如何解决 Amazon RDS for MySQL 或 MariaDB 数据库中的低可用内​​存问题?

上次更新时间:2019 年 4 月 30 日

我在使用 Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)MariaDB 或 MySQL 实例。我看到可用内存很低,数据库内存不足,或者内存不足导致应用程序出现延迟。如何识别什么在使用内存,以及如何解决低可用内存问题?

简短描述

MySQL 分配缓冲区和缓存来执行数据库操作。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 MySQL 如何使用内存部分。使用 Amazon RDS 时,实例上 80% 到 90% 的可用内存将使用默认参数进行分配。此分配对于性能而言是最佳的,但如果您设置使用更多内存的参数,则可修改其他参数以使用更少的内存来进行补偿。确定哪些组件正在使用内存后,您可以在实例和数据库级别查找瓶颈。然后,您可以配置会话以获得最佳性能。 

解决方法

了解 MySQL 如何使用内存

全局缓冲区和缓存包括 Innodb_buffer_pool_sizeInnodb_log_buffer_sizekey_buffer_size query_cache_size 等组件。默认情况下,innodb_buffer_pool_size 使用 RDS 数据库实例 75% 的内存。首先查看此参数以识别什么在使用内存。然后,考虑减少 innodb_buffer_pool_size 的值。例如,默认的 DBInstanceClassMemory*3/4 可以减少到 *5/8 *1/2。请务必检查实例的 BufferCacheHitRatio,以确保该比率不会太低。如果 BufferCacheHitRatio 很低,则可能需要增加实例大小,以便拥有更多 RAM。有关更多信息,请参阅为 Amazon RDS for MySQL 配置参数的最佳实践,第 1 部分:与性能相关的参数

内存也分配给连接到 MySQL 数据库实例的每个 MySQL 线程。以下线程需要分配的内存:

  • thread_stack
  • net_buffer_length
  • read_buffer_size
  • sort_buffer_size
  • join_buffer_size
  • max_heap_table_size
  • tmp_table_size

此外,MySQL 创建内部临时表以执行某些操作。这些表最初作为基于内存的表创建。当这些表的大小达到 tmp_table_size max_heap_table_size中指定的值(以较低者为准)时,则表将转换为基于磁盘的表。当多个会话创建内部临时表时,您可能会看到内存利用率上升。要降低内存利用率,请避免在查询中使用临时表。

如果在会话执行 JOINSORT 时分配了多个相同类型的缓冲区(例如 join_buffer_size sort_buffer_size),您也会看到内存使用率上升。例如,MySQL 分配一个 JOIN 缓冲区以在两个表之间执行 JOIN。如果查询涉及多个表 JOINs,并且所有查询都需要 JOIN 缓冲区,那么 MySQL 分配的 JOIN 缓冲区数量会比表的总数少一个。如果未优化查询,则使用过高的值配置会话变量可能会导致问题。您可以将最小内存分配给会话级变量,例如 join_buffer_size sort_buffer_size。有关更多信息,请参阅使用数据库参数组

如果对 MYISAM 表执行批量插入,则使用 bulk_insert_buffer_size 个字节的内存。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 存储引擎使用最佳实践

如果您为 Amazon RDS for MySQL 上的 Performance Insights 启用了性能架构,那么性能架构会消耗内存。启用性能架构后,MySQL 会在实例启动时和服务器操作期间分配内部缓冲区。有关性能架构如何使用内存的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的性能架构内存分配模型

监控和排除实例上的内存利用率问题

当可用内存不足时,监控 Amazon CloudWatch 指标 DatabaseConnectionsCPUUtilizationReadIOPSWriteIOPS。要检查内存压力,除 FreeableMemory 之外,监控 CloudWatch 指标 SwapUsage。如果您发现使用了大量的交换区并且 FreeableMemory 的值低,那么数据库实例可能正面临内存压力,这可能会导致性能下降。有关更多信息,请参阅在内存足够时,为什么我的 Amazon RDS 实例会使用交换内存?

要监控数据库实例上的资源利用率,请参阅启用增强监测。然后,将粒度设置为一到五秒(默认值为 60 秒)。

运行 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST; 以查看所有打开的连接。然后,运行 SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS; 以查看 InnoDB 信息,例如长时间运行的事务、内存利用率统计数据和锁。查看 BUFFER POOL AND MEMORY 部分以了解是否有任何可用页。

最后,启用 Performance Insights,以识别消耗内存的查询。然后,对 FreeableMemory 指标设置 CloudWatch 警报,以便在可用内存减少时收到通知。最佳实践是保留至少 5% 的实例内存空闲,因此设置在达到 95% 的利用率时通知您的 CloudWatch 警报。

您可以使用性能架构内存表来监测内存利用率。您还可以使用 MySQL sys schema 来简化视图,以与性能架构表结合使用。例如,您可以使用 performance_schema 事件来显示为性能架构使用的内部缓冲区分配的内存量。或者,您可以运行类似于以下内容的查询,以查看分配了多少内存:

SELECT * FROM performance_schema.memory_summary_global_by_event_name WHERE EVENT_NAME LIKE 'memory/performance_schema/%';

内存工具在 setup_instruments 表中列出。这些工具的名称基于 memory/code_area/instrument_name,例如 memory/innodb/buf_buf_pool。要启用内存检测,请更新 setup_instruments 表中相关工具的 ENABLED 列:

UPDATE performance_schema.setup_instruments SET ENABLED = 'YES' WHERE NAME LIKE 'memory/%';

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?

您觉得我们哪些地方需要改进?


需要更多帮助?

How can I troubleshoot low freeable memory in an Amazon RDS for MySQL or MariaDB database?

Last updated: 2019-04-30

I am running an Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) MariaDB or MySQL instance. I see that my available memory is low, my database is out of memory, or low memory is causing latency issues in my application. How can I identify the source of the memory utilization, and how can I troubleshoot low freeable memory?

Short Description

MySQL allocates buffers and cache to carry out database operations. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for How MySQL Uses Memory. When using Amazon RDS, 80% to 90% of the available memory on an instance is allocated with the default parameters. This allocation is optimal for performance, but if you set parameters that use more memory, then modify other parameters to use less memory to compensate. After you identify which components are using memory, you can look for bottlenecks at the instance and database level. Then, you can configure your sessions for optimal performance. 

Resolution

Understanding how MySQL uses memory

Global buffers and caches include components like Innodb_buffer_pool_size, Innodb_log_buffer_size, key_buffer_size, and query_cache_size. By default, the innodb_buffer_pool_size uses 75% of the memory of an RDS DB instance. Review this parameter first to identify the source of memory usage. Then, consider reducing the value for innodb_buffer_pool_size. For example, the default DBInstanceClassMemory*3/4 can be reduced to *5/8 or *1/2. Be sure to check the instance's BufferCacheHitRatio to make sure that the ratio is not too low. If the BufferCacheHitRatio is low, you might need to increase the instance size so that you have more RAM. For more information, see Best practices for configuring parameters for Amazon RDS for MySQL, part 1: Parameters related to performance.

Memory is also allocated for each MySQL thread that is connected to a MySQL DB instance. The following threads require allocated memory:

  • thread_stack
  • net_buffer_length
  • read_buffer_size
  • sort_buffer_size
  • join_buffer_size
  • max_heap_table_size
  • tmp_table_size

Additionally, MySQL creates internal temporary tables to perform some operations. These tables are created initially as memory-based tables. When the size of these tables reaches the value specified by tmp_table_size or max_heap_table_size (whichever has the lowest value), then the table is converted to a disk-based table. When multiple sessions create internal temporary tables, you might see increases in memory utilization. To reduce memory utilization, avoid using temporary tables in your queries.

You can also see increases in memory usage if multiple buffers of the same type, such as join_buffer_size or sort_buffer_size, are allocated when the session is performing JOIN or SORT operations. For example, MySQL allocates one JOIN buffer to perform JOIN between two tables. If a query involves multi-table JOINs and all the queries require a JOIN buffer, then MySQL allocates one JOIN buffer fewer than the total number of tables. Configuring your session variables with a value that is too high can cause issues if the queries aren't optimized. You can allocate the minimum memory to session-level variables such as join_buffer_size and sort_buffer_size. For more information, see Working with DB Parameter Groups.

If you perform bulk inserts to MYISAM tables, then bulk_insert_buffer_size bytes of memory are used. For more information, see Best Practices for Working with MySQL Storage Engines.

Memory can be consumed by the Performance Schema if you enabled the Performance Schema for Performance Insights on Amazon RDS for MySQL. When the Performance Schema is enabled, MySQL allocates internal buffers when the instance is started and during server operations. For more information about how the Performance Schema uses memory, see the MySQL Documentation for The Performance Schema Memory-Allocation Model.

Monitoring and troubleshooting memory usage on your instance

Monitor the Amazon CloudWatch metrics for DatabaseConnections, CPUUtilization, ReadIOPS, and WriteIOPS when available memory is low. To check for memory pressure, monitor the CloudWatch metrics for SwapUsage in addition to FreeableMemory. If you see that a large amount of swap is used and you have low FreeableMemory, your DB instance might be under memory pressure, which can degrade performance. For more information, see Why is my Amazon RDS instance using swap memory when I have sufficient memory?

To monitor the resource utilization on a DB instance, enable Enhanced Monitoring. Then, set a granularity of one or five seconds (the default is 60 seconds).

Run SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST; to see all the open connections. Then, run SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS; to see InnoDB information, such as long-running transactions, memory utilization statistics, and locks. Review the BUFFER POOL AND MEMORY section to see if there are any free pages.

Finally, enable Performance Insights so that you can identify queries that are consuming memory. Then, set a CloudWatch alarm on the FreeableMemory metric, so that you receive a notification when available memory decreases. It's a best practice to keep at least 5% of the instance memory free, so set a CloudWatch alarm that notifies you when you've reached at 95% utilization.

You can use Performance Schema memory tables to monitor memory utilization. You can also use MySQL sys schema for simplified views to use in combination with the Performance Schema tables. For example, you can use the performance_schema event to show how much memory is allocated for internal buffers that are used by Performance Schema. Or you can run a query similar to the following to see how much memory is allocated:

SELECT * FROM performance_schema.memory_summary_global_by_event_name WHERE EVENT_NAME LIKE 'memory/performance_schema/%';

Memory instruments are listed in the setup_instruments table. These instruments have a name that is based on the memory/code_area/instrument_name, such as memory/innodb/buf_buf_pool. To enable memory instrumentation, update the ENABLED column of the relevant instruments in the setup_instruments table:

UPDATE performance_schema.setup_instruments SET ENABLED = 'YES' WHERE NAME LIKE 'memory/%';

Did this article help you?

Anything we could improve?


Need more help?