为什么我使用 Amazon SQS 事件源的 Lambda 函数没有实现最优扩展?

上次更新时间:2020 年 1 月 30 日

我的 AWS Lambda 函数使用 Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 触发器,但它没有按预期方式扩展。如何确保我的函数按照最优并发进行扩展?

简短描述

当您将 SQS 队列配置为事件源并且有消息可用于处理时,Lambda 将首先选择最大并发数,即五个。理想情况下,使用 Amazon SQS 触发器的 Lambda 函数每分钟最高可以扩展 60 个附加实例,最大支持 1000 个并发调用。为确保函数实现最优扩展,必须满足以下条件:

  • 此函数没有产生任何错误。
  • 在该 AWS 区域拥有足够的非预留并发,或者该函数的预留并发至少为 1000 个。
  • 该 SQS 队列中有消息。

解决方法

修复错误

如果 Lambda 尝试调用您的函数时出现任何错误,服务将阻止函数扩展,以防止大规模出现错误。错误修复后,Lambda 将继续扩展您的函数。只要您的账户未达到或接近该区域的扩展或突增并发服务配额,它每分钟最高可以扩展 60 个附加的并发实例。您的函数最多可扩展支持 1000 个并发调用。

如需解决错误的帮助,请参阅 AWS Lambda 故障排除如何排查 Lambda 函数失败的问题?

管理并发

如果您尚未在函数上配置预留并发,它将与同一账户和区域中的其他函数共享 1000 个并发的默认非预留并发配额。如果该区域中至少有 1000 个非预留并发,您的函数将持续扩展,直到达到最大并发数为止。否则系统将在所有非预留并发都已使用时限制调用。

如果您在函数上配置了预留并发,请确保您至少有 1000 个预留并发。如果您配置的预留并发数低于该值,则将在达到预留值时限制您的函数。有关更多信息,请参阅管理 Lambda 函数的并发

注意:如果您确定您在某个区域需要更高的并发数,您可以在 Service Quotas 控制台请求增加服务配额

检查队列深度

Lambda 仅在 SQS 队列中有消息时扩展调用。如果您未在函数的指标中看到任何限制,同时也没有任何错误,请检查 SQS 队列指标 ApproximateNumberOfMessagesNotVisible。该指标显示了仍需处理的消息数。

如果该指标的值较低(或为 0),则您的函数不能扩展。如果指标的值较高且在不断增长,同时也不存在配置错误,请检查触发器的批处理大小配置。从接收队列中的消息到调用您的函数之间会有很小的延迟。如果您的批处理大小设置较低(例如设置为 1),该较小的延迟可能跨所有调用积累并导致队列中的消息堆积。请尝试增加批处理大小,直到持续时间的增加快于批处理大小为止,但批处理大小最大为 10。

注意:如果您将批处理大小设置为 10,但您的 SQS 队列中的消息数少于 1000 个,则您不太可能会在调用中收到完整批次的 10 个消息。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon SQS API 参考中的 ReceiveMessage


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

我们可以改进什么?


需要更多帮助?

Why isn't my Lambda function with an Amazon SQS event source scaling optimally?

Last updated: 2020-01-30

My AWS Lambda function with an Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) trigger isn't scaling as expected. How can I be sure that my function scales to optimal concurrency?

Short Description

When you configure an SQS queue as an event source and messages are available for processing, Lambda begins with a maximum concurrency of five. Optimally, Lambda functions with an Amazon SQS trigger can scale up 60 additional instances per minute to a maximum of 1,000 concurrent invocations. For your function to scale optimally, the following must be true:

  • The function isn't producing any errors.
  • There's sufficient unreserved concurrency in the AWS Region, or the reserved concurrency for the function is at least 1,000.
  • There are messages in the SQS queue.

Resolution

Fix errors

If there are any errors when Lambda attempts to invoke your function, the service prevents your function from scaling to prevent errors at scale. As soon as the errors stop, Lambda continues to scale up your function. It scales up 60 additional concurrent invocations per minute as long as your account isn't at or near the service quota for scaling or burst concurrency in the Region. Your function can scale up to a maximum of 1,000 concurrent invocations.

For help with errors, see Troubleshooting Issues in AWS Lambda and How I do I troubleshoot Lambda function failures?

Manage concurrency

If you haven't configured reserved concurrency on your function, it shares the default unreserved concurrency quota of 1,000 with other functions in the same account and Region. If there's at least 1,000 unreserved concurrency in the Region, your function continues to scale until it reaches the maximum concurrency. Otherwise, invocations are throttled when all your unreserved concurrency is in use.

If you configured reserved concurrency on your function, be sure that there's at least 1,000 reserved concurrency. If it's lower, your function will be throttled when it reaches the reserved value. For more information, see Managing Concurrency for a Lambda Function.

Note: If you determine that you need a higher concurrency for a Region, you can request a service quota increase in the Service Quotas console.

Check queue depth

Lambda only scales invocations if there are messages in the SQS queue. If you don't see any throttles in your function's metrics and there are no errors, check the SQS queue metric ApproximateNumberOfMessagesNotVisible. This metric shows how many messages still need to be processed.

If the metric is low (or at 0), your function can't scale. If the metric is high and growing, and there are no errors, check the batch size configuration for your trigger. There's a small delay between receiving a message from the queue and invoking your function. If your batch size is set low (at 1, for example), the small delay can build up across all invocations and cause a backup of messages in your queue. Try increasing the batch size until duration increases faster than batch size, up to the maximum batch size of 10.

Note: If you set a batch size of 10, but your SQS queue has fewer than 1,000 messages, you're less likely to receive a full batch of 10 messages in your invocations. For more information, see ReceiveMessage in the Amazon SQS API Reference.


Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?