如何解决 IAM 和 AWS STS 的 API 节流或“速率超出”错误?

上次更新时间:2022 年 1 月 24 日

我的应用程序收到类似于以下内容的错误消息:

“节流:超出速率,状态代码:400,”

简短描述

来自 AWS 管理控制台、AWS Command Line Interface(AWS CLI)和应用程序的 API 调用会影响您的 AWS 账户的最大速率限制。

注意:无法提高 AWS 服务速率限制。

解决方法

请遵循以下最佳实践以避免出现节流错误。

  • 在应用程序的代码中实现指数回退。指数回退允许每次限制对 AWS 的 API 调用时等待更长的时间。根据应用程序的不同,最大延迟次数和最大重试次数可能会有所不同。
    注意:AWS 开发工具包都会实现自动重试逻辑和指数回退算法。
  • 某些应用程序可以实现缓存以降低 API 调用的速率。例如,如果您的应用程序为跨账户工作流调用 API 调用 AssumeRole,则您收到的临时凭证会被存储并将重复用于多次跨账户调用。这意味着您无需为每个跨账户 API 调用进行新的 AssumeRole 调用。
  • 如果您的应用程序正在调用 AssumeRole 并缓存凭证,则可以检查该角色的临时证书最长会话持续时间。延长临时凭证的有效期可确保您无需经常调用 AssumeRole。
  • 将您的 API 调用分散到更长的时间内,而非一次性调用所有 API。例如,每天都调用 SimulatePrincipalPolicyGenerateServiceLastAccessedDetails 来审计 AWS Identity and Access Management(IAM)用户和角色权限的任务的应用程序。您可以错开 API 调用,而非同时运行它们。
  • 对于使用 API 调用(如 CreatePolicyVersion)动态更改 IAM 策略权限的应用程序,请考虑使用另一种方法。例如,您可以在 IAM 角色担任期间使用会话策略
  • 对于 AWS Security Token Service(AWS STS)节流错误,请考虑使用区域 STS 端点,而非将所有 AWS STS 调用发送到全局端点。每个端点都有单独的节流限制。使用区域性 AWS STS 端点可以让应用程序更快地响应 AWS STS API 调用。
  • 如果您不确定您的 AWS 账户中的哪个 IAM 用户或角色正在进行大量 API 调用,请使用 AWS CloudTrail 查看事件历史记录。您还可以使用 Amazon Athena 运行 SQL 查询和筛选 CloudTrail 日志。说明请参见如何找出哪个 API 调用导致了“速率超出”错误?
  • 由于 AWS 账户有单独的节流限制,请考虑使用 AWS Organizations 将工作负载分散到多个账户。创建新的 AWS 账户无需额外成本,而且 AWS Organizations 提供整合账单。通过使用服务控制策略(SCP),您可以控制 AWS 账户中 IAM 用户和角色的最大权限。有关更多信息,请参阅通过 AWS Organizations 管理账户如何开始使用 AWS Organizations?

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How can I resolve API throttling or "Rate exceeded" errors for IAM and AWS STS?

Last updated: 2022-01-24

My application is getting an error message similar to the following:

"Throttling: Rate exceeded, status code: 400,"

Short description

API calls from the AWS Management Console, the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI), and applications contribute to a maximum rate limit for your AWS account.

Note: The AWS service rate limits can't be increased.

Resolution

Follow these best practices to avoid throttling errors.

  • Implement exponential backoff in your application's code. Exponential backoff allows longer waits each time an API call to AWS is throttled. Depending on the application, the maximum number of delays and the maximum number of retries can vary.
    Note: AWS SDK implements automatic retry logic and exponential backoff algorithms.
  • Some applications can implement caching to lower the rate of API calls. For example, if your application calls the API call AssumeRole for a cross-account workflow, the temporary credentials you received can be stored and reused for multiple cross-account calls. This means that you don't need to make a new AssumeRole call for each cross-account API call made.
  • If your application is calling AssumeRole and caching the credentials, you can check the maximum session duration of the role's temporary credentials. Lengthening the duration of the temporary credentials makes sure that you don't need to call AssumeRole as often.
  • Spread your API calls over a longer period of time instead of calling the APIs all at once. For example, applications that have a daily job calling SimulatePrincipalPolicy or GenerateServiceLastAccessedDetails to audit permissions for AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) users and roles. You can stagger the API calls instead of running them at the same time.
  • For applications that dynamically change IAM policy permissions using API calls like CreatePolicyVersion, consider another method. For example, you can use session policies during IAM role assumption.
  • For AWS Security Token Service (AWS STS) throttling errors, consider using Regional STS endpoints instead of sending all AWS STS calls to the global endpoint. Each endpoint has a separate throttling limit. Using Regional AWS STS endpoints can provide applications a faster response time on the AWS STS API calls.
  • If you're not sure which IAM user or role in your AWS account is making a large amount of API calls, use AWS CloudTrail to view Event history.You can also use Amazon Athena to run SQL queries and filter CloudTrail logs. For instructions, see How can I find which API call is causing the "Rate exceeded" error?
  • Because AWS accounts have separate throttling limits, consider spreading the workloads across multiple accounts using AWS Organizations. Creating new AWS accounts are at no additional cost and Organizations provides consolidated billing. Using Service control policies (SCPs) allow you to control the maximum permissions of IAM users and roles across an AWS account. For more information, see Manage accounts through AWS Organizations and How do I get started with AWS Organizations?