How do I unsubscribe from my Amazon Pinpoint dedicated long code subscription after I've deleted my Amazon Pinpoint resources?

Last updated: 2020-12-21

I deleted my Amazon Pinpoint resources, but I was still charged for a Monthly Local Phone Number Lease. Why am I still being charged, and how do I cancel my dedicated long code subscription?

Short description

When you delete an Amazon Pinpoint project, account-level settings and data for your Amazon Pinpoint account and AWS account aren’t deleted. This includes mobile text messaging (SMS) information, such as dedicated long codes.

To cancel an Amazon Pinpoint dedicated long code subscription, do the following.

Resolution

Create an AWS IAM policy that provides access to the Amazon Pinpoint console

If you haven't already, create an AWS IAM policy that provides access to the Amazon Pinpoint console. The following example JSON policy provides the required permissions:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {
            "Sid": "UseConsole",
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "mobiletargeting:Get*",
                "mobiletargeting:List*",
                "mobiletargeting:DeleteApp"
            ],
            "Resource": "arn:aws:mobiletargeting:region:accountId:*"
        },
        {
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": [
                "firehose:ListDeliveryStreams",
                "iam:GetRole",
                "iam:PassRole",
                "iam:ListRoles",
                "kinesis:ListStreams",
                "s3:List*",
                "ses:*",
                "sns:ListTopics"
            ],
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

Important: Make sure that you update the values for region and accountId before deploying the policy.

Attach the AWS IAM policy that you created to an IAM identity in your AWS account

For more information, see Adding and removing IAM identity permissions.

Create a new Amazon Pinpoint project in the same AWS Region as your billing charge

For more information see, Create and configure a project.

Use the new project to relinquish the dedicated long code that you want to unsubscribe from

For more information, see Relinquishing phone numbers.

Delete the new project

For more information, see Deleting a project.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?