我的 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL、MariaDB、Amazon Aurora for MySQL 实例上的 CPU 使用率很高。我该如何排查并解决高 CPU 使用率的问题?

有多种因素可能会导致 CPU 使用率增加。例如,用户启动的繁重工作负载、分析查询、长时间的死锁和锁定等待、多个并发事务、长时间运行的事务或占用 CPU 资源的其他进程。

首先,您可以通过以下方式识别 CPU 使用率的产生原因:

  • 使用增强监控
  • 使用性能详情
  • 使用查询来检测工作负载中 CPU 使用率的产生原因
  • 分析日志并启用监控

在确定产生原因之后,您可以分析和优化工作负载,以减少 CPU 使用率。

使用增强监控

增强监控提供了精细的实时指标,您可以将这些指标作为每分钟提供统计信息的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标的补充信息进行查看。有关更多信息,请参阅 CloudWatch 指标与增强监控指标的区别

在增强监控的 operating system (OS) process list (操作系统 [OS] 进程列表) 部分中,查看 OS processes (操作系统进程)RDS processes (RDS 进程),以确认 mysqld 或 Aurora 进程的 CPU 使用率百分比。这些指标可以帮助您确认 CPU 使用率的增加是源自操作系统进程还是 RDS 进程。您还可以使用这些指标来确认 CPU 使用率的增加是源自 mysqld 还是 Aurora,这可指明用户启动的工作负载是促使 CPU 使用率增加的原因。有关更多信息,请参阅查看增强监控。您还可以通过查看 cpuUtilization 的指标来查看 CPU 使用率的分枝信息。有关更多信息,请参阅可用操作系统指标

您还可以检查未使用的任务(休眠任务)数量。这些任务可能会导致内存资源(RAM、缓存和处理器)的用量增加,进而拖慢服务器的速度。最佳实践是调整应用程序,以合理地关闭未使用的连接。您还可以修改 wait_timeoutinteractive_timeout 参数的值,以根据您设置的值关闭连接。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 wait_timeoutinteractive_timeout

使用性能详情

您可以使用性能详情来识别在实例上运行且导致高 CPU 使用率的确切查询。首先,启用适用于 MySQL 的性能详情。然后,您可以在咨询 DBA 后使用性能详情来优化工作负载。

要查看哪些数据库引擎可与性能详情一起使用,请参阅使用 Amazon RDS 性能详情

使用查询来检测工作负载中 CPU 使用率的产生原因

在优化工作负载之前,必须确定有问题的查询。您可以在发生高 CPU 使用率问题时运行以下查询,以确定 CPU 使用率的根本原因。然后,您可以优化工作负载以降低 CPU 使用率。

SHOW PROCESSLIST 命令会显示当前在 MySQL 实例上运行的线程。有时,同一组语句正在运行但未完成。发生这种情况时,后续语句必须等待第一组语句完成,因为 InnoDB 行级锁定可能正在更新相同的行。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 SHOW PROCESSLIST 语法

SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST;

注意:请以主用户身份运行 SHOW PROCESSLIST 查询。如果您不是主用户,则运行该命令的 MySQL 用户必须具有 MySQL PROCESS 服务器管理权限才能查看在 MySQL 实例上运行的所有线程。如果没有管理员权限,SHOW PROCESSLIST 只会显示与您正在使用的 MySQL 账户关联的线程。

INNODB_TRX 表提供有关当前正在执行且并非只读事务的 InnoDB 事务的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_TRX 表

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_TRX;

INNODB_LOCKS 表提供有关 InnoDB 事务已请求但尚未收到的锁的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_LOCKS 表

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_LOCKS;

INNODB_LOCK_WAITS 表针对每个被阻止的 InnoDB 事务提供一个或多个行。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_LOCK_WAITS 表

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_LOCK_WAITS;

您可以运行类似于以下内容的查询,以帮助您查看哪些事务正在等待以及哪些事务正在阻止等待事务。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的使用 InnoDB 事务和锁定信息

SELECT
  r.trx_id waiting_trx_id,
  r.trx_mysql_thread_id waiting_thread,
  r.trx_query waiting_query,
  b.trx_id blocking_trx_id,
  b.trx_mysql_thread_id blocking_thread,
  b.trx_query blocking_query
FROM       information_schema.innodb_lock_waits w
INNER JOIN information_schema.innodb_trx b
  ON b.trx_id = w.blocking_trx_id
INNER JOIN information_schema.innodb_trx r
  ON r.trx_id = w.requesting_trx_id;

SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS 查询提供来自标准 InnoDB 监视器的关于 InnoDB 存储引擎状态的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 SHOW ENGINE 语法

SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS;

SHOW GLOBAL SESSION STATUS 提供有关服务器状态的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 SHOW STATUS 语法

SHOW GLOBAL STATUS;

注意:这些查询已经在 Aurora 2.02.5 (MySQL 5.7)、Aurora 1.17.8 (MySQL 5.6)、MySQL 5.6.x 和 5.7.x 以及 MariaDB 10.0.x、10.1.x、10.2.x 上进行了测试。

分析日志并启用监控

您可以分析 MySQL 常规查询日志以查看 mysqld 在特定时间执行的操作。您还可以查看特定时间在实例上运行的查询,包括有关客户端何时连接或断开连接的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的常规查询日志

注意:如果长时间启用常规查询日志,日志会占用存储空间,并会增加性能开销。

分析 MySQL 慢速查询日志,查找执行时间超过 long_query_time 所设置的秒数的查询。您还可以查看工作负载并分析查询以提高性能并减少内存占用。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的慢速查询日志

提示:在使用慢速查询日志或常规查询日志时,请将参数 log_output 设置为 FILE

您还可以使用 MariaDB 审计插件来审计数据库活动,例如登录到数据库的用户或针对数据库运行的查询。有关更多信息,请参阅 MariaDB 审计插件支持

如果您使用的是 Aurora for MySQL,则还可使用高级审计。审计可以让您更好地控制要记录的查询类型,并降低日志记录的开销。

您可以使用 innodb_print_all_deadlocks 参数来检查死锁和资源锁定。您可以使用此参数在 MySQL 错误日志中记录有关 InnoDB 用户事务中死锁的信息。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的innodb_print_all_deadlocks

分析和优化高 CPU 工作负载

确定导致 CPU 使用率增加的查询后,您可以优化工作负载以减少 CPU 消耗量。

如果您发现工作负载并不需要的查询,可以使用以下命令终止连接(强制终止查询):

CALL mysql.rds_kill(processID);

您可以通过运行 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST 命令来查明查询的 processID。

如果您不想强制终止查询,可以使用 EXPLAIN 来优化查询。其中显示了查询执行中涉及的各个步骤。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的使用 EXPLAIN 优化查询

启用 PROFILING 可查看配置文件详细信息,这些详细信息可指示当前会话期间执行的语句的资源使用情况。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 PROFILING 语法

使用 ANALYZE TABLE 可刷新表的索引统计信息。这有助于优化程序选择适当的执行计划。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的 ANALYZE TABLE 语法


此页内容对您是否有帮助? |

返回 AWS Support 知识中心

需要帮助? 请访问 AWS Support 中心

发布时间:2019 年 2 月 26 日

I am experiencing high CPU utilization on my Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL, MariaDB, or Amazon Aurora for MySQL instances. How can I troubleshoot and resolve high CPU utilization?

Several factors can cause an increase in CPU utilization. For example, user-initiated heavy workloads, analytic queries, prolonged deadlocks and lock waits, multiple concurrent transactions, long-running transactions, or other processes that utilize CPU resources.

First, you can identify the source of the CPU usage by:

  • Using Enhanced Monitoring
  • Using Performance Insights
  • Using Queries to detect the cause of CPU utilization in the workload
  • Analyzing logs and enabling monitoring

After you identify the source, you can analyze and optimize your workload to reduce CPU usage.

Using Enhanced Monitoring

Enhanced Monitoring provides granular real-time metrics that you can review in addition to Amazon CloudWatch metrics, which provide statistics each minute. For more information, see the Differences Between CloudWatch and Enhanced Monitoring Metrics.

In the operating system (OS) process list section of Enhanced Monitoring, review the OS processes and RDS processes to confirm the percentage of CPU utilization of a mysqld or Aurora process. These metrics can help you confirm if the increase in CPU utilization is caused by OS or RDS processes. You can also use these metrics to confirm if the increase is caused by the mysqld or Aurora, which can indicate that a user-initiated workload is the source of the CPU usage. For more information, see Viewing Enhanced Monitoring. You can also see the bifurcation of CPU utilization by reviewing the metrics for cpuUtilization. For more information, see the Available OS Metrics.

You can also check the number of tasks that aren't in use (sleeping tasks). These tasks can lead to increased memory resource (RAM, cache, and processor) consumption, which can slow down the server. It's a best practice to tune your application to gracefully close the connections that aren't in use. You can also modify the values for the wait_timeout and interactive_timeout parameters to close the connection based on the value you set. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for wait_timeout and interactive_timeout.

Using Performance Insights

You can use Performance Insights to identify the exact queries that are running on the instance and causing high CPU usage. First, enable Performance Insights for MySQL. Then, you can use Performance Insights to optimize your workload after consulting with your DBA.

To see which database engines are available to use with Performance Insights, see Using Amazon RDS Performance Insights.

Using queries to detect the cause of CPU utilization in the workload

Before you can optimize your workload, you must identify the problematic query. You can run the following queries while the high CPU issue is occurring to identify the root cause of the CPU utilization. Then, you can optimize your workload to reduce your CPU usage.

The SHOW PROCESSLIST command shows you which threads are running currently on your MySQL instance. Sometimes, the same set of statements is running but not finishing. When this happens, the subsequent statements must wait for the first set of statements to finish, because InnoDB row-level locking might be updating the same rows. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for SHOW PROCESSLIST Syntax.

SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST;

Note: Run the SHOW PROCESSLIST query as the master user. If you are not the master user, the MySQL user running the command must have MySQL PROCESS server administration privileges to see all the threads running on a MySQL instance. Without admin privileges, SHOW PROCESSLIST shows only the threads associated with the MySQL account that you're using.

The INNODB_TRX table provides information about all currently executing InnoDB transactions that are not read-only transactions. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_TRX Table.

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_TRX;

The INNODB_LOCKS table provides information about locks that an InnoDB transaction has requested but hasn't received. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_LOCKS Table.

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_LOCKS;

The INNODB_LOCK_WAITS table provides one or more rows for each blocked InnoDB transaction. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The INFORMATION_SCHEMA INNODB_LOCK_WAITS Table.

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.INNODB_LOCK_WAITS;

You can run a query similar to the following to help you see which transactions are waiting and which transactions are blocking the waiting transactions. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for Using InnoDB Transaction and Locking Information.

SELECT
  r.trx_id waiting_trx_id,
  r.trx_mysql_thread_id waiting_thread,
  r.trx_query waiting_query,
  b.trx_id blocking_trx_id,
  b.trx_mysql_thread_id blocking_thread,
  b.trx_query blocking_query
FROM       information_schema.innodb_lock_waits w
INNER JOIN information_schema.innodb_trx b
  ON b.trx_id = w.blocking_trx_id
INNER JOIN information_schema.innodb_trx r
  ON r.trx_id = w.requesting_trx_id;

The SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS query provides information from the standard InnoDB monitor about the state of the InnoDB storage engine. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for SHOW ENGINE Syntax.

SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS;

The SHOW GLOBAL SESSION STATUS provides information about the server status. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for SHOW STATUS Syntax.

SHOW GLOBAL STATUS;

Note: These queries have been tested on Aurora 2.02.5 (MySQL 5.7); Aurora 1.17.8 (MySQL 5.6); MySQL 5.6.x and 5.7.x; and MariaDB 10.0.x, 10.1.x, 10.2.x.

Analyzing logs and enabling monitoring

You can analyze the MySQL General Query Log to view what the mysqld is doing at a specific time. You can also view the queries that are running on your instance at a specific time, including information about when clients connect or disconnect. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The General Query Log.

Note: When you enable the General Query Log for long periods, the logs consume storage and can add to performance overhead.

Analyze the MySQL Slow Query Logs to find queries that take longer to execute than the seconds set for long_query_time. You can also review your workload and analyze your queries to improve performance and memory consumption. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for The Slow Query Log.

Tip: When you use Slow Query Log or General Query Log, set the parameter log_output to FILE.

You can also use the MariaDB Audit Plugin to audit database activity such as users who are logging on to the database or queries that are run against the database. For more information, see MariaDB Audit Plugin Support.

If you use Aurora for MySQL, you can also use Advanced Auditing. Auditing can give you more control over the types of queries you want to log, and it reduces the overhead for logging.

You can use the innodb_print_all_deadlocks parameter to check for deadlocks and resource locking. You can use this parameter to record information about deadlocks in InnoDB user transactions in the MySQL error log. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for innodb_print_all_deadlocks.

Analyzing and optimizing the high CPU workload

After you identify the query that is increasing CPU usage, you can optimize your workload to reduce the CPU consumption.

If you see a query that's not required for your workload, you can terminate the connection (kill the query) using the following command:

CALL mysql.rds_kill(processID);

You can find the processID of the query by running the SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST command.

If you don't want to kill the query, you can optimize the query using EXPLAIN. This shows the individual steps involved in query execution. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for Optimizing Queries with EXPLAIN.

Enable the PROFILING to review profile details that can indicate resource usage for statements that are executed during the current session. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for PROFILING Syntax.

Use ANALYZE TABLE to refresh the index statistics for the tables. This can help the optimizer choose an appropriate execution plan. For more information, see the MySQL Documentation for ANALYZE TABLE Syntax.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2019-02-26