅排查 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 问题

注意:当您知道一次性事件或重复性事件的时间范围时,使用计划操作主动扩展 Auto Scaling 组非常有用。当您没有提前知道事件的时间范围时,您可以使用预测扩展功能。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How can I use Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling scheduled actions to proactively spin up capacity for specific events and troubleshoot them?

Last updated: 2020-08-19

How can I use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Auto Scaling scheduled actions to proactively spin up capacity for specific events and troubleshoot them?

Resolution

You can use scheduled actions to scale capacity according to traffic patterns or expected future traffic. For example, you might have an application that experiences increased traffic for the same two-hour time period every day. Or, you might be planning for an upcoming, one-time event where you expect traffic to significantly spike over the course of a few minutes. Scheduled actions are run at the time you specify (in UTC). Scaling occurs based on the values you set for the minimum, maximum, and desired capacity.

Create a scheduled action for an Auto Scaling group

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console.
  2. From the navigation pane, choose Auto Scaling.
  3. Select the Auto Scaling group where you'll configure your scheduled actions.
  4. On the Automatic scaling tab, under Scheduled actions, choose Create scheduled action.
  5. Specify a Name for your scheduled action.
  6. Specify the size of your Auto Scaling group, based on your use case. You must specify at least one of the following parameters:
    For Min, specify the minimum number of instances required in the group.
    For Max, specify the maximum number of instances that can exist in the group.
    Note: Setting the Min and Max parameters is helpful when you have scaling policies in addition to scheduled actions. The number of instances must be within the Min/Max range, even if a scaling policy (either scale out or scale in) is triggered after the scheduled action triggers.
    For Desired, specify the number of instances required for the event.
  7. Specify the schedule for triggering your scheduled action, based on your use case.
    For a one-time event: Choose Once for Recurrence. For Start time, specify the timestamp (date and time) for your event.
    For a recurring event: Select the recurrence interval (such as 5 minutes or 1 day). For Start time, specify the timestamp (date and time) for the first run of the scheduled action. If you specify Recurrence and Start time, the service performs the action at the start time, and then performs the action based on the specified recurrence. (Optional) Specify an End time to set an end date for the recurring scheduled action.
    Note: If the required recurrence interval option is not available, choose cron for Recurrence. Then, write a custom cron expression for the required schedule using the Unix cron syntax format.
  8. Choose Create.

Troubleshoot issues with your scheduled action

If the scheduled action wasn't triggered as expected:

  • Check the Auto Scaling group's activity history for the time period when the scheduled action was expected to trigger. If there's no related activity, review your scheduled action's configuration. Confirm that the recurrence pattern and start time are configured as intended.
  • For recurring actions: If you specified an end time, the scheduled action is automatically removed after the end time has passed. To confirm if an end time was specified, check the AWS CloudTrail API logs for the time when the scheduled action was configured. Check for the PutScheduledUpdateGroupAction API call in CloudTrail. If you see the API in your logs, you must create a new scheduled action to resume scheduled scaling.
  • Note that there might be a delay of a few seconds between your configured start time and the actual start time.

If the scheduled action was triggered but didn't make the required changes:

  • Check for suspended processes (such as Launch or Terminate). If there are any suspended processes, you can resume them.
  • If dynamic scaling policies are configured: Check the activity history for any scaling event caused by the dynamic scaling policies. Check the history at a few minutes before and after the scheduled action's start time. If there was such activity, it might have overridden the scheduled action.
  • Check the activity history around the scheduled action's start time. If there's another scheduled action configured to trigger in a similar time period, confirm that it doesn't impact or override your new scheduled action. If necessary, update your scheduled actions to resolve these conflicts.
  • Check the activity history for any failed or canceled Launch or Terminate activities. If found, expand the failed/canceled event and review the Description for more details. For more information on troubleshooting these errors, see Troubleshooting Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling.

Note: Using scheduled actions to proactively scale an Auto Scaling group is helpful when you know the time frame for a one-time or recurring event. When you don't know the time frame of an event in advance, you can use the predictive scaling feature.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?