如何对安装 Windows 更新后卡在重启循环中的 EC2 实例进行故障排除?

上次更新日期:2021 年 7 月 22 日

我在 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上安装了 Windows 更新。现在我的实例卡在重启循环中。如何修复此问题?

简短描述

要更正此问题,请恢复计划在操作系统启动流程中应用的待处理操作,例如 Windows 更新。使用与原始实例在相同可用区中的救援实例来完成此操作。

注意:最佳实践是维持实例和数据的备份。在执行“解决方法”部分中的步骤之前,请考虑创建 AMI创建 Amazon EBS 卷的快照

解决方法

重要提示

此过程需要停止和启动实例。但应注意以下几点:

  • 如果您的实例受实例存储支持或具有包含数据的实例存储卷,则在实例停止时数据将丢失。有关更多信息,请参阅确定实例的根设备类型
  • 如果您的实例是 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 组的一部分,则停止实例可能会终止实例。使用 Amazon EMR、AWS CloudFormation、AWS Elastic Beanstalk 启动的实例可能是 AWS Auto Scaling 组的一部分。在这种情况下,是否会发生实例终止取决于您的 Auto Scaling 组的实例缩减保护设置。如果您的实例是 Auto Scaling 组的一部分,请在开始执行解决步骤之前,暂时从 Auto Scaling 组中删除它
  • 停止和启动实例会更改实例的公共 IP 地址。在将外部流量路由到您的实例时,最佳做法是使用弹性 IP 地址,而不是公有 IP 地址。

有关更多信息,请参阅概览:停止和启动实例

1.    打开 Amazon EC2 控制台

2.    选择 Instances(实例),然后选择处于重启循环中的实例。

3.    停止该实例

4.    从实例分离根卷。Windows 实例上的根卷的设备名称为 /dev/sda1

5.    在受损实例所在的可用区中启动新的 EC2 实例。此新实例将成为您的“救援”实例。您还可以使用与救援实例在相同可用区中的现有实例。

注意:与原始实例基于相同 AMI 的救援实例可能会遇到磁盘签名冲突问题。最佳实践是为救援实例选择不同的 AMI。例如,如果原始实例使用的是适用于 Windows Server 2012 R2 的 AMI,则使用适用于 Windows Server 2016 的 AMI 启动救援实例。如果您必须从与原始实例相同的 AMI 创建救援实例,则必须执行附加步骤以避免磁盘签名冲突。有关详细信息,请参阅远程桌面无法连接到远程计算机手动步骤部分中的第 6 步。

6.    将您在第 4 步中分离的根卷挂载到救援实例作为辅助设备。在将卷挂载到实例时,自动完成该卷的设备名称作为辅助卷命名。

7.    使用远程桌面协议 (RDP) 连接到救援实例。然后,从磁盘管理或使用 DiskPart 命令行工具将新挂载的卷设置为联机。如果您没有看到新挂载的卷,请参阅我的挂载 EBS 卷为什么没有显示在我的操作系统或 EC2 Windows 实例的磁盘管理中?

注意:记下辅助卷的驱动器盘符。在以下示例中,驱动器盘符为 E

8.    打开命令提示符以管理员身份打开 PowerShell,并运行以下命令:

DISM /image:E:\ /cleanup-image /revertpendingactions

注意:将驱动器盘符 E: 替换为第 7 步中记录的驱动器盘符。

9.    卸载辅助卷,然后将其从救援实例分离

10.    将该卷作为根卷 (/dev/sda1) 挂载回原始实例。

11.    启动原始实例


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I troubleshoot an EC2 instance stuck in a reboot loop after installing Windows updates?

Last updated: 2022-09-01

I installed Windows updates on my Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance. Now my instance is stuck in a reboot loop. How can I fix this?

Short description

To correct this issue, revert the pending actions, such as Windows updates, that are scheduled to be applied during the OS boot process. Use a rescue instance that is in the same Availability Zone as the original instance to do this.

Note: It's a best practice to maintain backups of your instances and data. Before you perform the steps in the Resolution section, consider creating an AMI or creating snapshots of your Amazon EBS volumes.

Resolution

Important

This procedure requires a stop and start of the instance. Be aware of the following:

  • If your instance is instance store-backed or has instance store volumes containing data, then the data is lost when the instance is stopped. For more information, see Determine the root device type of your instance.
  • If your instance is part of an Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group, then stopping the instance might terminate it. Instances launched with Amazon EMR, AWS CloudFormation, AWS Elastic Beanstalk might be part of an AWS Auto Scaling group. Instance termination in this scenario depends on the instance scale-in protection settings for your Auto Scaling group. If your instance is part of an Auto Scaling group, temporarily remove it from the Auto Scaling group before starting the resolution steps.
  • Stopping and starting the instance changes the public IP address of your instance. It's a best practice to use an Elastic IP address instead of a public IP address when routing external traffic to your instance.

For more information, see Overview: Stop and start your instance.

1.    Open the Amazon EC2 console.

2.    Select Instances, and then select the instance that is in a reboot loop.

3.    Stop the instance.

4.    Detach the root volume from the instance. The device name for a root volume on Windows instances is /dev/sda1.

5.    Launch a new EC2 instance in same Availability Zone as the impaired instance. The new instance becomes your rescue instance. You can also use an existing instance that is in the same Availability Zone as the rescue instance.

Note: Rescue instances based on the same AMI as the original instance might encounter disk signature collision issues. It's a best practice to select a different AMI for the rescue instance. For example, if the original instance uses AMI for Windows Server 2012 R2, then launch the rescue instance using an AMI for Windows Server 2016. If you create the rescue instance from the same AMI as the original instance, you must perform additional steps to avoid a disk signature collision. For more information, see Step 6 in the Manual steps section of Remote Desktop can't connect to the remote computer.

6.    Attach the root volume you detached in step 4 to the rescue instance as a secondary volume. The device name of the volume is auto-completed as secondary volume naming when attaching it to the instance.

7.    Connect to the rescue instance using Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP). Then bring the newly attached volume online from Disk Management or using the DiskPart command line tool. If you don't see the newly attached volume, see Why isn't my attached EBS volume showing in my OS or in Disk Management on my EC2 Windows instance?

Note: Note the drive letter of the secondary volume. In the following example, the drive letter is E.

8.    Open Command Prompt or PowerShell as an Administrator and run the following command:

DISM /image:E:\ /cleanup-image /revertpendingactions

Note: Replace the drive letter E: with the drive letter noted from Step 7.

9.    Unmount the secondary volume and then detach it from rescue instance.

10.    Attach the volume back to original instance as a root volume (/dev/sda1).

11.    Start the original instance.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?