为什么我启用存储 AutoScaling 后我的 Amazon RDS 数据库实例的可用存储低或者我的数据库实例处于存储已满状态?

上次更新时间:2020 年 3 月 5 日

我为 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 数据库实例启用了存储 AutoScaling,但我看到可用存储空间低于 10% 或者实例处于存储已满的状态。为什么会出现这种情况,我该怎样解决呢?

简短描述

如果您最近手动或通过 AutoScaling 增加了 RDS 数据库实例的存储,则实例无法在数据库实例完成存储优化后的六个小时(冷却期)再进行任何存储修改。由于冷却期仅在操作完成后开始,且存储优化有时候可能需要数小时才能完成,存储修改冷却期总共可能会超过六小时。在存储修改冷却期,即使可用存储空间不足 10%,AutoScaling 也无法增加您的数据库实例存储。有关更多信息,请参阅增加数据库实例存储容量

如果您使用 AutoScaling 增加了 RDS 数据库实例的存储,存储将增加 5 GiB、10% 的当前分配存储或者基于过去一小时 FreeStorageSpace 指标的预测增长,以最高者为准。

如果您希望提高数据负载(例如大于 RDS 数据库实例当前存储大小 20% 的负载),最好的做法是在数据加载前手动提高 RDS 数据库存储的大小。例如,如果您的 RDS 数据库实例存储大小为 100 GiB 且拥有 10.1 GiB 的可用空间,并且存储使用量通常为每小时 100 MB,则 AutoScaling 会将存储提高 10% (10 GiB)。但是如果您希望在一小时内加载 50 GiB 数据,10% 的存储增加是不够的。由于上一个 AutoScaling 操作在存储修改冷却期进行,RDS 数据库实例至少在六小时内不能进行任何存储修改,从而导致 RDS 数据库实例处于存储已满状态数小时。

解决方法

如果您无法提高 RDS 数据库实例的存储大小,首先检查有无以下迹象,例如您的实例是否受存储修改冷却期影响:

  • 您的 RDS 数据库实例的状态为存储优化
  • 您的 RDS 数据库实例的状态为存储已满可用,但最近进行了存储修改。要确认最近已执行存储提高操作,请检查您的 RDS 数据库实例事件是否出现以下消息: “将修改应用至分配的存储已完成”或“将 AutoScale 发起的修改应用至分配的存储已完成”。 由于冷却期在存储优化完成后开始且操作可能需要数小时才能完成,最好检查过去 24 小时的存储修改情况。

如果最近进行了存储修改且您不能等到冷却期过去,则您可以将数据库恢复到拥有更多 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 存储的新 RDS 数据库实例中。但是,如果 RDS 数据库实例处于存储已满状态,您必须先停止 RDS 数据库实例上的任何数据加载。然后,您可以遵循数据库引擎的流程从 RDS 数据库实例中释放存储空间。停止 RDS 数据库实例上的所有数据加载后,Amazon RDS 自动化还尝试释放日志文件使用的空间。但是,此过程可能需要几分钟到几小时不等,之后,实例才会不再处于存储已满状态。

如果 RDS 数据库实例未处于存储已满状态,您可以使用以下方法之一提高您的数据库实例存储大小。

  • 选项 1: 创建并提升 RDS 数据库实例的只读副本
  • 选项 2: 手动拍摄数据库快照并将您的 RDS 数据库实例恢复到某个时间点

这两个选项都会导致数据库停机,但创建并提升只读副本可降低停机时间。MySQL、MariaDB 和 PostgreSQL 引擎的所有版本都支持 Amazon RDS 只读副本。对于 Oracle 数据库实例,只读副本只受 Oracle Enterprise Edition、版本 12.1.0.2.v10 和更高版本支持。要使用 Oracle 只读副本,您必须拥有 Active Data Guard 许可证。

选项 1:创建并提升 RDS 数据库实例的只读副本

  1. 如果您尚没有只读副本,请创建您的 RDS 数据库实例的只读副本
  2. 手动提高只读副本的存储容量。默认情况下,Amazon RDS 存储 AutoScaling 在只读副本上被禁用。
  3. 将您的活动 RDS 数据库实例重命名为另一个名称,以停止所有的传入流量。
  4. 将只读副本重命名为您的活动 RDS 数据库实例以前使用的名称。此操作会将只读副本终端节点更改为与活动的 RDS 数据库实例相同,因此,您不必重新配置您的应用程序。
  5. 提升只读副本

注意:对于应用程序或客户端,数据库将在步骤 3–5 期间发生停机。

选项 2:手动拍摄数据库快照并将您的 RDS 数据库实例恢复到某个时间点

  1. 重命名您的活动 RDS 数据库实例,以停止所有的传入流量。此操作将阻止 RDS 数据库实例达到存储已满状态。如果 RDS 数据库实例处于存储已满状态,您将不能继续下一步,以手动拍摄快照。
  2. 拍摄 RDS 数据库实例的数据库快照。您必须拍摄新快照,以防恢复的 RDS 数据库实例也受到存储修改冷却期的影响。
  3. 通过选择最近的可恢复时间将您的 RDS 数据库实例恢复到某个时间点。然后,对于实例标识符,输入您的活动 RDS 数据库实例使用的名称。注意:为了避免导致冷却期的任何进一步自动扩展提高,现在不要启用 AutoScaling。
  4. 或者,选择修改已恢复的 RDS 数据库实例,以包括任何自定义安全组。默认的数据库安全组将应用至新的 RDS 数据库实例。如果您使用任何自定义安全组,请立即设置它们。
  5. 手动提高新的 RDS 数据库实例的存储容量

注意: 对于应用程序或客户端,数据库将在步骤 1–4 期间发生停机。

Why does my Amazon RDS DB instance have low free storage space or why is my DB instance in a storage-full state after I enabled storage autoscaling?

Last updated: 2020-03-05

I enabled storage autoscaling for my Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) DB instance, but I see that the free storage space is below 10% or the instance is in a storage-full state. Why is this happening, and how can I fix this?

Short Description

If you recently increased the RDS DB instance's storage, either manually or by autoscaling, then the instance can't have any more storage modifications for six hours (the cooldown period) after the DB instance completes the storage optimization. The storage modification cooldown period can exceed six hours total because the cooldown period begins only after the operation is finished, and the storage optimization can sometimes take hours to complete. During the storage modification cooldown period, autoscaling can't increase your DB instance's storage, even if there is less than 10% of free storage space. For more information, see Increasing DB Instance Storage Capacity.

If you increased the RDS DB instance's storage using autoscaling, the storage is increased by 5 GiB, 10% of currently allocated storage, or predicted growth based on the FreeStorageSpace metrics in the past hour, whichever is greatest.

If you expect an increase in your data load (such as a load that is larger than 20% of your RDS DB instance's current storage size), it's a best practice to manually increase the size of your RDS DB storage before the data load. For example, if your RDS DB instance's storage size is 100 GiB and has 10.1 GiB of free space, and the storage consumption is usually 100 MB per hour, then autoscaling will increase the storage by 10% (10 GiB). But if you expect to load 50 GiB of data in less than one hour, the 10% storage increase won't be sufficient. And because the previous autoscaling operation is in the storage modification cooldown period, the RDS DB instance can't have any storage modifications for at least six hours, resulting in an RDS DB instance that is in a storage-full status for several hours.

Resolution

If you can't increase the storage size of your RDS DB instance, first check for the following indications that your instance is affected by the storage modification cooldown period:

  • The status of your RDS DB instance is Storage-optimization.
  • The status of your RDS DB instance is Storage-full or Available, but there was a recent storage modification. To confirm that a storage increase operation was recently performed, check your RDS DB instance's events for the following messages: "Finished applying modification to allocated storage" or "Finished applying autoscale initiated modification to allocated storage." Because the cooldown period begins after the storage optimization is complete and the operation can take several hours to finish, it's best to check for storage modifications over the previous 24 hours.

If there was a recent storage modification and you can't wait for the cooldown period to pass, then you can restore your database into a new RDS DB instance that has more Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) storage. However, if the RDS DB instance is in Storage-full state, you must first stop any data loads on the RDS DB instance. Then you can release storage space from your RDS DB instance by following the process for your database engine. After you stop all data loads on the RDS DB instance, Amazon RDS automation also tries to release space that's used by log files. But this process can take from a few minutes to several hours before the instance is no longer in a Storage-full state.

If the RDS DB instance isn't in a Storage-full state, you can use either of the following methods to increase your DB instance storage size.

  • Option 1: Create and promote a read replica of your RDS DB instance
  • Option 2: Take a manual DB snapshot and restore your RDS DB instance to a point in time

Both of these options result in downtime for your database, but creating and promoting a read replica results in less downtime. Amazon RDS read replicas are supported on all versions for MySQL, MariaDB, and PostgreSQL engines. For Oracle database instances, read replicas are supported only by Oracle Enterprise Edition, version 12.1.0.2.v10 and higher. To use Oracle read replicas, you must have an Active Data Guard license.

Option 1: Create and promote a read replica of your RDS DB instance

  1. Create a read replica of your RDS DB instance, if you don't already have one.
  2. Manually increase the storage capacity of the read replica. By default, Amazon RDS storage autoscaling is disabled on the read replica.
  3. Rename your active RDS DB instance to a different name to stop all incoming traffic.
  4. Rename the read replica to the name that was previously used by your active RDS DB instance. This changes the read replica endpoint to be the same as the active RDS DB instance, so you don't have to reconfigure your applications.
  5. Promote your read replica.

Note: For the application or client, the database downtime occurs during steps 3–5.

Option 2: Take a manual DB snapshot and restore your RDS DB instance to a point in time

  1. Rename your active RDS DB instance to stop all incoming traffic. This prevents the RDS DB instance from reaching a Storage-full state. If the RDS DB instance is in a Storage-full state, you can't proceed with the next step to take the manual snapshot.
  2. Take a DB snapshot of your RDS DB instance. You must take a new snapshot to prevent the restored RDS DB instance from also being affected by a storage modification cooldown period.
  3. Restore your RDS DB instance to a point in time by choosing the latest restorable time. Then for the instance identifier, enter the name that was used by your active RDS DB instance. Note: To avoid any further autoscaling increases that result in a cooldown period, don't enable autoscaling for now.
  4. Optionally, modify the restored RDS DB instance to include any custom security groups. The default database security group is applied to the new RDS DB instance. If you use any custom security groups, set them now.
  5. Manually increase the storage capacity of the new RDS DB instance.

Note: For the application or client, the database downtime occurs during steps 1–4.