如何对 Amazon DynamoDB 中的间歇性超时错误进行故障排除?

上次更新日期:2022 年 8 月 19 日

当我使用 AWS SDK 与 Amazon DynamoDB 交互时,遇到间歇性连接超时或请求超时错误,如下所示:

  • 无法执行 HTTP 请求:连接到 dynamodb.xx-xxxx-x.amazonaws.com:443 [dynamodb.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/x.xxx.xxx.x] 失败:连接超时
  • com.amazonaws.SdkClientException:无法执行 HTTP 请求。在配置请求超时之前,请求未完成

解决方法

当您对 DynamoDB 进行 API 调用时,会出现以下情况:

  1. 您的应用程序使用本地 DNS 服务器解析 DynamoDB 端点。
  2. 获取 DynamoDB 端点的 IP 地址后,应用程序会连接到该端点并进行 API 调用。
  3. 端点会将此调用路由到其中一个后端节点。

在此过程中,API 调用可能会导致间歇性的连接超时或请求超时错误。在大多数情况下,由于网络问题或客户端上的 SDK 配置不正确,在 API 调用到达 DynamoDB 之前会发生客户端错误,进而导致超时错误。

要进一步对这些错误进行故障排除,请执行以下操作:

  • 根据您的使用案例和应用程序 SLA 调整 SDK HTTP 客户端参数。除了调整 connectionTimeoutrequestTimeoutmaxRetries 之外,您还可以调整 clientExecutionTimeoutsocketTimeoutClientExecutionTimeout 参数表示执行端到端操作和接收所需响应(包括可能发生的任何重试)所花费的最长允许总时间。请确保将此值设置为大于单个 requestTimeout 值。socketTimeout 参数表示 HTTP 客户端等待接收来自已建立 TCP 连接的响应的最长时间。有关更多信息,请参阅为延迟感知 Amazon DynamoDB 应用程序调整 AWS Java SDK HTTP 请求设置
  • 请确保发送持续流量或重复使用连接。当您没有进行请求时,考虑让客户端将虚假流量发送到 DynamoDB 表中。或者,您可以重复使用客户端连接或使用连接池。这些技术能保持内部缓存处于预热状态,这样有助于降低延迟并避免客户端上出现超时错误。例如,请参阅通过 Node.js 中的 Keep-Alive 重复使用连接
  • 查看您的 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 流日志,以检查在出现错误的时间段内是否有传入 DynamoDB 的流量。您还可以使用 AWS X-Ray 监控应用程序的延迟。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I troubleshoot intermittent timeout errors in Amazon DynamoDB?

Last updated: 2022-08-19

When I use AWS SDK to interact with Amazon DynamoDB, I see intermittent connection timeout or request timeout errors, such as the following:

  • Unable to execute HTTP request: Connect to dynamodb.xx-xxxx-x.amazonaws.com:443 [dynamodb.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/x.xxx.xxx.x] failed: connect timed out
  • com.amazonaws.SdkClientException: Unable to execute HTTP request. Request did not complete before the request timeout configuration

Resolution

When you make an API call to DynamoDB, the following happens:

  1. Your application resolves the DynamoDB endpoint using your local DNS server.
  2. After getting the IP address of the DynamoDB endpoint, the application connects to the endpoint and makes the API call.
  3. The endpoint routes this call to one of the backend nodes.

During this process, the API call might intermittently result in connection timeout or request timeout errors. In most cases, the timeout error results from a client-side error that occurs before the API call reaches DynamoDB due to network issues or incorrect SDK configurations on the client side.

To troubleshoot these errors, do the following:

  • Tune the SDK HTTP client parameters according to your use case and application SLA. In addition to tuning connectionTimeout, requestTimeout, and maxRetries, you can also tune clientExecutionTimeout and socketTimeout. The ClientExecutionTimeout parameter indicates the maximum allowed total time spent to perform an end-to-end operation and receive the desired response, including any retries that might occur. Be sure that you set this value to be greater than the individual requestTimeout value. The socketTimeout parameter indicates the maximum amount of time that the HTTP client waits to receive a response from an already established TCP connection. For more information, see Tuning AWS Java SDK HTTP request settings for latency-aware Amazon DynamoDB applications.
  • Be sure to send constant traffic or reuse connections. When you're not making requests, consider having the client send dummy traffic to a DynamoDB table. Or, you can reuse client connections or use connection pooling. These techniques keep internal caches warm, which helps to reduce the latency and avoid timeout errors on client side. For example, see Reusing connections with Keep-Alive in Node.js.
  • View your Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) flow logs to check if there was incoming traffic to DynamoDB during the timeframe when you got the error. You can also use AWS X-Ray to monitor the latency of your application.

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?