如何排查 DynamoDB 表的高延迟问题?

上次更新时间:2020 年 6 月 16 日

我的 Amazon DynamoDB 请求的响应时间增加。为什么会出现这种情况,我该怎样解决呢?

解决方法

分析 Amazon CloudWatch 指标 SuccessfulRequestLatency 时,最佳实践是检查平均延迟。偶尔发生的延迟激增不需要担心。但是,如果平均延迟较高,则可能存在需要解决的底层问题。

要获取所有 DynamoDB 调用的延迟值,请启用 AWS 开发工具包的延迟指标日志记录。这些指标可帮助您确定延迟增加的根源。请记住,DynamoDB 延迟指标只能衡量 DynamoDB 或 Amazon DynamoDB 流内的活动。该延迟指标没有考虑网络延迟或客户端活动。

注意:对于大多数原子操作,例如 GetItemPutItem,平均延迟预计为个位毫秒数。 非原子操作(例如 QueryScan)的延迟取决于很多因素,其中包括结果集的大小及查询条件和筛选条件的复杂性。

考虑通过以下一个或多个策略来减少延迟:

  • 减少请求超时设置:将客户端开发工具包参数 requestTimeOutclientExecutionTimeout 调优为超时,将更快出现失败(例如,50 ms 之后)。这会导致客户端在指定的时间段后放弃高延迟请求,然后发送另一个请求,该请求通常比第一个请求更快完成。有关超时设置的更多信息,请参阅为延迟感知 Amazon DynamoDB 应用程序调优 AWS Java 开发工具包 HTTP 请求设置
  • 减少客户端与 DynamoDB 终端节点之间的距离:如果您已经全局分散用户,请考虑使用全局表。使用全局表,您可以指定想要要在其中提供表的 AWS 区域。这样可以显著减少用户的延迟。
  • 使用缓存:如果您的流量大量用于读取操作,请考虑使用缓存服务,例如 DynamoDB Accelerator (DAX)。DAX 是适用于 DynamoDB 的完全托管、高度可用的内存中缓存,将性能提升了多达 10 倍,从毫秒级提升到微秒级,甚至在每秒进行数百万个请求时。
  • 发送持续流量或重复使用连接:当您没有进行请求时,考虑让客户端将虚假流量发送到 DynamoDB 表中。或者,您可以重复使用客户端连接或使用连接池。所有这些技术都能保持内部缓存处于预热状态,从而帮助保持低延迟。
  • 使用最终一致性读取:如果您的应用程序不需要强一致性读取,请考虑使用最终一致性读取。最终一致性读取更便宜,发生高延迟的可能性更低。有关更多信息,请参阅读取一致性

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

How can I troubleshoot high latency on a DynamoDB table?

Last updated: 2020-06-16

I'm seeing an increase in the response time for Amazon DynamoDB requests. Why is this happening and how can I fix it?

Resolution

When analyzing the Amazon CloudWatch metric SuccessfulRequestLatency, it's a best practice to check the average latency. Occasional spikes in latency are not a cause for concern. However, if average latency is high, there might be an underlying issue that you need to resolve.

To get the latency value for all DynamoDB calls, enable latency metric logging for the AWS SDK. These metrics can help you identify the source of the increased latency. Keep in mind that DynamoDB latency metrics measure activity within DynamoDB or Amazon DynamoDB Streams only. The latency metrics don't take network latency or client-side activity into account.

Note: For most atomic operations, such as GetItem and PutItem, you can expect an average latency in single-digit milliseconds. Latency for non-atomic operations, such as Query and Scan, depends on many factors, including the size of the result set and the complexity of the query conditions and filters.

Consider one or more of the following strategies to reduce latency:

  • Reduce the request timeout settings: Tune the client SDK parameters requestTimeOut and clientExecutionTimeout to timeout and fail much faster (for example, after 50 ms). This causes the client to abandon high latency requests after the specified time period and then send a second request that usually completes much faster than the first. For more information about timeout settings, see Tuning AWS Java SDK HTTP request settings for latency-aware Amazon DynamoDB applications.
  • Reduce the distance between the client and the DynamoDB endpoint: If you have globally dispersed users, consider using global tables. With global tables you can specify the AWS Regions where you want the table to be available. This can significantly reduce latency for your users.
  • Use caching: If your traffic is read heavy, consider using a caching service such as DynamoDB Accelerator (DAX). DAX is a fully managed, highly available, in-memory cache for DynamoDB that delivers up to a 10x performance improvement—from milliseconds to microseconds—even at millions of requests per second.
  • Send constant traffic or reuse connections: When you're not making requests, consider having the client send dummy traffic to a DynamoDB table. Alternatively, you can reuse client connections or use connection pooling. All of these techniques keep internal caches warm, which helps keep latency low.
  • Use eventually consistent reads: If your application doesn't require strongly consistent reads, consider using eventually consistent reads. Eventually consistent reads are cheaper and are less likely to experience high latency. For more information, see Read Consistency.

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?