In the Monitoring tab of my Elasticsearch domain, a cluster appears to have double the nodes that I originally provisioned for it. Why?

Whenever a change is made to an existing cluster, Elasticsearch provisions a new cluster, copies the data from your existing cluster to the new cluster, and then terminates the existing cluster.

If you add or delete nodes of the same type, you are not billed for the nodes created through this process; you are only billed for the number of nodes you originally provisioned to the cluster.

Elasticsearch, nodes, CloudWatch


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-11-03