我该如何确定何时通过 Direct Connect 使用巨型帧?

上次更新时间:2020 年 2 月 18 日

我该如何确定何时通过 AWS Direct Connect 使用巨型帧?

解决方法

通过发送巨型帧而不是标准的以太网帧,您就能以相同的开销发送更多数据。但是,巨型帧无法与全部配置兼容。按照以下指南,确认巨型帧是否适用于您的使用案例。

确认巨型帧与您的配置的兼容性

  • AWS 托管 VPN 不支持巨型帧。如果通过 DX 和 AWS 托管 VPN 通知相同的路由,则使用 1500 MTU。
  • 公有和传输虚拟接口不支持巨型帧。巨型帧仅兼容附加于虚拟私有网关或 DX 网关的私有虚拟接口。
  • 确认所有节点均支持巨型帧,包括路由器、交换机和终端设备(如网卡等)。您的 VPN 上的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 也必须支持巨型帧。否则,网络性能可能降低,因为不兼容的设备很有可能掉帧或产生碎片帧。
  • 巨型帧仅适用于传播来自 DX 的路由。若您为指向您的虚拟私有网关的路由表添加静态路由,则通过静态路由发送的流量将使用 1500 MTU。
  • 若两个虚拟接口通知相同路由但却使用不同的 MTU,则两者将均使用 1500 MTU。

确认巨型帧与 DX 合作伙伴和 DX 端口所有者兼容

  • 如果您的 DX 连接由 DX 合作伙伴提供,确认该端口与巨型帧兼容。
  • 若 DX 端口归其他 AWS 账户所有,请求端口所有者在该端口上启用巨型帧。端口所有者可以通过修改现有虚拟接口上的 MTU 或以 9001 MTU 创建新的虚拟接口实现此操作。

配置您的巨型帧

如果确定巨型帧与您的使用案例兼容,您可以设置私有虚拟接口的 MTU。请确保在两台主机之间的路径内将所有网络设备配置为使用相同的 MTU。

How do I decide when to use jumbo frames with Direct Connect?

Last updated: 2020-02-18

How do I decide when to use jumbo frames with AWS Direct Connect?

Resolution

By sending out jumbo frames instead of standard Ethernet frames, you can send more data with the same amount of overhead. However, jumbo frames aren't compatible with all configurations. Follow the guidance below to confirm that jumbo frame is appropriate for your use case.

Confirm jumbo frame compatibility with your configuration

  • AWS Managed VPN doesn't support jumbo frames. If the same route is advertised over DX and AWS Managed VPN, then 1500 MTU is used.
  • Public and Transit virtual interfaces don't support jumbo frames. Jumbo frames are supported only on private virtual interfaces attached to a virtual private gateway or a DX gateway.
  • Confirm that all nodes support jumbo frames, including the router, switch, and end devices (such as network cards). The Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances in your VPN must also support jumbo frames. Otherwise, network performance could decrease, because incompatible devices are likely to drop or fragment frames.
  • Jumbo frames apply only to propagated routes from DX. If you add static routes to a route table that point to your virtual private gateway, then traffic routed through the static routes is sent using 1500 MTU.
  • If two virtual interfaces advertise the same route but use different MTUs, then 1500 MTU is used for both virtual interfaces.

Confirm jumbo frame compatibility with DX partners and DX port owners

  • If your DX connection is provided by a DX partner, confirm that the port is compatible with jumbo frames.
  • If a DX port is owned by another AWS account, ask the port owner to enable jumbo frames on the port. The port owner can do this by modifying the MTU on an existing virtual Interface or creating a new virtual interface with 9001 MTU.

Configure your jumbo frames

If you determine that jumbo frames are compatible with your use case, then you can set the MTU of your private virtual interface. Be sure that all network devices in the path between the two hosts are configured to use the same MTU.