为什么我的 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 域中 Kibana 呈红色状态?

上次更新时间:2020 年 5 月 7 日

Kibana 在我的 Amazon Elasticsearch Service (Amazon ES) 域中一直呈红色状态。为什么会发生这种情况?如何排查此问题?

简短描述

当 Elasticsearch 集群的每个节点都通过所有运行状况检查时,Kibana 显示绿色状态。如果运行状况检查未通过,Kibana 进入红色状态。当 Amazon ES 处于红色集群状态时,Kibana 也会显示红色状态。Kibana 的状态可能会因以下原因变为红色:

  • 因 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例或 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷的问题导致的节点故障。有关节点崩溃的更多信息,请参阅为什么我的 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 节点会崩溃?
  • 您的节点内存不足。
  • 将 Elasticsearch 升级到更新的版本。
  • Kibana 与 Amazon ES 版本之间不兼容。
  • 单一节点集群在重负载下运行,没有专用的主节点。专用主节点也可能无法到达。有关 Amazon ES 如何提高集群稳定性的更多信息,请参阅专用主节点

解决方法

使用以下一个或多个方法来解决 Amazon ES 域上的 Kibana 红色状态。

注意:如果 Elasticsearch 集群显示断路器异常,则首先增加短路器限值。如果您没有断路器异常,则在增加断路器限值之前尝试其他方法。

调整查询

如果您正在运行复杂查询,如重度聚合,则要调整查询以获得最佳性能。堆内存消耗的突然激增可能是由用于聚合查询的字段数据或数据结构引起的。

查看以下 API 调用,以确定激增的原因,从而将 es-endpoint 替换为 Amazon ES 域终端节点:

$curl es-endpoint/_nodes/stats/breaker?pretty
$curl "es-endpoint/_nodes/stats/indices/fielddata?level=indices&fields=*"

有关管理内存使用的更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 文档上的调整以优化搜索速度限制内存使用量

使用专用主节点

最佳实践是为每个 Amazon ES 域分配三个专用主节点。有关提高集群稳定性的更多信息,请参阅开始使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service:使用专用主实例提高集群稳定性

纵向扩展

要纵向扩展您的 Amazon ES 域,请增加节点数量或选择拥有更多内存的 Amazon EC2 实例类型。有关扩展的更多信息,请参阅 如何纵向扩展我的 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 域?

检查您的分区分布

检查您的分区正提取到的索引,以确认它们均匀分布在所有的数据节点中。如果您的分区分布不均匀,一个或多个数据节点可能会耗尽存储空间。

使用以下公式来确认分区是否均匀分布: 

Total number of shards = shards per node * number of data nodes

例如,如果索引中有 24 个分区且有八个数据节点,每个节点应有三个分区。有关所需分区数量的更多信息,请参阅开始使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service:我需要多少个分区?

检查您的版本

重要提示:您的 Kibana 和 Amazon ES 版本必须兼容。

运行以下 API 调用,以确认您的版本兼容,从而将 es-endpoint 替换为您的 Amazon ES 域终端节点: 

$curl es-endpoint/.kibana/config/_search?pretty

注意:如果命令不成功,可能表示 Kibana 与支持的 Elasticsearch 版本之间存在兼容问题。有关兼容的 Kibana 和 Elasticsearch 版本的更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的设置 Kibana

监控资源

设置 Amazon CloudWatch 警报,以在资源使用超过特定阈值时通知您。例如,如果您为 JVM 内存压力设置警报,则可以在压力达到 100% 之前采取措施。有关 CloudWatch 警报的更多信息,请参阅推荐的 CloudWatch 警报使用 Amazon CloudWatch 通过自动警报提高 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 域的运营效率

增加断路器限值

要防止集群耗尽内存,请尝试增加父级或现场数据断路器限值。有关现场数据断路器限值的更多信息,请参阅 Elasticsearch 网站上的断路器

Why is Kibana in red status on my Amazon Elasticsearch Service domain?

Last updated: 2020-05-07

Kibana keeps showing red status on my Amazon Elasticsearch Service (Amazon ES) domain. Why is this happening and how do I troubleshoot this?

Short Description

Kibana shows green status when all health checks pass on every node of the Elasticsearch cluster. If a health check fails, Kibana enters red status. Kibana also shows red status when Amazon ES is in Red Cluster Status. Kibana's status can turn red for the following reasons:

  • Node failure caused by an issue with an Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance or Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volume. For more information about node crashes, see Why did my Amazon Elasticsearch Service node crash?
  • Insufficient memory for your nodes.
  • Upgrading Elasticsearch to a newer version.
  • Incompatibility between Kibana and Amazon ES versions.
  • A single-node cluster is running with a heavy load and no dedicated master nodes. The dedicated master node could also be unreachable. For more information about how Amazon ES increases cluster stability, see Dedicated Master Nodes.

Resolution

Use one or more of the following methods to resolve Kibana red status on an Amazon ES domain.

Note: If the Elasticsearch cluster shows a circuit breaker exception, first increase the circuit breaker limit. If you don't have a circuit breaker exception, try the other methods before you increase the circuit breaker limit.

Tune queries

If you're running complex queries (such as heavy aggregations), tune the queries for maximum performance. Sudden spikes in heap memory consumption can be caused by the field data or data structures that are used for aggregation queries.

Review the following API calls to identify the cause of the spike, replacing es-endpoint with your Amazon ES domain endpoint:

$curl es-endpoint/_nodes/stats/breaker?pretty
$curl "es-endpoint/_nodes/stats/indices/fielddata?level=indices&fields=*"

For more information about managing memory usage, see Tune for search speed and Limiting Memory Usage on the Elasticsearch website.

Use dedicated master nodes

It's a best practice to allocate three dedicated master nodes for each Amazon ES domain. For more information about improving cluster stability, see Get Started with Amazon Elasticsearch Service: Use Dedicated Master Instances to Improve Cluster Stability.

Scale up

To scale up your Amazon ES domain, increase the number of nodes or choose an Amazon EC2 instance type that holds more memory. For more information about scaling, see How can I scale up my Amazon Elasticsearch Service domain?

Check your shard distribution

Check the index that your shards are ingesting into to confirm that they are evenly distributed across all data nodes. If your shards are unevenly distributed, one or more of the data nodes could run out of storage space.

Use the following formula to confirm that the shards are distributed evenly: 

Total number of shards = shards per node * number of data nodes

For example, if there are 24 shards in the index, and there are eight data nodes, you should have three shards per node. For more information about the number of shards needed, see Get Started with Amazon Elasticsearch Service: How Many Shards Do I Need?

Check your versions

Important: Your Kibana and Amazon ES versions must be compatible.

Run the following API call to confirm that your versions are compatible, replacing es-endpoint with your Amazon ES domain endpoint: 

$curl es-endpoint/.kibana/config/_search?pretty

Note: If the command is unsuccessful, it could indicate compatibility issues between Kibana and Supported Elasticsearch Versions. For more information about compatible Kibana and Elasticsearch versions, see Set Up Kibana on the Elasticsearch website.

Monitor resources

Set up Amazon CloudWatch alarms that notify you when resources are used above a certain threshold. For example, if you set an alarm for JVM memory pressure, take action before the pressure reaches 100%. For more information about CloudWatch alarms, see Recommended CloudWatch Alarms and Improve the Operational Efficiency of Amazon Elasticsearch Service Domains with Automated Alarms Using Amazon CloudWatch.

Increase the circuit breaker limit

To prevent the cluster from running out of memory, try increasing the parent or field data circuit breaker limit. For more information about field data circuit breaker limits, see Circuit Breaker on the Elasticsearch website.