如何通过 Direct Connect 优化文件传输性能?

上次更新日期:2022 年 1 月 11 日

我在使用 AWS Direct Connect 连接时遇到文件传输速度缓慢的问题。

解决方法

针对您的使用案例使用以下问题排查步骤。

注意:如果您在运行 AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 命令时收到错误消息,请确保您使用的是最新版本的 AWS CLI

使用 Amazon CloudWatch 指标检查 Direct Connect 连接是否存在过度使用的情况和错误

您可以使用 CloudWatch 指标来监控 Direct Connect 连接和虚拟接口。对于 Direct Connect 专用连接,请检查 ConnectionBpsEgress 和 ConnectionBpsIngress 指标中是否存在超过网络端口速度的值。检查 ConnectionErrorCount 指标是否存在 MAC 级别错误。有关对 MAC 级别错误进行问题排查的更多信息,请参阅 Direct Connect 连接指标中的 ConnectionErrorCount 部分。

对于托管连接,查看 VirtualInterfaceBpsEgress 和 VirtualInterfaceBpsIngress 指标。您只能为每个托管连接创建一个 Direct Connect 虚拟接口。这些指标是托管连接的网络流量总比特率的估计值。

有关更多信息,请参阅查看 Direct Connect CloudWatch 指标

将大文件上传到 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 时优化性能

若要将大文件上传到 Amazon S3,最好利用分段上传。如果您使用的是 AWS CLI,则所有高级别 Amazon S3 命令(如 cpsync)都会自动对大文件执行分段上传。

使用以下 AWS CLI Amazon S3 配置值

  • max_concurrent_requests – 最大并发请求数。默认值为 10。确保您拥有足够的资源来支持最大请求数。
  • max_queue_size – 任务队列中的最大任务数。
  • multipart_threshold – CLI 用于单个文件的分段传输的大小阈值。
  • multipart_chunksize – 使用分段传输时,这是 CLI 用于单个文件的分段传输的区块大小。此值设置 AWS CLI 在单个文件的分段上传中上传的每个部分的大小。通过此设置,您可以将较大的文件(例如 300MB)分解为较小的部分,以加快上传速度。默认值为 8MB,而您可以设置的最小值为 5MB。

注意:分段上传要求单个文件最多上传 10000 个部分。确保您所设置的区块大小平衡了文件大小和部分数量。

  • max_bandwidth – 将数据上传到 Amazon S3 和从 Amazon S3 下载数据所消耗的最大带宽。

有关更多信息,请参阅使用 AWS SFTP 将小型数据集从本地迁移到 Amazon S3

服务器消息块 (SMB) Windows 文件服务器的性能优化

为了优化 Windows SMB 文件服务器的网络性能,必须在每个客户端和文件服务器之间协商服务器消息块 (SMB) 3.0 协议。这是因为 SMB 3.0 使用协议提高了 SMB 文件服务器的性能,包括以下功能:

  • SMB 直通 – 此功能可确保 SMB 检测到文件服务器上的 RDMA 网络接口,并自动使用远程直接内存访问 (RDMA)。 RDMA 可提高吞吐量,并提供低延迟和低 CPU 利用率。
  • SMB 多通道 – 此功能允许文件服务器同时使用多个网络连接,并提供更高的吞吐量。
  • SMB 横向扩展 – 此功能允许集群配置中的 SMB 3.0 显示所有集群节点在主动/主动配置中的共享。这可以确保最大共享带宽是所有文件服务器集群节点的总带宽。

对于 SMB 客户端,使用 robocopy 多线程功能,通过多个并行连接将文件和文件夹复制到文件服务器。

您还可以使用显式拥塞通知 (ECN)大量发送卸载 (LSO) 来降低吞吐量。

检查 Direct Connect 连接上是否存在数据包丢失的情况

当传输的数据包未能到达目的地,从而导致网络性能问题时,就会发生数据包丢失。数据包丢失是由目的地信号强度低、系统利用率过高、网络拥塞和网络路由配置错误造成的。

有关更多信息,请参阅 如何排查我的 Direct Connect 连接的数据包丢失问题?

隔离和诊断网络和应用程序性能问题

您可以使用 iPerf3tcpdumpWireshark 等实用程序对 Direct Connect 性能问题进行排查并分析网络结果。请注意以下影响单个 TCP 流上的网络吞吐量的设置:

  • 接收方窗口大小 (RWS) – 这表示接收方在缓冲区不溢出的情况下可以接受的最大字节数。
  • 发送方发送缓冲区 – 这可能会限制接收方可以确认的最大字节数。发送方在收到确认之前不能丢弃未确认的字节。未确认的字节可能必须在超时期限后重新传输。
  • 发送方 MSS(最大分段大小)– TCP 分段可以作为有效负载的最大字节数。MSS 越小,网络吞吐量就越小。
  • 往返时间 (RTT) – 发送方和接收方之间的 RTT 越长,可用的网络带宽就越低。

提示:在文件传输期间,发送方最好与接收方建立多个并行连接。

有关更多信息,请参阅如何排查 Direct Connect 网络性能问题?


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How can I optimize file transfer performance over Direct Connect?

Last updated: 2022-01-11

I'm experiencing slow file transfer speeds over my AWS Direct Connect connection.

Resolution

Use the following troubleshooting steps for your use case.

Note: If you receive errors when running AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) commands, make sure that you’re using the most recent AWS CLI version.

Use Amazon CloudWatch metrics to check for Direct Connect connection over utilization and errors

You can use CloudWatch metrics to monitor Direct Connect connections and virtual interfaces. For Direct Connect dedicated connections, check the ConnectionBpsEgress and ConnectionBpsIngress metrics for values that exceed network port speeds. Check the ConnectionErrorCount metric for MAC level errors. For more information on troubleshooting MAC level errors, see the ConnectionErrorCount section in Direct Connect connection metrics.

For hosted connections, review the VirtualInterfaceBpsEgress and VirtualInterfaceBpsIngress metrics. You can only create one Direct Connect virtual interface for each hosted connection. These metrics are an estimate of the total bitrate of network traffic for the hosted connection.

For more information, see Viewing Direct Connect CloudWatch metrics.

Optimizing performance when uploading large files to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

For uploading large files to Amazon S3, it's a best practice to leverage multipart uploads. If you're using the AWS CLI, all high-level Amazon S3 commands like cp and sync automatically perform multipart uploads for large files.

Use the following AWS CLI Amazon S3 configuration values:

  • max_concurrent_requests - The maximum number of concurrent requests. The default value is 10. Make sure that you have enough resources to support the maximum number of requests.
  • max_queue_size - The maximum number of tasks in the task queue.
  • multipart_threshold - The size threshold the CLI uses for multipart transfers of individual files.
  • multipart_chunksize - When using multipart transfers, this is the chunk size that the CLI uses for multipart transfers of individual files. This value sets the size of each part that the AWS CLI uploads in a multipart upload for an individual file. This setting allows you to break down a larger file (for example, 300 MB) into smaller parts for quicker upload speeds. The default value is 8MB while the minimum value you can set is 5MB.

Note: A multipart upload requires that a single file uploaded in a maximum of 10,000 parts. Be sure that the chunksize that you set balances the file size and the number of parts.

  • max_bandwidth - The maximum bandwidth that will be consumed for uploading and downloading data to and from Amazon S3.

For more information, see Migrate small sets of data from on premises to Amazon S3 using AWS SFTP.

Performance tuning for Server Message Block (SMB) Windows file servers

To optimize network performance for Windows SMB file servers, the Server Message Block (SMB) 3.0 protocol must be negotiated between each client and file server. This is because SMB 3.0 uses protocol improves performance for SMB file servers including the following features:

  • SMB Direct - This feature ensures SMB detects RDMA network interfaces on the files server and automatically uses Remote Direct Memory Access (RDMA). RDMA increases throughput, provides low latency, and low CPU utilization.
  • SMB Multichannel - This feature allows file servers to use multiple network connections simultaneously and provides increased throughput.
  • SMB Scale-Out - This feature allows SMB 3.0 in cluster configurations to show a share in all nodes of a cluster in an active/active configuration. This ensures the maximum share bandwidth is the total bandwidth of all file server cluster nodes.

For SMB clients, use the robocopy multithreaded feature to copy files and folders to the file server over multiple parallel connections.

You can also use Explicit Congestion Notification (ECN) and Large Send Offload (LSO) to reduce throughput.

Check for packet loss on the Direct Connect connection

Packet loss occurs when transmitted data packets fail to arrive at their destination resulting in network performance issues. Packet loss is caused by low signal strength at the destination, excessive system utilization, network congestion and network route misconfigurations.

For more information, see How can I troubleshoot packet loss for my Direct Connect connection?

Isolate and diagnose network and application performance issues

You can use utilities such as iPerf3, tcpdump, and Wireshark to troubleshoot Direct Connect performance issues and analyze network results. Take note of the following settings that affect network throughput on a single TCP stream:

  • Receiver Window Size (RWS) - This indicates the maximum number of bytes the receiver can accept without overflowing buffers.
  • The senders send buffers - This may limit the maximum number of bytes that the receiver can acknowledged. The sender can't discard unacknowledged bytes until it receives acknowledgment. Unacknowledged bytes may have to be retransmitted after a timeout period.
  • The senders MSS (Maximum Segment Size) - The maximum number of bytes a TCP segment can have as a payload. The smaller the MSS, the less the network throughput.
  • The Round Trip Time (RTT) - The higher the RTT is between the sender and receiver, the lower the available network bandwidth.

Tip: It's a best practice for the sender to initiate several parallel connections to the receiver during file transfers.

For more information, see How can I troubleshoot Direct Connect network performance issues?


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?