为什么我的 Amazon DynamoDB streams 的 Lambda IteratorAge 指标会增加?

上次更新日期:2022 年 9 月 12 日

在使用我的 Amazon DynamoDB 流中的记录时,我看到 AWS Lambda IteratorAge 指标出现了激增。为什么我的函数的迭代器年龄在增加,我如何解决这个问题?

简短描述

Lambda IteratorAge 指标将记录添加到 DynamoDB 流与函数处理该记录之间的延迟。当 IteratorAge 增加时,这意味着 Lambda 无法高效地处理写入 DynamoDB 流的记录。

以下是 IteratorAge 增加的主要原因:

  • 调用错误
  • 出现节流情况
  • Lambda 吞吐量低

解决方法

调用错误

Lambda 旨在按顺序处理批量记录,并在出现错误时重试。因此,如果函数每次被调用时都返回错误,则 Lambda 将继续重试。它会一直执行此操作,直到记录过期或超过您在事件源映射上配置的最大期限。DynamoDB 流的保留期为 24。Lambda 会持续重试长达一天,直到记录过期,然后转到下一批记录。

检查 Lambda 错误指标以确认调用错误是否是 IteratorAge 峰值的根本原因。如果是这样,请检查 Lambda 日志以调试错误,然后修改您的代码。处理错误时,请确保在代码中包含 try-catch 语句。

事件源映射配置中有三个参数可以帮助您防止 IteratorAge 出现峰值:

  • 重试次数:当函数返回错误时,Lambda 重试的最大次数。
  • 最长记录期限 — Lambda 发送到您的函数的记录的最大期限。这可以帮助您丢弃过旧的记录。
  • 出错时拆分批处理 — 当函数返回错误时,请在重试之前将批次分成两部分。使用较小的批次重试可以隔离不良记录并解决超时问题。注意:拆分批次不计入重试配额。

要保留丢弃的事件,请配置事件源映射,将失败批次的详细信息发送到 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 队列。或者,配置偶数源映射以将详细信息发送到 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 主题。为此,请使用故障时目标参数。

出现节流情况

因为事件记录是按顺序读取的,所以如果当前调用被限制,Lambda 函数将无法前进到下一个记录。

使用 DynamoDB 流时,不要在同一个流分片上配置两个以上的使用者。如果每个分片有两个以上的读取器,这可能会导致节流。如果您在单个流分片上需要两个以上的读取器,请使用扇出模式。配置 Lambda 函数以使用流中的记录,然后将其转发到其他下游 Lambda 函数或 Amazon Kinesis 流。

在 Lambda 端,使用并发限制来防止节流。

Lambda 吞吐量

运行时持续时间

如果 Lambda 函数的持续时间指标较高,则会降低该函数的吞吐量并增加 IteratorAge。

要减少函数的运行时持续时间,请使用以下一种或两种方法:

1.    增加分配给函数的内存量

2.    优化函数代码,以便减少处理记录所需的时间。

并发 Lambda 运行

并发 Lambda 运行的最大数量计算如下:

并发运行 = 分片数 x 每个分片的并发批次(并行系数)

  • 分片数 - 在 DynamoDB 流中,表的分区数和流分片数之间有 1<>1 的映射。分区的数量由表的大小及其吞吐量决定。表中的每个分区最多可提供 3,000 个读请求单位或 1,000 个写请求单位,或此两者的线性组合。因此,要提高并发性,请通过增加表的预配置容量来增加分片的数量。
  • 每个分片的并发批处理(并行化因子) - 您可以在事件源映射中配置每个分片的并行批处理数。默认值为 1,最多可增加到 10。

例如,如果表有 10 个分区,并且每个分片的并发批次数设置为 5,那么您最多可以有 50 个并发运行。

注意:要在任何给定时间以正确的顺序处理项目级别修改,具有相同分区键的项目将转到同一个批次。因此,请确保您的表分区键具有较高的基数,并且您的流量不会生成热键。例如,如果您将每个分片的并发批次数值设置为 10,并且您的写入流量以一个分区键为目标,则每个分片只能有一个并发运行。

批处理大小

调整批量大小值有助于提高 Lambda 吞吐量。如果每批处理的记录数量较少,则会减慢流的处理速度。

另一方面,如果每个批次的记录数很多,这可能会延长函数运行的持续时间。因此,使用多个值进行测试以找到最适合您的用例的值。

如果函数的运行时持续时间与事件中的记录数无关,则增加函数的批处理大小会缩短函数的迭代器年限。

Why is the Lambda IteratorAge metric increasing for my Amazon DynamoDB streams?

Last updated: 2022-09-12

When consuming records from my Amazon DynamoDB stream, I see a spike in the AWS Lambda IteratorAge metric. Why is my function's iterator age increasing, and how can I resolve this?

Short description

The Lambda IteratorAge metric measures the latency between when a record is added to a DynamoDB stream, and when the function processes that record. When IteratorAge increases, this means that Lambda isn't efficiently processing records that are written to the DynamoDB stream.

These are the main reasons that IteratorAge increases:

  • Invocation errors
  • Throttle occurrence
  • Low Lambda throughput

Resolution

Invocation errors

Lambda is designed to process batches of records in sequence and retry on errors. So, if a function returns an error every time it's invoked, then Lambda keeps retrying. It does this until the records expire or exceed the maximum age that you configure on the event source mapping. The DynamoDB stream retention period is 24. Lambda keeps retrying for up to one day, until the record expires, and then it moves on to the next batch of records.

Check the Lambda errors metric to confirm if an invocation error is the root cause of the IteratorAge spike. If so, check the Lambda logs to debug the error, and then modify your code. Make sure to include a try-catch statement in your code when you handle the error.

There are three parameters in the event source mapping configuration that can help you prevent IteratorAge spikes:

  • Retry attempts: The maximum number of times that Lambda retries when the function returns an error.
  • Maximum age of record – The maximum age of a record that Lambda sends to your function. This helps you discard records that are too old.
  • Split batch on error – When the function returns an error, split the batch into two before retrying. Retrying with smaller batches isolates bad records and works around timeout issues. Note: Splitting a batch doesn't count towards the retry quota.

To retain discarded events, configure the event source mapping to send details about failed batches to an Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) queue. Or, configure the even source mapping to send details to an Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) topic. To do this, use the On-failure destination parameter.

Throttle occurrences

Because event records are read sequentially, Lambda functions can't progress to the next record if the current invocation is throttled.

When you use DynamoDB streams, don't configure more than two consumers on the same stream shard. If you have more than two readers per shard, this can cause throttling. If you need more than two readers on a single stream shard, then use a fan-out pattern. Configure the Lambda function to consume records from the stream, and then forward them to other downstream Lambda functions or Amazon Kinesis streams.

On the Lambda end, use a concurrency limit to prevent throttling.

Lambda throughput

Runtime duration

If the Duration metric of a Lambda function is high, then this decreases the function's throughput and increase the IteratorAge.

To decrease your function's runtime duration, use one or both of these methods:

1.    Increase the amount of memory allocated to the function.

2.    Optimize your function code so that less time is needed to process records.

Concurrent Lambda runs

The maximum number of concurrent Lambda runs are calculated as follows:

Concurrent Runs = Number of Shards x Concurrent batches per shard (parallelization Factor)

  • Number of Shards - In a DynamoDB stream, there is 1<>1 mapping between the number of partitions of the table and the number of stream shards. The number of partitions is determined by the size of the table and its throughput. Each partition on the table can serve up to 3,000 read request units or 1,000 write request units or the linear combination of both. So, to increase concurrency, increase the number of shards by increasing the table's provisioned capacity.
  • Concurrent batches per shard (Parallelization Factor) - You can configure the number of concurrent batches per shard in the event source mapping. The default is 1 and can be increased up to 10.

For example, if the table has 10 partitions, and the Concurrent batches per shard is set to 5, then you can have up to 50 concurrent runs.

Note: To process item level modification in the right order at any given time, items with the same partition key go to the same batch. So, make sure that your table partition key has high cardinality, and that your traffic doesn't generate hot keys. For example, if you set Concurrent batches per shard value to 10, and your write traffic is targeting one single partition key, then you can have only one concurrent run per shard.

Batch size

Tuning the batch size value helps you increase Lambda throughput. If you process a low number of records per batch, then this slows down the processing of the stream.

On the other hand, if you have a high number of records per batch, this might increase the duration of the function run. So, test with multiple values to find the best value for your use case.

If your function's runtime duration is independent from the number of records in an event, then increasing your function's batch size decreases the function's iterator age.