我想要排查我的 EC2 Linux 实例内的性能瓶颈。我可以在 EC2Rescue for Linux 中使用哪些高级工具执行此操作?

上次更新时间:2021 年 1 月 4 日

我想要排查运行 Amazon Linux 1 或 2、RHEL 或 CentOS 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例内的性能瓶颈。我可以在 EC2Rescue for Linux 中使用哪些工具执行此操作?

简短描述

运行 Amazon Linux 1 或 2、RHEL 或 CentOS 的 Linux 实例上的性能瓶颈可能出现在 CPU 性能、块 I/O 性能或网络性能上。要确定性能瓶颈出现在何处,您可以利用 EC2Rescue for Linux 中提供的 33 种工具,并使用 eBPF(扩展 Berkeley 数据包过滤器)中的 bcc 框架。eBPF 可在生产环境中高效且安全地运行监控工具,而没有显著的性能开销。

注意:此解决方法不适用于运行 Debian 或 Ubuntu 的实例。

解决方法

(适用于经验丰富的 Linux 系统管理员)

为您的操作系统安装 bcc 软件包。

1.    使用 SSH 连接到您的实例。

2.    安装 bcc 软件包。有关除 Amazon Linux 之外的其他发行版的下载和安装说明,请参阅特定于该发行版的文档。对于 Amazon Linux 实例,请使用以下命令:

$ sudo yum install bcc

3.    bcc 工具必须位于操作系统上的 PATH 变量中,这样 EC2 Rescue for Linux 才能运行它们。使用以下命令将工具置于 PATH 变量中:

$ sudo -s
# export PATH=$PATH:/usr/share/bcc/tools/

4.    最佳做法是将 PATH 设置永久添加到 Linux 系统。用于使此设置永久有效的步骤因特定 Linux 发行版而异。对于 Amazon Linux,请使用以下命令:

使用 vi 编辑器打开 ~/.bash_profile

# vi ~/.bash_profile

/usr/share/bcc/tools 附加到 PATH 变量:

PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin:/usr/share/bcc/tools

保存文件并退出 vi 编辑器。

获取更新的配置文件:

#source ~/.bash_profile

6.    下载并安装 EC2 Rescue for Linux 工具,然后导航到实例上的安装目录。

以下是与 EC2Rescue for Linux 一起使用的基于 bcc 的常用模块。

CPU 性能工具

bccsoftirqs.yaml - 此模块运行用于跟踪软中断 (IRQ) 的 softirqs 工具,然后将计时统计数据存储在内核中以提高效率。可以使用 --时间段提供间隔,并使用 --次数参数提供计数。该工具将自动在每次运行时打印时间戳。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccsoftirqs.yaml

bccrunqlat.yaml - 此程序显示任务等待了多长时间才轮到在 CPU 上运行。结果将显示为直方图。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccrunqlat.yaml

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bccsoftirqs,bccrunqlat --period=5 --times=5

块 I/O 性能工具

bccbiolatency.yaml - 跟踪块设备 I/O,并记录附加到 EC2 实例的每个磁盘设备(例如实例存储和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS))的 I/O 延迟(时间)分布。结果将打印为直方图。该模块将在指定的时间段内运行,并收集指定次数的输出。在以下示例中:时间段次数变量设置为 5。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccbiolatency.yaml

bccext4slower.yaml - 使用 ext4slower 工具收集输出。ext4slower 将跟踪任何 ext4 读取、写入、打开和 fsync,默认情况下它们慢于 10 ms 的阈值。该模块将在指定的时间段内运行,并收集指定次数的输出。在以下示例中:时间段次数变量设置为 5。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccext4slower.yaml

与 bccext4slower.yaml 类似,您可以将 bccxfsslower 模块用于 XFS 文件系统。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccxfsslower.yaml

bccfileslower.yaml - 使用 fileslower 收集输出,它将跟踪基于文件的慢于 10 ms 默认阈值的同步读取和写入。该模块将在指定的时间段内运行,然后收集指定次数的输出。在以下示例中:时间段次数变量设置为 5。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bccfileslower.yaml

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bccbiolatency,bccext4slower,bccfileslower --period=5 --times=5

网络性能

bcctcpconnlat.yaml - 跟踪用于执行活动 TCP 连接的内核函数(例如,通过 connect() syscall)。结果显示连接的延迟(时间)。延迟是在本地测量的,它表示在指定时间段内从 SYN 发送到响应数据包的时间。TCP 连接延迟表示建立连接所花费的时间。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcpconnlat.yaml

bcctcptop.yaml - 显示每个主机和端口在指定时间段和次数(不清除屏幕)内的 TCP 连接吞吐量。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcptop.yaml

bcctcplife.yaml - 汇总在跟踪期间打开和关闭的 TCP 会话。有关更多信息,请参阅 GitHub 网站上的 EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcplife.yaml

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bcctcpconnlat,bcctcptop,bcctcplife --period=5 --times=5

输出示例

在实例上一次运行一个或多个模块之后,可在 /var/tmp/ec2rl 目录下找到运行这些模块的结果。

以下示例是来自 bcctcptop 模块的输出,其时间段参数设置为 5,并且次数参数设置为 2

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bcctcptop --period=5 --times=2
        
# cat /var/tmp/ec2rl/2020-04-20T21_50_01.177374/mod_out/run/bcctcptop.log 
I will collect tcptop output from this alami box 2 times.
Tracing... Output every 5 secs. Hit Ctrl-C to end
21:50:17 loadavg: 0.74 0.33 0.17 5/244 4285
PID    COMM         LADDR                 RADDR                  RX_KB  TX_KB
3989   sshd         172.31.22.238:22      72.21.196.67:26601         0      9
21:50:22 loadavg: 0.84 0.36 0.18 4/244 4285
PID    COMM         LADDR                 RADDR                  RX_KB  TX_KB
3989   sshd         172.31.22.238:22      72.21.196.67:26601         0     11
2731   amazon-ssm-a 172.31.22.238:54348   52.94.225.236:443          5      4
2938   amazon-ssm-a 172.31.22.238:58878   52.119.197.249:443         0      0

您可以使用以下命令将结果上传到 AWS Support:

# ./ec2rl upload --upload-directory=/var/tmp/ec2rl/2020-04-20T21_50_01.177374 --support-url="URLProvidedByAWSSupport"

注意:前面命令中的引号是必需的。如果您使用 sudo 运行该工具,请使用 sudo 上传结果。运行命令 help upload 以获取有关使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 预签名 URL 来上传输出的详细信息。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

I want to troubleshoot performance bottlenecks within my Amazon EC2 Linux instances. What advanced tools can I use with EC2Rescue for Linux to do that?

Last updated: 2020-05-08

I want to troubleshoot performance bottlenecks within my Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Linux instances. What tools can I use with EC2Rescue for Linux to do that?

Short Description

Performance bottlenecks on Amazon EC2 Linux instances can occur in CPU performance, block I/O performance, or network performance. To determine where performance bottlenecks are happening, you can leverage the 33 tools available in EC2Rescue for Linux using the bcc framework in eBPF (extended Berkeley Packet Filter). eBPF efficiently and securely runs monitoring tools in production environments without significant performance overhead.

Resolution

(For experienced Linux system administrators)

Install the bcc package for your operating system.

1.    Connect to your instance using SSH.

2.    Install the bcc package. For download and installation instructions for distributions other than Amazon Linux, refer to the documentation specific to your distribution. For Amazon Linux instances, use the following command:

$ sudo yum install bcc

3.    The bcc tools must be in the PATH variable on your operating system for EC2 Rescue for Linux to run them. Use the following command to put the tools in the PATH variable:

$ sudo -s
# export PATH=$PATH:/usr/share/bcc/tools/

4.    It's a best practice to permanently add the PATH setting to your Linux system. The steps to make this setting permanent vary depending on your specific Linux distribution. For Amazon Linux, use the following commands:

Open ~/.bash_profile using the vi editor:

# vi ~/.bash_profile

Append /usr/share/bcc/tools to the PATH variable:

PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin:/usr/share/bcc/tools

Save the file and exit the vi editor.

Source the updated profile:

#source ~/.bash_profile

6.    Download and install the EC2 Rescue for Linux tool, and then navigate to the installation directory on your instance.

The following are commonly used bcc-based modules used with EC2Rescue for Linux.

CPU performance tools

bccsoftirqs.yaml - This module executes the softirqs tool that traces soft interrupts (IRQs), and then stores timing statistics in-kernel for efficiency. An interval can be provided using --period, and a count using --times argument. The tool automatically prints the timestamps for each execution. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccsoftirqs.yaml on the GitHub website.

bccrunqlat.yaml - This program shows how long tasks have spent waiting their turn to run on-CPU. Results are shown as a histogram. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccrunqlat.yaml on the GitHub website.

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bccsoftirqs,bccrunqlat --period=5 --times=5

Block I/O performance tools

bccbiolatency.yaml - Traces block device I/O, and records the distribution of I/O latency (time) per disk device, such as an instance store and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS), attached to your EC2 instance. Results are printed as a histogram. The module runs for the specified period and collects output a specified number of times. In the example below, the period and times variables are set to 5. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccbiolatency.yaml on the GitHub website.

bccext4slower.yaml - Collects output using the ext4slower tool. ext4slower traces any ext4 reads, writes, opens, and fsyncs that are slower than a threshold of 10 ms by default. The module runs for the specified period and collects output a specified number of times. In the example below, the period and times variables are set to 5. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccext4slower.yaml on the GitHub website.

You can use the bccxfsslower module similarly to bccext4slower.yaml for XFS file systems. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccxfsslower.yaml on the GitHub website.

bccfileslower.yaml - Collects output using fileslower that traces file-based synchronous reads and writes slower than a default threshold of 10 ms. The module runs for the specified period and then collects output a specified number of times. In the example below, the period and times variables are set to 5. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bccfileslower.yaml on the GitHub website.

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bccbiolatency,bccext4slower,bccfileslower --period=5 --times=5

Network performance tools

bcctcpconnlat.yaml - Traces the kernel function performing active TCP connections (for example, through a connect() syscall). The results display the latency (time) for the connection. Latency is measured locally, meaning the time from SYN sent to the response packet for a specified period. TCP connection latency indicates the time taken to establish a connection. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcpconnlat.yaml on the GitHub website.

bcctcptop.yaml - Displays TCP connection throughput per host and port for the specified period and times without clearing the screen. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcptop.yaml on the GitHub website.

bcctcplife.yaml - Summarizes TCP sessions that open and close while tracing. For more information, see EC2Rescue for Linux - bcctcplife.yaml on the GitHub website.

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bcctcpconnlat,bcctcptop,bcctcplife --period=5 --times=5

Output example

The results of running these modules are located under the /var/tmp/ec2rl directory after each single run of one or more modules on your instance.

The following example is the output from the bcctcptop module with the period parameter set to 5 and the times parameter set to 2:

# ./ec2rl run --only-modules=bcctcptop --period=5 --times=2
# cat /var/tmp/ec2rl/2020-04-20T21_50_01.177374/mod_out/run/bcctcptop.log 
I will collect tcptop output from this alami box 2 times.
Tracing... Output every 5 secs. Hit Ctrl-C to end
21:50:17 loadavg: 0.74 0.33 0.17 5/244 4285
PID    COMM         LADDR                 RADDR                  RX_KB  TX_KB
3989   sshd         172.31.22.238:22      72.21.196.67:26601         0      9
21:50:22 loadavg: 0.84 0.36 0.18 4/244 4285
PID    COMM         LADDR                 RADDR                  RX_KB  TX_KB
3989   sshd         172.31.22.238:22      72.21.196.67:26601         0     11
2731   amazon-ssm-a 172.31.22.238:54348   52.94.225.236:443          5      4
2938   amazon-ssm-a 172.31.22.238:58878   52.119.197.249:443         0      0

You can upload results to AWS Support using the following command:

# ./ec2rl upload --upload-directory=/var/tmp/ec2rl/2020-04-20T21_50_01.177374 --support-url="URLProvidedByAWSSupport"

Note: The quotation marks in the preceding command are required. If you run the tool with sudo, upload the results using sudo. Run the command help upload for details on using an Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) presigned URL to upload the output.


Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?