为什么 AWS Backup 无法备份我的 FSx for ONTAP 卷?

上次更新日期:2022 年 11 月 21 日

使用 AWS Backup 备份我的 Amazon FSx for NetApp ONTAP 卷时,我收到错误或备份进度很慢。

简短描述

如果文件系统上剩余的空间不足,备份通常会失败。即使卷上有可用空间,该卷也采用精简的预置。这意味着该卷仅使用文件系统的存储容量,该容量用于存储在卷中的数据。因此,即使卷上有可用空间,文件系统 SSD(聚合:aggr1)上也可能没有可用空间。

在创建 FSx for ONTAP 卷的备份之前,Amazon FSx 会首先验证该卷是否已满。无法备份完整卷,因为 FSx for ONTAP 需要少量可用空间来创建快照。如果卷的利用率高于卷的满度阈值,FSx for ONTAP 会认为该卷已满。默认情况下,满度阈值为 98%。

此外,在报告卷的可用空间时,FSx for ONTAP 会考虑以下值中的较小者:

  • 卷中的可用容量。
  • 文件系统的 SSD 层中的可用容量。

例如,如果创建一个 100 TB 的 SSD 文件系统,FSx for ONTAP 会报告该卷有 1 TB 的可用容量。因此,FSx for ONTAP 报告该卷为 99% 已满。99% 超过该卷 98% 的默认满度阈值。您的卷备份可能会失败,因为卷报告超过 98% 已满。

解决方案

运行 describe-backups AWS 命令行界面 (AWS CLI) 命令查看备份的所有失败消息。在以下示例命令中,将 xyzabc 替换为您的备份的 ID。

$ aws fsx describe-backups --backup-id backup-xyzabc --region region_id

注意:如果在运行 AWS CLI 命令时遇到错误,请确保您使用的是最新版本的 AWS CLI

确认失败是由于卷上存储空间不足造成之后,请执行以下操作:

注意:请记住,由 AWS Backup 创建的备份存储在卷本身的 .snapshot 目录中。这意味着备份会占用卷上的空间。

将 space-full-threshold-percent 提高到 100%

FSx for ONTAP 采用精简预置。因此,您可以预置比文件系统更大的卷。这可能会在创建快照时导致空间问题。例如,如果您在 1 TB 的文件系统中创建 100 TB 的卷,则可以使用 NetApp ONTAP CLI 创建快照。但是,您无法使用 AWS Backup 创建快照。对于 1 TB 的文件系统,您可以为大约 42 TB 的卷创建备份。卷的额外 TB 量会导致 AWS Backup 无法创建备份。

要更正此问题,请使用 NetApp ONTAP CLI 运行以下命令:

::> vol modify -vserver <svm_name> -volume <vol_name> -space-full-threshold-percent 100

前面的命令提高了卷的满度阈值。这可以防止 FSx for ONTAP 将您的卷报告为已满,从而可继续进行备份。

增加文件系统的 SSD 存储容量

增加文件系统的 SSD 存储容量,使空闲 SSD 容量始终比最大的卷至少大 2%。例如,如果最大容量为 100 TB,则将 SSD 容量调整为始终至少有 2 TB 的可用容量。这样,即使您将卷的 space-full-threshold-percent 保持在默认值 98%,FsX for ONTAP 也不会将您的卷报告为已满。

检查卷上的快照自动删除启动设置

如果您的卷已开启快照自动删除,并将启动设置为 snap_reserve,则备份可能会失败。为快照保留的空间达到为快照副本预留的空间中分配的值时,snap_reserve 参数会删除快照。默认值是 5%。创建备份后,Amazon FSx 会拍摄该卷的快照,然后将该快照与之前的备份快照(如果存在)进行比较。接下来,Amazon FSx 仅将更改的数据复制到备份中。如果之前快照的大小大于为快照副本预留的空间中分配的值,则新备份将在创建时自动删除。这意味着 Amazon FSx 无法创建卷的备份。

为避免这种情况,请增加卷的大小,以便为快照副本预留的空间参数超过先前备份的大小。要将快照预留设置为大于先前备份大小的值,请运行以下 NetApp ONTAP CLI 命令:

::> volume modify -vserver com -volume vol_name -percent-snapshot -space 20

前面的命令将为快照副本预留的空间选项设置为 20%。有关更多信息,请参阅管理快照副本预留 NetApp 文档。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is AWS Backup unable to back up my FSx for ONTAP volume?

Last updated: 2022-11-21

When backing up my Amazon FSx for NetApp ONTAP volume using AWS Backup, I'm receiving an error or the back-up progress is slow.

Short description

Backups commonly fail if there is insufficient space remaining on the file system. Even if you have space available on the volume, the volume is thinly provisioned. This means that the volume only consumes storage capacity from your file system for the data stored in the volume. So, even if you have space available on the volume, you might not have available space on the file system SSD (aggregate : aggr1).

Before creating a backup of an FSx for ONTAP volume, Amazon FSx first verifies that the volume isn't full. Full volumes can't be backed up because FSx for ONTAP requires a small amount of free space to create a snapshot. FSx for ONTAP considers a volume full if its utilization is above the volume's fullness threshold. By default, the fullness threshold is 98%.

In addition, when reporting free space for a volume, FSx for ONTAP considers the smaller of the following:

  • The available capacity in the volume.
  • The available capacity in the file system's SSD tier.

For example, if you create a 100-TB SSD file system, FSx for ONTAP reports that volume as having 1 TB of free capacity. So, FSx for ONTAP reports the volume as 99% full. 99% exceeds the volume's default fullness threshold of 98%. The backup of your volume might fail because your volume is reporting that it's more than 98% full.

Resolution

Run the describe-backups AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) command to view any failure messages for the backup. In the following example command, replace xyzabc with the ID of your backup.

$ aws fsx describe-backups --backup-id backup-xyzabc --region region_id

Note: If you receive errors when running AWS CLI commands, make sure that you're using the most recent version of the AWS CLI.

After verifying that the failure is due to lack of storage on the volume, do the following:

Note: Keep in mind that the backup created by AWS Backup is stored in the .snapshot directory on the volume itself. This means that the backup consumes space on the volume.

Increase the space-full-threshold-percent to 100%

FSx for ONTAP volumes are thinly provisioned. So, you can provision a volume with more size than the file system. This might cause space issues when creating snapshots. For example, if you create a 100-TB volume in a 1-TB file system, you can create snapshots using the NetApp ONTAP CLI. But, you can't create snapshots with AWS Backup. For a 1-TB file system, you can create backups of a volume that's about 42 TB. Any additional TB in size to the volume causes AWS Backup to fail to create a backup.

To correct this, run the following command using the NetApp ONTAP CLI:

::> vol modify -vserver <svm_name> -volume <vol_name> -space-full-threshold-percent 100

The preceding command increases the full threshold of your volume. This prevents FSx for ONTAP from reporting your volume as full, allowing backups to proceed.

Increase the file system's SSD storage capacity

Increase your file system's SSD storage capacity so that free SSD capacity is always at least 2% larger than the size of your largest volume. For example, if your largest volume is 100 TB in size, size your SSD capacity to always have at least 2 TB of free capacity. By doing this, even if you keep your volumes' space-full-threshold-percent at the default value of 98%, FSx for ONTAP doesn't report your volumes as full.

Check the snapshot autodelete initiation setting on the volume

If your volume has snapshot autodelete turned on with the initiation set as snap_reserve, your backup might fail. The snap_reserve parameter deletes snapshots when the space reserved for the snapshots reaches the value assigned in Space Reserved for Snapshot Copies. The default value is 5%. When a backup is created, Amazon FSx takes a snapshot of the volume, then compares this snapshot to the previous backup snapshot, if one exists. Amazon FSx then copies only the changed data into the backup. When a previous snapshot has a larger size than the value assigned in Space Reserved for Snapshot Copies, the new backup automatically deletes at creation. This means that Amazon FSx can't create backups of the volume.

To avoid this, increase the size of the volume so that the Space Reserved for Snapshot Copies parameter exceeds the size of the previous backup. To set the snapshot reserve to a value larger than the size of the previous backup, run the following NetApp ONTAP CLI command:

::> volume modify -vserver com -volume vol_name -percent-snapshot -space 20

The preceding command sets the Space Reserved for Snapshot Copies option to 20%. For more information, see Manage the Snapshot copy reserve NetApp documentation.