如何排查在执行 AWS DMS 任务期间因批量操作失败而导致 Amazon Redshift 切换到逐一模式的原因?

上次更新时间:2019 年 10 月 2 日

我有一个 AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) 任务正在将数据迁移到作为目标的 Amazon Redshift。但是,由于批量操作失败,我的任务更改为逐一模式。如何解决此问题?

简短描述

在任务的变更数据捕获 (CDC) 阶段期间,AWS DMS 使用单线程从源读取变更数据并将变更应用到目标。由于该线程每次只能处理特定数量的事务,因此根据源上的变更速率,有时线程可能无法使目标与源保持同步。这种情况更常出现在 Amazon Redshift 是 AWS DMS 的目标时,因为在 OLAP 引擎中执行提交的代价高昂。默认情况下,AWS DMS 使用批量应用模式成批地处理变更。当使用批量应用模式时,AWS DMS 将执行以下操作:

  1. 批量应用设置控制的批次中收集变更。
  2. 创建包含该批次中对目标实例做出的所有变更的净变更表。 
  3. 利用算法将事务分组,并将其批量应用于目标。

如果将数据复制到 Amazon Redshift 的迁移任务在应用批处理时遇到问题,AWS DMS 不会使整个批处理失败。AWS DMS 将会拆分批次,然后切换到逐一模式以应用事务处理。当 AWS DMS 遇到导致批处理失败的事务时,AWS DMS 会将该事务记录到 Amazon Redshift 目标上的 awsdms_apply_exceptions 表中。然后,AWS DMS 逐一应用批次中的其他事务,直到该批次中的所有事务都应用于目标。最后,AWS DMS 切换回批量应用模式处理新批次,并继续使用批量应用,除非又有批处理失败。

解决方法

您可以检查 AWS DMS 任务日志,以了解批处理是否失败以及 AWS DMS 是否使用逐一模式。每次批处理失败且 AWS DMS 切换到逐一模式时,您将会看到以下日志条目:

消息
[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Bulk apply operation failed.Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode (bulk_apply.c:2175)

发生这种情况时,AWS DMS 按顺序在目标上应用事务,直到 AWS DMS 遇到批处理中的任何事务发生问题。如果 AWS DMS 遇到问题,则将该事务记录在日志中,您会看到与下面类似的日志条目:

消息
[TARGET_APPLY ]W: Source changes that would have had no impact were not applied to the target database.Refer to the 'awsdms_apply_exceptions' table for details. (endpointshell.c:5984)

注意:默认情况下,awsdms_apply_exceptions 表在公共架构中创建,除非您在 AWS DMS 任务的任务设置中指定了控制表架构

AWS DMS 将事务记录到日志后,即完成了该批次中的所有事务的应用。然后,AWS DMS 再次切换到批量应用,您会在日志中看到与下面类似的消息:

消息
[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Switch back to bulk apply mode (bulk_apply.c:4751)

Amazon Redshift 是经过优化以运行复杂分析查询的 OLAP 数据仓库。但是,从 OLTP 数据库运行事务变更时,Amazon Redshift 性能可能会受到影响。因此,当批量应用失败且 AWS DMS 切换到逐一模式时,您可以看到 AWS DMS 在逐一模式中运行事务的持续时间的目标延迟增加。当 AWS DMS 切换回批量应用后,目标延迟减少。

要解决此问题,请连接到 Amazon Redshift 目标。然后,从 awsdms_apply_exceptions 表获取输出以识别导致批处理失败的查询:

select * from public.awsdms_apply_exceptions order by 4 desc;

找到导致批处理失败的查询(例如,更新冲突或违反约束)后,您可以解决这些冲突以防止任务迁移到逐一模式。

How can I troubleshoot why Amazon Redshift switched to one-by-one mode because a bulk operation failed during an AWS DMS task?

Last updated: 2019-10-02

I have an AWS Database Migration Service (AWS DMS) task that is migrating data to Amazon Redshift as the target. But my task changed to one-by-one mode because a bulk operation failed. How do I troubleshoot this issue?

Short Description

During the change data capture (CDC) phase of a task, AWS DMS uses a single thread to read change data from the source and apply changes to the target. Because the thread can handle only a certain number of transactions at a time, depending on the rate of changes on the source, sometimes the thread can't keep the target in sync with the source. This happens more often when Amazon Redshift is the target for AWS DMS because commits are expensive in OLAP engines. By default, AWS DMS uses Batch Apply mode to process the changes in batches. When using Batch Apply mode, AWS DMS does the following:

  1. Collects changes from a batch that is controlled by Batch Apply settings.
  2. Creates a net changes table that contains all the changes from the batch to the target instance. 
  3. Uses an algorithm that groups transactions and applies them in bulk to the target.

When a migration task that is replicating data to Amazon Redshift has an issue applying a batch, AWS DMS doesn't fail the whole batch. AWS DMS breaks the batch down and switches to one-by-one mode to apply transactions. When AWS DMS encounters the transaction that caused the batch to fail, AWS DMS logs the transaction to the awsdms_apply_exceptions table on the Amazon Redshift target. Then, AWS DMS applies the other transactions in the batch one by one until all transactions from that batch are applied onto the target. Finally, AWS DMS switches back to Batch Apply mode for a new batch and continues to use Batch Apply unless another batch fails.

Resolution

You can see whether your batch failed and AWS DMS used one-by-one mode by checking the AWS DMS task log. Each time a batch fails and AWS DMS switches to one-by-one mode, you see the following log entry:

Messages
[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Bulk apply operation failed. Trying to execute bulk statements in 'one-by-one' mode (bulk_apply.c:2175)

When this happens, AWS DMS applies transactions sequentially onto the target until AWS DMS encounters an issue with any transaction in the batch. If AWS DMS encounters an issue, it logs the transaction and you see a log entry similar to the following:

Messages
[TARGET_APPLY ]W: Source changes that would have had no impact were not applied to the target database. Refer to the 'awsdms_apply_exceptions' table for details. (endpointshell.c:5984)

Note: By default, the awsdms_apply_exceptions table is created in the public schema, unless you specify a control table schema in the task settings of your AWS DMS task.

After AWS DMS logs the transaction, it completes the application of all the transactions from that batch. Then, AWS DMS switches to Batch Apply again, and you see a message in the log that is similar to the following:

Messages
[TARGET_APPLY ]I: Switch back to bulk apply mode (bulk_apply.c:4751)

Amazon Redshift is an OLAP data warehouse that is optimized to run complex analytic queries. However, Amazon Redshift performance can be affected when running transactional changes from an OLTP database. As a result, when Batch Apply fails and AWS DMS switches to one-by-one mode, you can see that target latency increases for the duration of the time that AWS DMS runs transactions in a one-by-one mode. After AWS DMS switches back to Bulk Apply, the target latency reduces.

To resolve this issue, connect to the Amazon Redshift target. Then, get the output from the awsdms_apply_exceptions table to identify the query that caused the batch to fail:

select * from public.awsdms_apply_exceptions order by 4 desc;

After you find the query that caused the batch to fail (for example, update conflicts or constraint violations), then you can resolve the conflicts to prevent tasks from moving to one-by-one mode.