为什么我发现自己的 ElastiCache 集群中的内存使用量过高或不断增加?

上次更新日期:2022 年 9 月 15 日

我发现自己的 Amazon ElastiCache 集群中的内存使用量过高或不断增加。如何确定 ElastiCache 集群节点上的内存使用量?

解决方法

为了确定集群及其节点的总体内存使用量,请查看这些 Redis 指标。这些指标在 Amazon CloudWatch 中针对集群内的每个节点发布:

  • BytesUsedForCache:Redis 为数据集、缓冲区等分配的总字节数。此指标源自 Redis 节点的 INFO 命令输出。使用此指标来确定集群的内存利用率。
  • FreeableMemory:此主机级别指标显示主机上的可用内存数量。当缓存数据或开销造成内存使用量增加时,可以看到 FreeableMemory 降低。FreeableMemory 降低表明主机上的可用内存减少。如果 FreeableMemory 太低,可能会发生交换。
  • DataBaseMemoryUsagePercentage:此指标来自 Redis INFO 命令输出。这是集群节点所用的内存百分比。在此指标达到阈值的 100% 后,Redis 将启动 Redis 最大内存驱逐策略

请记住,默认情况下 ElastiCache for Redis 为非数据使用(例如,故障转移和备份)预留最大内存的 25%。如果没有为非数据使用指定足够的预留内存,交换的机会就会升高。有关更多信息,请参阅管理预留内存

内存使用量突然过高的原因

  • 最近添加的键:添加新的键值对会导致内存使用量增加。在现有键上添加元素也会增加内存使用量。检查 SetTypeCmds 指标以确定节点上是否存在近期数据更改。此指标记录写入类型命令的总数,它源自 Redis commandstats 统计信息。
  • 缓冲区使用量增加:客户端通过网络连接到 Redis。如果客户端读取缓存的速度不够快,Redis 会将响应数据保存在称为客户端输出缓冲区的内存空间中。客户端可以继续从缓冲区空间读取。如果订阅的客户端读取速度不够快,Pub 和 Sub 客户端也是如此。
    如果网络带宽存在瓶颈,或者集群持续处于高负载状态,则缓冲区使用量可能会继续累积。这种累积会导致内存耗尽和性能下降。默认情况下,ElastiCache for Redis 不会限制输出缓冲区的增加,每个客户端都有自己的缓冲区。使用 client-list 命令检查缓冲区的使用情况。
  • 大量新连接:大量的新连接可能会增加内存使用量。所有新连接都会创建一个文件描述符,它需要消耗内存。大量新连接的总内存消耗可能很高,从而导致数据驱逐或 OOM 错误。查看 NewConnections 指标,以了解接受的新连接的总数。
  • 高交换使用率:当有可用内存时,缓存节点上会出现一些交换使用率是正常情况。但是,过多的交换使用率可能会导致性能问题。高交换通常发生在运行时承受内存压力的节点中,从而导致可释放的内存较少。使用 SwapUsage 指标监测主机上的交换。
  • 高内存碎片化:高内存碎片化表示操作系统中的内存管理效率低下。移除键时,Redis 可能无法释放内存。使用 MemoryFragmentationRatio 指标监测碎片率。如果您遇到碎片化问题,打开 activedefrag 参数以进行活动内存碎片整理。
  • 大键:数据大小较大或其中包含大量元素的键称为大键。即使 CurrItems 指标保持在较低水平,也可能会因大键的存在而出现内存使用率过高。要检测数据集中的大键,请使用 redis-cli --bigkeys 命令。

控制高内存使用量的最佳实践

  • 对键使用 TTL:您可以在键上指定过期 TTL。这样做可以在过期后移除键,而不必等到产生内存压力。这样可以防止不必要的键导致 Redis 混乱。少量驱逐不是问题,但大量的驱逐意味着您的节点在内存压力下运行。
  • 使用驱逐策略:当缓存内存开始填满时,Redis 会根据 maxmemory-policy 驱逐键以释放空间。默认 maxmemory-policy 策略设置为 volatile_lru。最佳做法是选择特定于您的工作负载需求的驱逐策略。
  • 分配预留内存:为了避免失效转移或备份期间出现问题,最佳做法是将非数据使用的 reserved_memory_percentage 设置为至少 25%。如果没有足够的预留内存来执行失效转移或备份,则会出现交换和性能问题。
  • 使用连接池:连接池有助于控制 Redis 客户端尝试的大量新连接。查看有关处理大量新连接的 AWS 最佳实践指南
  • 调整输出缓冲区大小限制:您可以调整输出缓冲区限制以控制缓冲区空间使用量。ElastiCache for Redis 参数组提供了多个参数,从 client-output-buffer-limit-* 开始,用于避免客户端输出缓冲区使用量的无限制地增加。请注意,这些参数没有建议的限制,因为每个工作负载都是唯一的。最佳做法是对您的工作负载进行基准测试,以便于您选择适当的值。
  • 考虑使用哈希映射:在 Redis 中,Redis 数据库的总内存占用量是线性的。与字段较少的单个哈希映射键相比,它使用更少的单个键占用更多的内存。哈希映射有助于处理包含大量键的数据结构。除了哈希映射之外,您还可以利用 ziplist 编码,与哈希表相比,它减少了内存占用。请注意,使用哈希映射可能会导致 Redis 引擎使用量高峰,因为这是一个复杂的命令,所需的 CPU 比 set 操作更多。
  • 扩展集群:有时在采取必要的预防措施后,您可能会遇到内存压力。如果发生这种情况,并且使用量由预期工作负载造成,请考虑执行适当的扩展以缓解内存瓶颈。
  • 设置内存使用量警报。 您可以使用 CloudWatch 警报在内存使用量超过预设阈值时启动警报。使用 BytesUsedForCacheDatabaseMemoryUsagePercentage 指标从 CloudWatch 控制台创建警报,以进行监控和扩展。

Why am I seeing high or increasing memory usage in my ElastiCache cluster?

Last updated: 2022-09-15

I'm seeing high or increasing memory usage in my Amazon ElastiCache cluster. How is memory usage determined on ElastiCache cluster nodes?

Resolution

To determine overall memory usage on your cluster and its nodes, review these Redis metrics. These metrics are published in Amazon CloudWatch for each node in a cluster:

  • BytesUsedForCache: The total number of bytes allocated by Redis for dataset, buffers, and so on. This metric is derived from a Redis node's INFO command output. Use this metric to determine the memory utilization of your cluster.
  • FreeableMemory: This host level metric shows the amount of free memory available on the host. When memory usage increases due to cache data or by overhead, you can see the decrease in FreeableMemory. A decrease in FreeableMemory suggests low free memory on the host. Swap might occur if FreeableMemory is too low.
  • DataBaseMemoryUsagePercentage: This metric is derived from the Redis INFO command output. This is the percentage of memory used by the cluster node. Redis initiates the Redis maxmemory eviction policy after this metric reaches 100% of the threshold.

Keep in mind that by default ElastiCache for Redis reserves 25% of the max-memory for non-data usage, such as fail-over and backup. If you don't specify enough reserved memory for non-data usage, the chance of swapping increases. For more information, see Managing reserved memory.

Causes of sudden high memory usage

  • Recently added keys: Adding new key-value pairs causes an increase in memory usage. Adding elements on existing keys also increases memory usage. Check the SetTypeCmds metric to determine if there are recent data changes on the node. This metric logs the total number of write type commands and is derived from the Redis commandstats statistic.
  • Increase in buffer usage: Clients are connected to Redis over the network. If the client isn't reading from the cache fast enough, Redis keeps the response data in a memory space called the client output buffer. The client can continue reading from the buffer space. This is also true for Pub and Sub clients if the subscribed clients aren't reading fast enough.
    If there is a bottleneck in network bandwidth or if the cluster is continuously under heavy load, then the buffer usage might continue to accumulate. This accumulation causes memory exhaustion and performance degradation. By default, ElastiCache for Redis doesn't restrict growth in output buffer and each of the clients have their own buffer. Use the client-list command to check buffer usage.
  • Large number of new connections: A large number of new connections might elevate memory usage. All new connections create a file descriptor that consumes memory. The aggregate memory consumption with a large number of new connections might be high, leading to data eviction or OOM errors. Check the NewConnections metric for the total number of accepted new connections.
  • High swap usage: It's normal to see some swap usage on a cache node when there is free memory. However, too much swap usage might lead to performance issues. High swap usually starts happening in a node that's running under memory pressure, resulting in low freeable memory. Use the SwapUsage metric to monitor swap on the host.
  • High memory fragmentation: A high memory fragmentation indicates inefficiencies in memory management within the operating system. Redis might not free up memory when keys are removed. Use the MemoryFragmentationRatio metric to monitor the fragmentation ratio. If you're running into fragmentation issues, turn on the activedefrag parameter can for active memory defragmentation.
  • Big keys: A key with a large data size or a large number of elements in it is called a big key. You might see high memory usage as a result of big key even if the CurrItems metric stays low. To detect big keys in your data set, use the redis-cli --bigkeys command.

Best practices to control high memory usage

  • Use TTL on keys: You can specify TTL on keys for expiration. Doing this removes keys after expiration without waiting for memory pressure. This prevents cluttering Redis with unnecessary keys. A small number of evictions isn't a concern, but a high number of evictions means your node is running on memory pressure.
  • Use eviction policy: When cache memory starts to fill up, Redis evicts the keys to free up space based on the maxmemory-policy. The default maxmemory-policy policy is set to volatile_lru. It's a best practice to choose an eviction policy that is specific to the needs of your work load.
  • Allocate reserved memory: To avoid issues during failover or backup, it's a best practice to set reserved_memory_percentage to at least 25% for non-data usage. If there is not enough reserved memory to perform failover or backup, swap and performance issues occur.
  • Use connection pooling: Connection pooling helps control high numbers of new connections attempted by the Redis client. Review the AWS best practice guidelines for handling a large number of new connections.
  • Adjust output buffer size limits: You can adjust the output buffer limit to control the buffer space usage. ElastiCache for Redis parameter groups provide several parameters starting with client-output-buffer-limit-* to avoid unlimited growth of client output buffer usage. Be aware that there isn't a suggested limit for these parameters as every workload is unique. It's a best practice to benchmark your workload so that you can choose an appropriate value.
  • Consider using hash mapping: In Redis, the total memory footprint of the Redis DB is linear. It takes more memory with fewer individual keys than a single hash-mapped key with fewer fields. Hash mapping helps with data structures that have a large number of keys. In addition to hash mapping, you can take advantage of ziplist encoding, which reduces the memory footprint compared to hash-tables. Note that using hash mapping might cause a spike in Redis engine usage because this is a complex command that needs more CPU than set operations.
  • Scale the cluster: Sometimes you might experience memory pressure after taking the necessary precautions. If this occurs and if the usage is due to expected workload, consider performing an appropriate scaling to ease the memory bottleneck.
  • Set an alarm for memory usage. You can use CloudWatch alarms to initiate an alarm when memory usage crosses a preset threshold. Use the BytesUsedForCache or DatabaseMemoryUsagePercentage metric to create an alarm from the CloudWatch console for monitoring and scaling purposes.