如何从公有虚拟接口创建与 AWS 的主动/主动或主动/被动 Direct Connect 连接?

上次更新时间:2020 年 1 月 16 日

如何从公有虚拟接口创建与 AWS 服务的主动/主动或主动/被动 AWS Direct Connect 连接?

简短描述

当您使用 AWS Direct Connect 向 AWS 服务来回传输生产工作负载时,最佳实践是通过不同的数据中心或提供商创建两个 DX 连接。您有两个连接配置选项:

  • 主动/主动 – 流量根据流在接口之间进行负载分担。如果一个连接不可用,所有流量都会路由到另一连接。
  • 主动/被动 – 一个连接处理流量,另一个连接处于备用状态。如果主动连接不可用,所有流量都会路由到被动连接。

配置公有虚拟接口时,可以使用以下类型的自治系统编号 (ASN) 之一:

  • 您拥有的公有 ASN
  • 范围为 64512-65535 的私有 ASN

解决方法

配置主动/主动连接

如果您使用公有 ASN

  • 允许您的客户网关在两个公有虚拟接口上发布具有相同 BGP 属性的相同前缀(您拥有的公有 IP 或网络)。此配置允许您在两个公有虚拟接口上实现流量的负载均衡。
  • 请查看供应商文档,获取有关您的客户网关设备的设备特定命令。

如果您使用私有 ASN

  • 如果您将私有 ASN 用于公有虚拟接口,则自治系统预置功能不起作用。如果两个连接都在同一区域中,而没有任何其他配置,则两个公有虚拟接口之间的流量将达到负载均衡。
  • 要将负载均衡用于多个公有虚拟接口,则所有公有虚拟接口必须位于同一区域中。

注意:如果您打算将两个 DX 连接用于两个公有虚拟接口以实现冗余,请确认两个接口都端接在不同的 AWS 设备上。要确认这一点,请查看 AWS 设备 ID,方法是打开 DX 控制台并选择连接

配置主动/被动连接

如果您使用公有 ASN

  • 确认您的客户网关在两个边界网关协议 (BGP) 会话上都通告相同的前缀(您拥有的公有 IP 或网络)。
  • 您可以使用 BGP AS_Path 属性,以便从辅助连接通告的前缀使用客户网关 ASN 预置两次。例如,如果您的客户网关使用 ASN 123,它可以通过将 AS_Path 设置为 123 123 在辅助连接上通告前缀。
  • 您可以使用 BGP 本地首选项属性,以便客户网关接受来自主要连接的路由 200 和来自辅助连接的路由 100。首选较高的本地首选项值,默认值为 100。
  • 主要连接被视为主要路径。如果发生故障,流量将转移到作为辅助路径的辅助连接。

如果您使用私有 ASN

  • 确认您的客户网关在主要连接上通告长前缀。例如,如果要通告前缀 X.X.X.0/24,则客户网关可以在主要连接上通告两个前缀(X.X.X.0/25 和 X.X.X.128/25),在辅助连接上通告前缀 X.X.X.0/24。
  • 如果两个接口都处于正常状态,并且您的主要连接上通告了长前缀,则流量将通过主要连接发送到您的客户网关。如果发生故障,流量将转移并发送到辅助连接。

How do I set up an Active/Active or Active/Passive Direct Connect connection to AWS from a public virtual interface?

Last updated: 2020-01-16

How do I set up an Active/Active or Active/Passive AWS Direct Connect connection to AWS services from a public virtual interface?

Short Description

When you use AWS Direct Connect to transport production workloads to and from AWS services, it's a best practice to create two DX connections through different data centers or providers. You have two options on how to configure your connections:

  • Active/Active - Traffic is load-shared between interfaces based on flow. If one connection becomes unavailable, all traffic is routed through the other connection.
  • Active/Passive - One connection handles traffic, and the other is on standby. If the active connection becomes unavailable, all traffic is routed through the passive connection.

When you configure your public virtual interfaces, you can use one of the following types of autonomous system numbers (ASNs):

  • A public ASN that you own
  • A private ASN in the 64512-65535 range

Resolution

Configuring an Active/Active connection

If you're using a public ASN:

  • Allow your customer gateway to advertise the same prefix (public IP or network that you own) with the same BGP attributes on both public virtual interfaces. This configuration permits you to load balance traffic over both public virtual interfaces.
  • Check the vendor documentation for device-specific commands for your customer gateway device.

If you're using a private ASN:

  • Autonomous system prepending doesn't work if you use a private ASN for a public virtual interface. If both connections are in the same Region, without any additional configuration, then traffic is load balanced between both public virtual interfaces.
  • To use load balancing with multiple public virtual interfaces, all the public virtual interfaces must be in the same Region.

Note: If you plan to use two DX connections with two public virtual interfaces for redundancy, confirm that both interfaces are terminated on different AWS devices. To confirm this, check the AWS device IDs by opening the DX console and choosing Connections.

Configuring an Active/Passive connection

If you're using a public ASN:

  • Confirm that your customer gateway is advertising the same prefix (public IP or network that you own) on both Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) sessions.
  • You can use the BGP AS_Path attribute such that the prefixes advertised from the secondary connection are prepended with the customer gateway ASN twice. For example, if your customer gateway uses ASN 123, it can advertise the prefix on the secondary connection with AS_Path set to 123 123.
  • You can use the BGP Local Preference attribute such that the customer gateway accepts routes from the primary connection as 200 and the secondary connection as 100. A higher Local Preference value is preferred, and the default is 100.
  • The primary connection is considered the primary path. In the event of a failure, traffic is shifted to the secondary connection as a secondary path.

If you're using a private ASN:

  • Confirm that your customer gateway is advertising the longer prefix on your primary connection. For example, if you're advertising prefix X.X.X.0/24, then your customer gateway can advertise two prefixes (X.X.X.0/25 and X.X.X.128/25) on your primary connection and prefix X.X.X.0/24 on your secondary connection.
  • If both interfaces are in the UP state, and the longer prefix is advertised on your primary connection, then traffic is sent to your customer gateway through the primary connection. In the event of a failure, traffic is shifted and sent to the secondary connection.