如何从基于 EC2 Nitro 的实例上托管的 EBS 卷获得最大输入/输出性能?

上次更新时间:2021 年 6 月 14 日

我正在基于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Nitro 的实例上运行工作负载。我如何确保从托管在我的实例上的 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷获得最佳的输入/输出性能?

解决方法

1.    验证您的 EBS 卷没有达到 IOPS 限制。如果您的卷达到其 IOPS 限制,则延迟会增加。延迟增加会对性能产生负面影响。有关优化卷性能的信息,请参阅如何优化 Amazon EBS 预置 IOPS 卷的性能?

如果您使用的是 GP2 卷,则检查并确认您的卷尚未耗尽突增积分

2.    要从 NVMe 存储所提供的性能中获益,必须运行下列操作系统之一。或者,请确保内核版本支持具有多队列功能的输入/输出调度器。最常用的多队列输入/输出调度器是 kyber、mq-deadline 和 bfq(预算公平队列)。

  • Amazon Linux AMI 或更高版本,内核 4.12 及以上版本
  • CentOS - 7.0 或更高版本,内核 3.10 及以上版本
  • Red Hat - 7.0 或更高版本,内核 3.10 及以上版本
  • 默认情况下,使用内核 5.0 的 Ubuntu 19.10 或启用内核 5.0 及以上版本多队列功能的 Ubuntu 18.04.03
  • Ubuntu - 16.04 或 16.10 多队列调度器未编译内核,需要单独加载模块
  • SP3 或更高版本的 SUSE 12 或 SUSE 11
  • Windows Server 2008 R2、2012 R2 和 2016 或更高版本

注意:对于 Oracle、Linux、Debian 等操作系统,请确保使用包括或支持多队列输入/输出调度器的内核版本。CentOS 操作系统及其内核版本支持多队列输入/输出调度器。

如果您使用的操作系统比列出的操作系统早,则输入/输出性能可能会略有下降。这是因为 CentOS 6 上的输入/输出调度器是一个简单的调度器,不支持多队列。基于 Nitro 的实例在主机级别具有多队列处理功能。这会造成操作系统和主机级别的调度器不兼容,并可能导致性能下降。

提交给 EBS 卷的输入/输出(读取或写入)请求在卷截获之前会经过多个层传输。这些层包括用户空间、虚拟文件系统、页面缓存、数据块层、调度器和设备驱动程序。使用 blktraceblkparsebtt 工具的测试和基准测试结果显示,在基于 Nitro 的实例上使用带有非多队列调度器的旧内核版本时,输入/输出调度器 (I2D) 层略有延迟。

输入/输出调度器在输入/输出合并、处理和排队方面发挥着重要作用。在基于 Nitro 的系统中,EBS 卷显示为 NVMe 数据块设备。NVMe 本身支持多硬件提交和完成队列。CentOS 7 具有多队列数据块输入/输出排队机制 (blk-mq),允许设备驱动程序将输入/输出请求映射到多个硬件或软件队列。由于内核具有多队列功能,这提高了基于 Nitro 的实例的输入/输出性能。早期的内核版本没有此功能。因此,最佳实践是使用带有最新内核的现代操作系统,在基于 Nitro 的系统上实现最佳性能。

CentOS 6 上的输入/输出调度器

$cat /sys/block/xvdf/queue/scheduler noop anticipatory deadline [cfq]
$cat config-2.6.32-754.30.2.el6.x86_64 | grep -i blk_mq

注意:CentOS 6 内核中的配置文件不会返回 blk_mq,因为它使用 noop 调度器

CentOS 7 上的输入/输出调度器,内核 3.10 及以上版本

$cat /sys/block/nvme1n1/queue/scheduler [none] mq-deadline kyber

注意:Kybermq-deadline 是多队列调度器,仅存在于较高的内核版本中(CentOS 7 的内核 3.10 及以上版本)。

要在 EC2 实例运行期间在操作系统级别更新调度器,请使用以下命令:

#sudo echo 'kyber'> /sys/block/xvdf/queue/scheduler

要永久更改输入/输出调度器,请修改 grub 配置并按以下格式更新 elevator 参数:

注意:以下步骤适用于 CentOS 和 RHEL。

1.    运行以下命令:

#sudo vim /etc/default/grub
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="crashkernel=auto rd.lvm.lv=centos/root rd.lvm.lv=centos/swap rhgb quiet elevator=kyber"

2.    运行以下命令:

#sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

即使 EC2 实例已重启,输入/输出调度器仍保持设置状态。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How can I get maximum I/O performance from my EBS volumes hosted on EC2 Nitro-based instances?

Last updated: 2021-06-14

I'm running my workload on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Nitro-based instances. How can I make sure I'm getting the maximum I/O performance from Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes hosted on my instances?

Resolution

1.    Verify that your EBS volume isn't hitting IOPS limits. Latency increases if your volume hits its IOPS limit. Increased latency negatively impacts performance. For information on optimizing volume performance, see How do I optimize the performance of my Amazon EBS Provisioned IOPS volumes?

If you're using a GP2 volume check that your volume hasn't exhausted the burst credits.

2.    To benefit from the performance made possible by NVMe storage, you must run one of the following operating systems. Or, make sure that the kernel version supports an I/O scheduler with multi-queue capability. The most commonly used multi-queue I/O schedulers are kyber, mq-deadline, and bfq (budget fair queue).

  • Amazon Linux AMI or higher and kernel 4.12 or newer
  • CentOS – 7.0 or higher and kernel 3.10 or newer
  • Red Hat - 7.0 or higher and kernel 3.10 or newer
  • Ubuntu 19.10 with kernel 5.0 or Ubuntu 18.04.03 with kernel 5.0 onwards multi-queue is enabled by default
  • Ubuntu – 16.04 or 16.10 multi-queue schedulers aren't kernel compiled and need separate module loading
  • SUSE 12 or SUSE 11 with SP3 or higher
  • Windows Server 2008 R2, 2012 R2, and 2016 or higher

Note: For operating systems such as Oracle, Linux, Debian, and so on, make sure that you use a kernel version that includes or supports a multi-queue I/O scheduler. The CentOS operating system and its kernel version supports a multi-queue I/O scheduler.

If you're using an operating system older than those listed, you might see a slight decline in the I/O performance. This is because the I/O scheduler on CentOS 6 is a simple scheduler that doesn't support multiple queues. Nitro-based instances have multi-queue processing at the host level. This creates incompatibility between the scheduler at the operating system and host levels and might cause performance degradation.

I/O (read or write) requests submitted to the EBS volume travel through several layers before the volume intercepts them. These layers include user space, the virtual file system, the page cache, the block layer, the scheduler, and the device driver. Tests and benchmarking results using blktrace, blkparse, and btt tools show a slight delay in the I/O scheduler (I2D) layer when using older kernel versions with non multi-queue schedulers on Nitro-based instances.

The I/O scheduler plays an important role in merging, processing, and queuing I/O’s. In Nitro-based systems, EBS volumes are exposed as NVMe block devices. NVME natively supports multiple hardware submission and completion queues. CentOS 7 has the Multi-Queue Block I/O Queueing Mechanism (blk-mq) that allows device drivers to map I/O requests to multiple hardware or software queues. This improves the I/O performance on Nitro-based instances because of the kernel's multi-queuing capabilities. Earlier kernel versions don't have this capability. Because of this, it's a best practice to use a modern operating system with the latest kernel for maximum performance on Nitro-based systems.

I/O scheduler on CentOS 6

$cat /sys/block/xvdf/queue/scheduler noop anticipatory deadline [cfq]
$cat config-2.6.32-754.30.2.el6.x86_64 | grep -i blk_mq

Note: The config file in the CentOS 6 kernel doesn't return the blk_mq as it is using noop scheduler.

I/O scheduler on CentOS 7, kernel 3.10 +

$cat /sys/block/nvme1n1/queue/scheduler [none] mq-deadline kyber

Note: Kyber and mq-deadline are multi-queue schedulers present only in higher kernel versions (3.10+ for CentOS 7).

To update the scheduler at the operating system level during the run time of the EC2 instance, use the following command:

#sudo echo 'kyber'> /sys/block/xvdf/queue/scheduler

To change the I/O scheduler permanently, modify the grub configuration and update the elevator parameter in the following format:

Note: The following steps are for CentOS and RHEL.

1.    Run the following command:

#sudo vim /etc/default/grub
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="crashkernel=auto rd.lvm.lv=centos/root rd.lvm.lv=centos/swap rhgb quiet elevator=kyber"

2.    Run the following command:

#sudo grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg

The I/O scheduler remains set even if the EC2 instance is rebooted.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?