如何解决私有网络中的持久性 Amazon EMR JupyterHub 笔记本上的“终端节点 URL 连接超时”错误?

上次更新时间:2020 年 6 月 12 日

我已经为私有子网中的 Amazon EMR JupyterHub 集群配置了持久性。当集群尝试访问 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 时,出现了如下错误:“botocore.exceptions.ConnectTimeoutError:终端节点 URL 上连接超时:https://s3.amazonaws.com/your-jupyter-backups/jupyter/jupyterhub-user-name。”

简短描述

当您为笔记本配置持久性时,s3.amazonaws.com 是默认终端节点。由于这是公有地址,因此私有子网中的 EMR 集群中无法访问该终端节点。要解决此问题,请将 Jupyter 配置为使用对应于您正在使用的区域的 Amazon S3 终端节点(例如,https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com)。

解决方法

您可以在正在运行的集群上配置区域和终端节点,也可以在启动新集群时配置。

在正在运行的集群上配置区域和终端节点

/etc/jupyter/jupyter_notebook_config.py 添加区域和对应的终端节点。下面的示例使用欧洲(爱尔兰)区域。如需区域及其终端节点的列表,请参阅 AWS 服务终端节点

sudo vim /etc/jupyter/jupyter_notebook_config.py

config.S3ContentsManager.endpoint_url = "https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com"
config.S3ContentsManager.region_name = "eu-west-1"

在新集群上配置区域和终端节点

在启动集群时,添加以下类似的配置对象。您必须包含转义字符 ("\")。否则,双引号不会传输到文件,且 Python 代码失败。

[
    {
        "Classification": "jupyter-s3-conf",
        "Properties": {
            "s3.persistence.enabled": "true",
            "s3.persistence.bucket": "my-precious-bucket"
        }
    },
    {
        "Classification": "jupyter-notebook-conf",
        "Properties": {
            "config.S3ContentsManager.endpoint_url":  "\"https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com\"",
            "config.S3ContentsManager.region_name": "\"eu-west-1\""
        }
    }    
]

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How can I resolve the "Connect timeout on endpoint URL" error on a persistent Amazon EMR JupyterHub notebook that's in a private subnet?

Last updated: 2020-06-12

I configured persistence for an Amazon EMR JupyterHub cluster that's in a private subnet. When the cluster tries to reach Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), I see an error like this: "botocore.exceptions.ConnectTimeoutError: Connect timeout on endpoint URL: https://s3.amazonaws.com/your-jupyter-backups/jupyter/jupyterhub-user-name."

Short Description

When you configure persistence for a notebook, s3.amazonaws.com is the default endpoint. Because this is a public address, EMR clusters that are in a private subnet can't reach the endpoint. To resolve this problem, configure Jupyter to use the Amazon S3 endpoint that corresponds to the Region that you're using (for example, https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com).

Resolution

You can configure the Region and endpoint on a running cluster or when you launch a new cluster.

Configuring the Region and endpoint on a running cluster

Add the Region and the corresponding endpoint to /etc/jupyter/jupyter_notebook_config.py. The following example uses the Europe (Ireland) Region. For a list of Regions and their endpoints, see AWS service endpoints.

sudo vim /etc/jupyter/jupyter_notebook_config.py

config.S3ContentsManager.endpoint_url = "https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com"
config.S3ContentsManager.region_name = "eu-west-1"

Configuring the Region and endpoint on a new cluster

Add a configuration object similar to the following when you launch the cluster. You must include the escape characters ("\"). If you don't, the double quotes aren't transferred to the file and the Python code fails.

[
    {
        "Classification": "jupyter-s3-conf",
        "Properties": {
            "s3.persistence.enabled": "true",
            "s3.persistence.bucket": "my-precious-bucket"
        }
    },
    {
        "Classification": "jupyter-notebook-conf",
        "Properties": {
            "config.S3ContentsManager.endpoint_url":  "\"https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com\"",
            "config.S3ContentsManager.region_name": "\"eu-west-1\""
        }
    }    
]

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?