为什么我的 Amazon RDS for MySQL 数据库实例停留在“重启”状态?

上次更新日期:2021 年 10 月 28 日

我正在尝试重启适用于 MySQL 数据库实例的 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)。但是,我的数据库实例停留在“重启”状态,或者重启时间比预期更长。为什么会出现这种情况,我该如何解决呢?

简短描述

在执行重启之前,请确保停止数据库实例中的任何传入或正在进行的事务。正在进行的事务将被停止,任何未提交的事务都将被回滚。

注意:回滚未提交的事务可能是一项代价极高的操作。在您Amazon RDS for MySQL可再次可用之前,未提交的事务也可能需要很长时间才能完成。

重新启动开始后,该过程将无法取消,重新启动将一直持续到完成。如果重启时间比预期长,请调查根本原因,然后考虑以下故障排除方法:

  • 检查正在进行的查询。
  • 检查是否有任何未清除的事务处理。
  • 查看 MySQL 错误日志文件。

解决方法

检查正在进行的查询

使用 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST(显示完整进程列表)命令检查您的Amazon RDS for MySQL 实例上是否有任何活动查询:

mysql> SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST;

以下是一个示例输出,表明 UPDATE 查询仍在进行中:

+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+
| Id  | User          | Host                | db   | Command | Time | State    | Info                  |
+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+
|   2 | rdsadmin      | localhost:30662     | NULL | Sleep   |    4 |          | NULL                  |
| 101 | admin         | 172.31.28.252:58288 | NULL | Query   |  111 | updating |UPDATE tutorials SET tu|
+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+

输出提供有关在数据库上运行的 MySQL 线程的信息。如果有查询仍在运行,则在执行重新启动之前允许查询完成。

注意:请以主用户身份运行 SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST(显示完整进程列表)查询。如果您不是主用户,则必须具有 MySQL 服务器管理权限才能查看 MySQL 实例上的所有活动线程。否则,输出仅显示用户的 MySQL 帐户中的活动线程 ID。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的 SHOW PROCESSLIST(显示进程列表)语句 MySQL 服务器管理

检查是否有任何未清除的事务处理

MySQL InnoDB 引擎使用多版本并发控制 (MVCC),它在事务期间维护已更改行的旧版本的列表。如果必须回滚事务,则 InnoDB 可以在此过程中执行任何撤消操作。在撤消空间内捕获旧版本的行。在事务期间不再调用这些旧版本时,它们将被清除。如果由于事务仍然引用捕获的更改而未清除这些更改,则历史记录列表的长度可能会增加。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的 InnoDB 多版本控制

未清除的事务处理表示为历史记录列表长度值。此值可以在 SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS(显示引擎 INNODB 状态)命令输出中的“事务处理”下找到。请注意,历史记录列表长度通常是一个较低的值,尽管写入量大的工作负载或长时间运行的事务可能会导致值增加。有关历史记录列表长度值的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的清除配置

要检查历史记录列表长度内是否有任何未清除的事务,请使用 SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS(显示引擎 INNODB 状态)命令。此命令的输出还允许您查看历史记录列表长度的大小以及“事务处理”部分下列出的任何正在进行的事务处理的大小。有关查看列出的事务处理的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的 InnoDB 标准监控和锁定监控输出

例如:

------------
TRANSACTIONS
------------
Trx id counter 105746959
Purge done for trx's n:o < 105746958 undo n:o < 0 state: running but idle
History list length 32
LIST OF TRANSACTIONS FOR EACH SESSION:
---TRANSACTION 328605240396520, not started
0 lock struct(s), heap size 1136, 0 row lock(s)
---TRANSACTION 328605240395600, not started
0 lock struct(s), heap size 1136, 0 row lock(s)

注意:如果历史记录列表长度很高且存在活动的事务处理,那么重新启动不是最佳做法。

有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的 SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS(显示引擎 INNODB 状态)。

查看 MySQL 错误日志文件

在 Amazon RDS 中,默认情况下会启用 MySQL 错误日志文件。如果您怀疑 RDS 实例需要太长时间才能重新可用,请查看 MySQL 错误日志文件的内容。MySQL 在启动、关闭或遇到任何错误时写入错误日志文件。

例如,作为 InnoDB 崩溃恢复过程的一部分,InnoDB 可能必须回滚任何未提交的事务。如果回滚了任何未提交的事务,则 MySQL 错误日志会记录此事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 网站上的 InnoDB 崩溃恢复

其他问题排查

注意:如果您选择执行时间点恢复 (PITR) 或从快照还原,则新的 Amazon RDS 实例可能无法立即可用。有关更多信息,请参阅以下文章:

如果您Amazon RDS for MySQL数据库实例重启了一段时间,请尝试以下其他故障排除提示:

  • 如果您的数据库实例启用了自动备份,则执行 PITR 以在指定时间内还原到新的 Amazon RDS 实例。您可以恢复到备份保留期内的任意时间点。
    注意:默认情况下,还原的数据库实例与默认数据库参数和选项组关联。但是,您可以通过在还原期间指定自定义参数组和选项组来使用它们。
  • 通过创建新的数据库实例,从最新的数据库快照还原数据库实例。一旦恢复的数据库实例状态可用,您就可以立即使用该实例。
  • 如果数据库实例有只读副本,则将该只读副本提升为独立数据库实例。提升只读副本时,数据库实例会在可用之前自动重新启动。

定期监控数据库活动也是一种最佳实践。您可以使用以下工具监控Amazon RDS for MySQL数据库实例

  • Amazon CloudWatch:借助 Amazon CloudWatch,您可以监控任何正在进行的数据库工作负载。如果您观察到数据库连接、CPU 使用率或写/读 IOPS 值较高,则数据库实例中可能存在持续活动。
  • 增强监控:增强监控需要获得向 CloudWatch Logs 发送操作系统指标信息的权限。您可以使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色授予增强监控权限。在启用增强监控之前,您必须首先创建一个 IAM 角色。
  • 性能详情:性能架构适用于 Amazon RDS for MySQL(或 MariaDB)使用的可选性能工具。如果启用或禁用性能详情,则无需重启数据库实例。您也不会遇到任何停机或故障转移。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why is my Amazon RDS for MySQL DB instance stuck in "Rebooting"?

Last updated: 2021-10-28

I'm trying to restart my Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for MySQL DB instance. However, my DB instance is stuck in the "Rebooting" state, or the reboot is taking longer than expected. Why is this happening, and how do I resolve this?

Short description

Before performing a reboot, make sure to stop any incoming or ongoing transactions in your DB instance. Ongoing transactions will be stopped and any uncommitted transactions will be rolled back.

Note: The rollback of uncommitted transactions can be an expensive operation. Uncommitted transactions can also take a long time to complete before your Amazon RDS for MySQL instance becomes available again.

After a reboot has begun, the process can't be cancelled and the reboot will continue until it completes. If your reboot is taking longer than expected, investigate the root cause, and consider the following troubleshooting approaches:

  • Check for ongoing queries.
  • Check whether there are any unpurged transactions.
  • Review the MySQL error log file.

Resolution

Check for ongoing queries

Use the SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST command to check whether there are any active queries on your Amazon RDS for MySQL instance:

mysql> SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST;

Here's an example output that indicates that an UPDATE query is still in progress:

+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+
| Id  | User          | Host                | db   | Command | Time | State    | Info                  |
+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+
|   2 | rdsadmin      | localhost:30662     | NULL | Sleep   |    4 |          | NULL                  |
| 101 | admin         | 172.31.28.252:58288 | NULL | Query   |  111 | updating |UPDATE tutorials SET tu|
+-----+---------------+---------------------+------+---------+------+----------+-----------------------+

The output provides information about your MySQL threads running on your database. If there are queries that are still running, then allow the queries to complete before performing a reboot.

Note: Run the SHOW FULL PROCESSLIST query as the master user. If you're not the master user, then you must have MySQL server administration privileges to view all active threads on the MySQL instance. Otherwise, the output shows only active thread IDs in the user's MySQL account. For more information, see SHOW PROCESSLIST statement and MySQL server administration on the MySQL website.

Check whether there are any unpurged transactions

The MySQL InnoDB engine uses multiversion concurrency control (MVCC) that maintains a list of old versions of changed rows during a transaction. If a transaction must be rolled back, then InnoDB can perform any undo operations during this process. Old versions of rows are captured inside the undo space. These old versions are purged when they are no longer called during a transaction. If captured changes aren't purged because a transaction still references them, then the history list length can grow larger. For more information, see InnoDB multi-versioning on the MySQL website.

Unpurged transactions are represented as the history list length value. This value can be found under "TRANSACTIONS" in the SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS command output. Note that the history list length is typically a low value, although a write-heavy workload or long-running transactions can cause the value to increase. For more information about the history list length value, see Purge configuration on the MySQL website.

To check for any unpurged transactions inside the history list length, use the SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS command. The output from this command also allows you to view size of the history list length and for any ongoing transactions listed under the "TRANSACTIONS" section. For more information about reviewing the listed transactions, see InnoDB standard monitor and lock monitor output on the MySQL website.

For example:

------------
TRANSACTIONS
------------
Trx id counter 105746959
Purge done for trx's n:o < 105746958 undo n:o < 0 state: running but idle
History list length 32
LIST OF TRANSACTIONS FOR EACH SESSION:
---TRANSACTION 328605240396520, not started
0 lock struct(s), heap size 1136, 0 row lock(s)
---TRANSACTION 328605240395600, not started
0 lock struct(s), heap size 1136, 0 row lock(s)

Note: If the history list length is a high value and there are active transactions, then it's not a best practice to reboot.

For more information, see SHOW ENGINE INNODB STATUS on the MySQL website.

Review the MySQL error log file

In Amazon RDS, the MySQL error log file is enabled by default. If you suspect that your RDS instance is taking too long to become available again, then review the content of your MySQL error log file. MySQL writes to the error log file when it starts up, shuts down, or when it encounters any errors.

For example, InnoDB might have to roll back any uncommitted transactions as part of the InnoDB crash recovery process. If any uncommitted transactions are rolled back, then the MySQL error log document this event. For more information, see InnoDB crash recovery on the MySQL website.

Additional troubleshooting

Note: If you choose to perform a point-in-time recovery (PITR) or restore from a snapshot, then your new Amazon RDS instance might not be immediately available. For more information, see the following articles:

If your Amazon RDS for MySQL DB instance is rebooting for a while, then try these additional troubleshooting tips:

  • If your DB instance has automated backups enabled, then perform a PITR to restore to a new Amazon RDS instance from a specified time. You can restore to any point in time within your backup retention period.
    Note: By default, restored DB instances are associated with the default DB parameter and option groups. However, you can use a custom parameter group and option group by specifying them during a restore.
  • Restore your DB instance from the most recent DB snapshot by creating a new DB instance. You can use the restored DB instance as soon as its status is available.
  • If your DB instance has a read replica, then promote the read replica to become a standalone DB instance. When you promote a read replica, the DB instance is automatically rebooted before it becomes available.

It's also a best practice to regularly monitor your database activity. You can monitor your Amazon RDS for MySQL DB instance using the following tools:

  • Amazon CloudWatch: With Amazon CloudWatch, you can monitor any ongoing database workload. If you're observing high values in DB connections, CPU utilization, or write/read IOPS, then there might be ongoing activity in your DB instance.
  • Enhanced Monitoring: Enhanced Monitoring requires permission to send OS metric information to CloudWatch Logs. You can grant Enhanced Monitoring permissions using an AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role. Before enabling Enhanced Monitoring, you must first create an IAM role.
  • Performance Insights: Performance Schema is an optional performance tool used by Amazon RDS for MySQL (or MariaDB). If you enable or disable Performance Insights, then you won't need to reboot your DB instance. You also won't experience any downtime or a failover.

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?