如何通过多条线路影响到达本地的 Direct Connect 连接网络流量路径?

上次更新日期:2022 年 1 月 11 日

我想通过多条线路影响到达本地的 AWS Direct Connect 连接网络流量路径。

简短描述

您可以在不同的 AWS 区域中使用多条 Direct Connect 线路来增加带宽和高可用性。根据区域间线路的分布情况,您可以通过使用本地前缀播发边界网关协议 (BGP) 社区标签来影响 Direct Connect 流量。

多个 Direct Connect 连接的常见设置包括:

  • 在连接到同一区域中相同虚拟专用网关 (VGW) 的 Direct Connect 连接上创建的专用虚拟接口。
  • 在连接到同一 Direct Connect 网关 (DXGW) 且与任何区域中的多个 VGW 关联的 Direct Connect 连接上创建的专用虚拟接口。
  • 在连接到同一 DXGW 且与任何区域中的多个中转网关关联的 Direct Connect 连接上创建的中转虚拟接口。

解决方法

根据您的使用案例,按照以下说明来影响 Direct Connect 连接网络流量路径。

私有和中转虚拟接口的默认行为以及如何影响它

要影响默认行为,最佳做法是使用 自治系统 (AS) 路径预置和以下本地首选项 BGP 社区标签:

  • 7224:7100 – 低优先级
  • 7224:7200 – 中优先级
  • 7224:7300 – 高优先级

本地首选项 BGP 社区标签按从最低到最高首选项的顺序进行评估(首选最高首选项)。对于通过 BGP 会话播发的每个前缀,您可以应用社区标签来指示返回流量的关联路径的优先级。

有关更多信息,请参阅如何使用 BGP 社区来影响从 AWS 到我的网络的 Direct Connect 链路的首选路由路径?

场景 1

您在 us-east-1 区域有一个 Direct Connect 连接 (DX1),在 eu-west-1 区域有第二个连接 (DX2)。已在 DX1 和 DX2 上创建私有虚拟接口 (VIF),它们具有从本地设备播发的相同前缀。DX1 和 DX2 VIF 附带与 us-east-1eu-west-1ap-southeast-1 区域中的三个 VGW 关联的 DXGW。

如果您通过 DX1 上的 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,来自 us-east-1 区域 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 的流量将保持不变。来自 eu-west-1ap-southeast-1 区域的流量将首选 DX1,因为 BGP 社区会覆盖同一区域首选项。

如果您通过 DX1 和 DX2 上的 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,来自不同区域中的所有 Amazon VPC 的流量将在 DX1 和 DX2 之间进行负载平衡。这是因为 BGP 社区会覆盖同一区域首选项。

如果您通过两个 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,并在 DX1 上预置 AS,则来自所有区域中的所有 Amazon VPC 的流量将首选 DX2。这是因为区域首选项将被平等地覆盖。然后,AWS 将对 AS 路径长度执行验证,发现 DX2 的路径前缀短于 DX1。

如果您只通过 DX1 上的 VIF 播发一个 AS 预置,而没有 BGP 社区标签,则来自 us-east-1eu-west-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量将保持不变。来自 ap-southeast-1 区域的流量将首选 DX2。这是因为区域首选项的优先级高于 AS 路径长度。

场景 2

您在 us-east-1 区域中拥有 Direct Connect 连接 DX1 和 DX2,其中私有虚拟接口使用从本地设备播发的相同前缀。这些私有虚拟接口附带与 us-east-1eu-west-1 区域中的三个 VGW 关联的 DXGW。

如果您通过 DX1 上的 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,则来自 us-east-1eu-west-1 区域的流量将首选 DX1,因为 BGP 社区会覆盖同一区域首选项。

如果您同时通过 DX1 和 DX2 上的 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,则来自不同区域中的 VPC 的流量将保持不变。这是因为 BGP 社区会覆盖区域首选项,以进行负载平衡。

如果您通过两个 VIF 播发 BGP 标签 7224:7300,并在 DX1 上预置 AS,则来自所有区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量将首选 DX2。这是因为区域首选项将被平等地覆盖。然后,AWS 将对 AS 路径长度执行验证,发现 DX2 的路径前缀短于 DX1。

如果您通过 DX1 上的 VIF 播发一个 AS 预置,而没有 BGP 社区标签,则来自 us-east-1eu-west-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量将要首选 DX2。这是由于 us-east-1eu-west-1 区域对于 DX2 具有相同的区域首选项和较短的 AS 路径。

场景 1 和场景 2

如果您在没有影响因素的情况下播发本地前缀,则默认的流量传出行为如下:

  • DX1 将首选来自 us-east-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量,因为它位于同一区域中。DX2 将首选来自 eu-west-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量,因为它位于同一区域中。由于 ap-southeast-1 是一个远程区域,来自 Amazon VPC 的流量将在 DX1 和 DX2 之间进行负载平衡。
  • 来自 us-east-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量将在 DX1 和 DX2 之间进行负载平衡,因为它们位于同一区域中。来自 eu-west-1 区域中的 Amazon VPC 的流量将在 DX1 和 DX2 之间进行负载平衡。

公有虚拟接口的默认行为以及如何影响它

在以下场景中,您在同一区域中有两个 Direct Connect 连接,它们使用从本地设备播发的相同公有虚拟接口和前缀。

来自 AWS 方向的传出流量将在公有 VIF 之间进行负载平衡,而不会产生任何影响因素。要影响默认行为,最佳做法是使用具有公有 ASN 的自治系统 (AS) 预置。如果您只能使用私有 ASN,则最佳做法是从首选公共 VIF 播发更具体的前缀,以便由最长的前缀匹配项来确定路由路径。

公有虚拟接口的常见非对称路由场景

您可以在 Direct Connect 中使用以下 BGP 前缀:

  • 7224:9100 – 本地 AWS 区域
  • 7224:9200 – 某个大洲的所有 AWS 区域
  • 7224:9300 – 全球(所有公有 AWS 区域)

有关更多信息,请参阅确定 BGP 社区范围

在以下场景中,您在 us-east-1 区域中有一个具有公有虚拟接口的 Direct Connect 连接。您正在通过 Direct Connect 连接和本地网络服务提供商公告具有社区标签 7224:9100 的相同本地公有前缀。

如果您正在访问 us-east-1 区域中的 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶,则入站和出站流量将通过 Direct Connect 连接进行传输。

如果您正在访问 eu-west-1 区域中的 Amazon S3 存储桶,则入站流量将通过 Direct Connect 连接进行传输,而出站流量则通过本地网络服务提供商进行传输。这是因为前缀未传播至 eu-west-1 区域,导致非对称路由。

如果您正在访问 us-east-1 区域中的 Amazon S3 存储桶并且进站流量在本地使用本地网络服务提供商,则会发生非对称路由。这是因为收到相同前缀时,AWS 更喜欢通过 Direct Connect 连接而不是本地网络服务提供商发送出站流量。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I influence my Direct Connect connection network traffic path to on-premises over multiple circuits?

Last updated: 2022-01-11

I want to influence my AWS Direct Connect connection network traffic path to on-premises over multiple circuits.

Short description

You can use multiple Direct Connect circuits in different AWS Regions to increase bandwidth and high availability. Depending on the distribution of the circuits across Regions, you can influence Direct Connect traffic by advertising Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) community tags with on-premises prefixes.

Common setups for multiple Direct Connect connections include:

  • Private virtual interfaces created on the Direct Connect connections attached to the same virtual private gateways (VGW) in the same Region.
  • Private virtual Interfaces created on the Direct Connect connections attached to the same Direct Connect Gateway (DXGW) and associated with multiple VGWs in any Regions.
  • Transit virtual Interfaces created on the Direct Connect connections attached to the same DXGW and associated with multiple transit gateways in any Regions.

Resolution

Follow these instructions to influence your Direct Connect connection network traffic path based on your use case.

Default behavior for private and transit virtual Interfaces and how to influence it

To influence the default behavior, it's a best practice to use Autonomous System (AS) path prepending and the following local preference BGP community tags:

  • 7224:7100—Low preference
  • 7224:7200—Medium preference
  • 7224:7300—High preference

Local preference BGP community tags are evaluated in order from lowest to highest preference (where highest preference is preferred). For each prefix that you advertise over a BGP session, you can apply a community tag to indicate the priority of the associated path for returning traffic.

For more information, see How can I use BGP communities to influence the preferred routing path on Direct Connect links from AWS to my network?

Scenario 1

You have one Direct Connect connection (DX1) in the us-east-1 Region, and a second connection (DX2) in the eu-west-1 Region. A private virtual interface (VIF) is created on DX1 and DX2 with the same prefix's advertised from on-premises devices. DX1 and DX2 VIF's are attached with a DXGW associated with three VGWs in the us-east-1, eu-west-1, and ap-southeast-1 Regions.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over the VIF on DX1, traffic from the us-east-1 Region Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) is unchanged. Traffic from the eu-west-1 and ap-southeast-1 Regions prefer DX1 because the same region preference is overwritten by the BGP community.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over VIFs on DX1 and DX2, traffic from all Amazon VPCs in different regions are load balanced across DX1 and DX2. This is because the same region preference is overwritten by the BGP community.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over both VIFs with AS prepending on DX1, traffic from all Amazon VPCs in all regions prefer DX2. This is because the region preferences are overwritten as equal. Then, AWS performs validation on the AS path length finding that the path prefix for DX2 is shorter than DX1.

If you only advertise one AS prepending over VIF on DX1 without BGP community tags, traffic from Amazon VPCs in the us-east-1 and eu-west-1 Regions remains unchanged. Traffic from the ap-southeast-1 Region prefers DX2. This is because the region preference has a higher priority than the AS path length.

Scenario 2

You have Direct Connect connections DX1 and DX2 in the us-east-1 Region with private virtual interfaces using the same prefix advertised from on-premises devices. The private virtual interfaces are attached with the DXGW associated with three VGWs in the us-east-1 and eu-west-1 Regions.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over the VIF on DX1, traffic from the us-east-1 and eu-west-1 Regions prefer DX1 because the same region preference is overwritten by the BGP community.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over both VIFs on DX1 and DX2, traffic from VPCs in different regions remain unchanged. This is because the region preference is overwritten by the BGP community tag for load balancing.

If you advertise BGP tag 7224:7300 over both VIFs with AS prepending on DX1, traffic from Amazon VPCs in all regions prefers DX2. This is because the region preference is overwritten as equal. Then, AWS performs validation on the AS path length finding that the path prefix for DX2 is shorter than DX1.

If you advertise one AS prepending over the VIF on DX1 without BGP community tags, traffic from Amazon VPCs in the us-east-1 and eu-west-1 Regions prefers DX2. This is because the us-east-1 and eu-west-1 Regions have the same region preference and a shorter AS path for DX2.

Scenario 1 and Scenario 2

If you advertise on-premises prefixes without influencing factors, the default traffic egress behavior is the following:

  • Traffic sourced from the Amazon VPC in the us-east-1 Region is preferred for DX1 because it’s in the same region. Traffic sourced from the Amazon VPC in the eu-west-1 Region is preferred for DX2 because it's in the same region. Because the ap-southeast-1 is a remote region, traffic sourced from the Amazon VPC is load balanced across DX1 and DX2.
  • Traffic sourced from the Amazon VPC in the us-east-1 Region is load balanced across DX1 and DX2 because they are in the same region. Traffic sourced from the Amazon VPC in the eu-west-1 Region is load balanced across DX1 and DX2.

Default behavior for public virtual interfaces and how to influence it

In the following scenario, you have two Direct Connect connections in the same Region that use the same public virtual interface and prefix advertised from on- premises devices.

Egress traffic from the AWS direction is load balanced across public VIFs without influencing factors. To influence the default behavior, It's a best practice to use Autonomous System (AS) prepending with a public ASN. If you can only use a private ASN, it's a best practice to advertise more specific prefixes from the preferred public VIF, so that the longest prefix match determines the routing path.

Common asymmetric routing scenarios for public virtual interfaces

You can use the following BGP prefixes with Direct Connect:

  • 7224:9100—Local AWS Region
  • 7224:9200—All AWS Regions for a continent
  • 7224:9300—Global (all public AWS Regions)

For more information, see the scope BGP communities.

In the following scenario, you have a Direct Connect connection in the us-east-1 Region with a public virtual interface. You're advertising the same on-premises public prefix with the community tag 7224:9100 over the Direct Connect connection and the local internet service provider.

If you're accessing an Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket in the us-east-1 Region, the inbound and outbound traffic is over the Direct Connect connection.

If you're accessing an Amazon S3 bucket in the eu-west-1 Region, the inbound traffic is over the Direct Connect connection, and the outbound traffic is over the local internet service provider. This is because the prefix isn't propagated to the eu-west-1 Region causing asymmetric routing.

If you’re accessing an Amazon S3 bucket in the us-east-1 Region and the inbound traffic from on-premises uses the local internet service provider, asymmetric routing occurs. This is because AWS prefers to send outbound traffic over the Direct Connect connection instead of the local internet service provider when the same prefixes are received.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?