在 Amazon RDS for Oracle 中执行主要版本升级时应考虑哪些因素?

上次更新时间:2021 年 9 月 28 日

我有一个运行 Oracle 的 Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)数据库实例。我想知道执行主要版本升级时必须考虑的因素。

简短描述

当 Amazon RDS 开始支持新版本的 Oracle 数据库时,您可以选择一个更高的版本,然后执行主要版本升级,从而升级现有的 Oracle 数据库版本。主要版本可能包括更新、新功能、安全修复、优化程序增强和性能改进。在升级生产数据库之前,建议首先在非生产环境中对照新版本的 Oracle 数据库测试应用程序的功能、兼容性和性能。

注意:如果在运行 AWS CLI 命令时遇到错误,请确保您使用的是最新版本的 AWS CLI

解决方法

升级之前

在执行主要版本升级之前,应注意以下几点:

升级路径:验证支持的从当前 Oracle 数据库版本升级预期的 Oracle 数据库主要版本的路径。您可以通过运行以下 AWS Command Line Interface(AWS CLI)命令来检查有效的升级路径。

对于 Windows:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine engine-edition --engine-version current-engine-version --query "DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion"

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine engine-edition --engine-version current-engine-version --query 'DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion'

请务必在之前的命令中替换以下值:

  • engine-edition 替换为数据库引擎的版本。
  • current-engine-version 替换为当前的数据库引擎版本。

假设您有一个 Amazon RDS for Oracle 12.1.0.2.v10 实例。要了解支持 RDS for Oracle 实例升级的所有有效主要版本,请运行以下命令。

对于 Windows:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.1.0.2.v10 --query "DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion"

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.1.0.2.v10 --query 'DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion'

实例类:验证要升级的主要版本是否支持当前实例类。有关 RDS for Oracle 支持的实例类的信息,请参阅支持的 Oracle 数据库实例类。您还可以通过运行以下 AWS CLI 命令来检查受支持的实例类。

对于 Windows:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine engine-edition --engine-version new-engine-version --region example-region --query "OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass"

对于 Linux、macOS 或 Unix:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine engine-edition --engine-version new-engine-version --region example-region --query 'OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass'

请务必在之前的命令中替换以下值:

  • engine-edition 替换为数据库引擎的版本。
  • new-engine-version 替换为您计划升级到的新版本。
  • example-region 替换为您正在使用的区域。

例如,假设您要升级到 RDS for Oracle 12.2.0.1.ru-2020-10.r1 实例。要了解在特定区域支持该主要版本的实例类,请运行以下命令:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.2.0.1.ru-2020-10.rur-2020-10.r1 --region us-east-1 --query "OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass"

请务必将命令中的 us-east-1 替换为您选择的区域。

客户端兼容性:验证 Oracle 客户端/驱动程序版本是否与新的主要版本兼容。检查是否必须在升级主要版本的同时升级驱动程序。有关互操作性的信息,请参阅有关 Oracle 数据库客户端和 Oracle 数据库互操作性的 Oracle 文档。

升级方法:您可以通过以下任意一种方式执行主要版本升级:

  • 修改 RDS 实例并应用新的主要版本。
    注意:此方法涉及一些停机时间。
  • 使用主要版本创建新的 RDS 实例,然后使用 AWS Data Migration Service(AWS DMS)迁移数据。
    注意:AWS DMS 使用简约方法迁移数据,只创建高效迁移数据所需的对象。AWS DMS 会创建表、主键,在某些情况下还会创建唯一索引,但不会创建对于高效地从源迁移数据非必要的任何其他对象。例如,AWS DMS 不会创建二级索引、非主键约束或数据默认值。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS DMS 的简要视图

根据您的使用案例,选择下面的一种方法来执行升级。

自定义参数组:如果您的实例具有自定义参数组,则为新的主要版本创建一个新参数组并恰当设置自定义参数。要识别当前使用的自定义参数,请将当前版本的默认参数组与现有自定义参数组进行比较

自定义选项组:如果您的实例具有自定义选项组,则为主要版本创建一个新的自定义选项组。如果选项组中存在持久性或永久性选项,例如时区或 Oracle 透明数据加密,则新的自定义选项组中必须包含相同的持久性或永久性选项。要在升级主要版本的同时将时区文件版本升级到数据库实例中的最新可用版本,请将 TIMEZONE_FILE_AUTOUPGRADE 选项添加到新的自定义选项组中。

字典统计信息:收集字典统计信息并修复对象统计信息可减少升级期间的实例停机时间。您可以通过运行以下查询来收集统计信息:

SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_DICTIONARY_STATS;
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_FIXED_OBJECTS_STATS;

无效对象:验证并确保您的数据库不包含无效对象。您可以通过运行以下查询来完成此操作:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, STATUS, COUNT (*) FROM DBA_OBJECTS GROUP BY OWNER, STATUS;

如果发现无效对象,请运行以下查询来检查哪个对象无效:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, OBJECT_NAME, OBJECT_TYPE FROM DBA_OBJECTS WHERE STATUS != 'VALID';

您可以通过运行以下查询来编译 Schema 中的所有无效对象:

SQL> EXEC DBMS_UTILITY.compile_schema(schema => 'ADMIN', compile_all => false);

请务必将查询中的ADMIN 替换为 Schema 的名称。

审计跟踪记录:确保审计跟踪记录不要冗长。如果审计跟踪记录冗长,升级前的检查和升级可能需要更长的时间。要截断审计跟踪记录,请参阅如何在运行 Oracle 的 Amazon RDS 数据库实例上截断 sys.aud$ 表? 您还可以使用 DBMS_AUDIT_MGMT.CLEAN_AUDIT_TRAIL 过程来删除审计跟踪记录。

密码:通过运行以下查询来验证您没有使用旧版本的密码:

SQL> SELECT USERNAME,PASSWORD_VERSIONS FROM DBA_USERS;

从查询结果中,如果发现用户只使用 10g 版本的密码,则检查是否可以使用较新版本的密码重新创建该用户。如果无法修复用户密码版本,则相应地设置 SQLNET.ALLOWED_LOGON_VERSION_SERVER 参数以避免连接错误。

如果在 RDS for Oracle 实例中定义了参数 sqlnetora.sqlnet.allowed_logon_version_server,则该参数表示连接到数据库服务器时所允许的身份验证协议的最低版本。如果设置为 8,则表示 允许使用大多数密码版本,并允许 DBA_USERS.PASSWORD_VERSIONS 值 10G、11G 和 12C 的任意组合。

如果在 RDS for Oracle 实例中定义了参数 sqlnetora.sqlnet.allowed_logon_version_client,则该参数表示当数据库充当客户端时要使用的最低身份验证协议。

有关更多信息,请参阅有关检查使用不区分大小写的密码版本的帐户的 Oracle 文档。

DBMS_JOB:升级到 Oracle Database 12c 版本 2 后,DBMS_JOB 软件包已停止使用。如果要升级到版本 19c,则建议在升级之前将所有 DBMS_JOB 作业转换为 DBMS_SCHEDULER 作业。在升级过程中,Oracle 会将 DBMS_JOB 作业转换为 DBMS_SCHEDULER 作业。有关更多信息,请参阅有关 DBMS_JOB 支持的 Oracle 文档。如果您有大量的 DBMS_JOB 条目,则升级可能需要更长的时间。

FreeStorageSpace:验证实例的存储容量是否即将耗尽。务必要检查 FreeStorageSpace CloudWatch 指标,以确保您有足够的可用存储空间来成功完成升级。有关更多信息,请参阅如何创建 CloudWatch 警报来监控 Amazon RDS 可用存储空间并防止存储已满的问题?

维护操作:在 Amazon RDS 控制台中检查您的实例是否有任何待处理的维护操作。这些操作将在升级时段应用。对于多可用区实例,如果不需要更新操作系统,则同时进行主实例升级和备用实例升级。如果需要更新操作系统,则 Amazon RDS 会按照多可用区部署中的 Oracle 升级中所述应用升级。

手动快照:为 Oracle 数据库实例创建 RDS 的手动快照,原因如下:

  • 只要 Amazon RDS 支持该版本,就可以使用快照回滚到以前的版本。
  • 自动快照通常是作为主要版本升级过程的一部分创建的。由于 Amazon Elastic Block Store(Amazon EBS)快照属于递增快照,新快照对备份进行的更改较少。因此,创建手动快照可能会缩短创建自动快照所花费的时间和完成升级所花费的总时间。

当前配置:运行以下查询以查看实例的当前配置并保存输出。输出将提供有关附加到当前 RDS for Oracle 实例的选项组、参数组、安全组和标签的信息。要回滚并执行从快照还原或执行时间点恢复,请使用通过以下命令中检索的信息:

> aws rds describe-db-instances --db-instance-identifier example-instance-name --region example-region

请务必替换查询中的以下值:

  • example-instance-name 替换为您的 RDS for Oracle 实例的名称。
  • example-region 替换为您选择的区域。

还原表空间:务必将 Undo Tablespace(还原表空间)设置为正确的大小,以避免在升级过程中执行调整大小操作。

触发器:运行以下查询以列出登录、注销和开机触发器:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, TRIGGER_NAME, TRIGGER_TYPE, TRIGGERING_EVENT, TABLE_OWNER, STATUS, ACTION_TYPE, TRIGGER_BODY FROM DBA_TRIGGERS WHERE TRIGGERING_EVENT LIKE '%LOGO%' or TRIGGERING_EVENT LIKE '%STARTUP%';

检查触发器是否有效且正常工作。即使触发器有效并且能够正常编译,但触发器可能会在运行时抛出错误并干扰数据库重启。检查是否有任何登录、注销或开机触发器在运行时引发错误。您可以通过运行以下查询来停用这些触发器:

SQL> ALTER TRIGGER EXAMPLE-OWNER.EXAMPLE-TRIGGER DISABLE;

请务必替换查询中的以下值:

  • EXAMPLE-OWNER 替换为您在其中创建触发器的 Schema 的名称。
  • EXAMPLE-TRIGGER 替换为触发器的名称。

例如:

--To disable AUDIT_USERS trigger in MYADMIN schema
SQL> ALTER TRIGGER MYADMIN.AUDIT_USERS DISABLE;

升级期间

启动升级后,您可以通过在 Amazon RDS 控制台中检查以下内容来监控升级进度:

  • 实例的 Logs & events(日志和事件)选项卡下的警报日志
  • 实例的 Logs & events(日志和事件)选项卡下的 Recent events(最近事件)

升级之后

  • 连接到数据库后,运行以下查询以验证补丁版本:
SQL> SELECT * FROM sys.registry$history;
SQL> SELECT INSTALL_ID,PATCH_ID,ACTION,STATUS,ACTION_TIME,DESCRIPTION FROM DBA_REGISTRY_SQLPATCH;
  • 应用补丁后,Amazon RDS 会在一个小时内更新 lsinventory-dbv.txt 文件。您可以打开 Amazon RDS 控制台,从实例的 Logs & events(日志和事件)选项卡下载此文件。通过读取 Isinventory-dbv.txt 文件来验证已应用的补丁。
  • 运行以下查询以收集字典统计信息和修复对象统计信息:
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_DICTIONARY_STATS;
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_FIXED_OBJECTS_STATS;
  • 运行以下查询以验证有效和无效对象的数量是否与升级之前的数量一致:
SQL> SELECT OWNER, STATUS, COUNT(*) from DBA_OBJECTS GROUP BY OWNER, STATUS;
  • 运行以下查询以编译 Schema 中的所有无效对象:
SQL> EXEC DBMS_UTILITY.compile_schema(schema => 'ADMIN', compile_all => false);
  • 如果由于新主要版本的优化程序功能原因,在升级后出现查询性能问题,则考虑使用 OPTIMIZER_FEATURES_ENABLE 参数。您可以在会话级别和系统级别更改此参数。例如,如果您将数据库从版本 18.1 升级到版本 19.1,但希望保留版本 18.1 的优化程序行为,则可以通过将 OPTIMIZER_FEATURES_ENABLE 参数的值设置为 18.1.0 来实现。

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

What factors should I consider when I perform a major version upgrade in Amazon RDS for Oracle?

Last updated: 2021-09-28

I have an Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) DB instance running Oracle. I want to know the factors that I must consider when I perform a major version upgrade.

Short description

When Amazon RDS starts to support a new version of the Oracle database, you can upgrade your existing Oracle database version by choosing a higher version and then performing a major version upgrade. A major version might include updates, new features, security fixes, optimizer enhancements, and performance improvements. It's a best practice to test your application's functionality, compatibility, and performance against the new version of the Oracle database in non-production environments before upgrading your production database.

Note: If you receive errors when running AWS CLI commands, make sure that you’re using the most recent version of the AWS CLI.

Resolution

Before the upgrade

Here are a few things to keep in mind before performing the major version upgrade:

Upgrade Path: Verify the supported upgrade path from your current Oracle database version to the intended major version of Oracle database. You can check the valid upgrade paths by running the following AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) command.

For Windows:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine engine-edition --engine-version current-engine-version --query "DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion"

For Linux, macOS, or Unix:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine engine-edition --engine-version current-engine-version --query 'DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion'

Be sure to replace the following values in the preceding commands:

  • engine-edition with the edition of the database engine.
  • current-engine-version with the current version of the database engine.

Suppose that you have an Amazon RDS for Oracle 12.1.0.2.v10 instance. To learn about all the valid major versions that you can upgrade your RDS for Oracle instances to, run the following command.

For Windows:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.1.0.2.v10 --query "DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion"

For Linux, macOS, or Unix:

aws rds describe-db-engine-versions --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.1.0.2.v10 --query 'DBEngineVersions[*].ValidUpgradeTarget[?IsMajorVersionUpgrade==`true`].EngineVersion'

Instance class: Verify that your current instance class is supported for the major version you are going to upgrade. For information on the instance classes that are supported by RDS for Oracle, see Supported Oracle DB instance classes. You can also check the supported instance class by running the following AWS CLI command.

For Windows:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine engine-edition --engine-version new-engine-version --region example-region --query "OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass"

For Linux, macOS, or Unix:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine engine-edition --engine-version new-engine-version --region example-region --query 'OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass'

Be sure to replace the following values in the preceding commands:

  • engine-edition with the edition of the database engine.
  • new-engine-version with the new version that you plan to upgrade to.
  • example-region with the Region that you are using.

For example, suppose that you want to upgrade to an RDS for Oracle 12.2.0.1.ru-2020-10.r1 instance. To learn about the instance classes that support the major version in a specific Region, run the following command:

aws rds describe-orderable-db-instance-options --engine oracle-ee --engine-version 12.2.0.1.ru-2020-10.rur-2020-10.r1 --region us-east-1 --query "OrderableDBInstanceOptions[*].DBInstanceClass"

Be sure to replace us-east-1 in the command with the Region of your choice.

Client compatibility: Verify that the Oracle client/driver versions are compatible with the new major version. Check if the drivers must be upgraded along with the major version upgrade. For information on interoperability, see Oracle documentation for Oracle Database Client and Oracle Database Interoperability.

Upgrade method: You can perform the major version upgrade in either of the following ways:

  • Modify the RDS instance and apply the new major version.
    Note: This method involves some downtime.
  • Create a new RDS instance with the major version and migrate the data using AWS Data Migration Service (AWS DMS).
    Note: AWS DMS uses a minimalistic approach to migrate data and creates only those objects required to efficiently migrate the data. AWS DMS creates tables, primary keys, and in some cases unique indexes, but doesn't create any other objects that are not required to efficiently migrate the data from the source. For example, AWS DMS doesn't create secondary indexes, nonprimary key constraints, or data defaults. For more information, see High-level view of AWS DMS.

Choose one of these methods to perform the upgrade based on your use case.

Custom parameter group: If your instance has a custom parameter group, then create a new parameter group for the new major version and set the custom parameters appropriately. To identify the custom parameters that you currently use, compare the existing custom parameter group with the current version's default parameter group.

Custom option group: If your instance has a custom option group, then create a new custom option group for the major version. If you have persistent or permanent options, such as time zone or Oracle Transparent Data Encryption, in your option group, then the same persistent or permanent options must be included in the new custom option group. To upgrade the time zone file version to the latest available version in the database instance along with your major version upgrade, add the TIMEZONE_FILE_AUTOUPGRADE option to the new custom option group.

Dictionary statistics: Gathering dictionary statistics and fixed object statistics can reduce instance downtime during the upgrade. You can gather the statistics by running the following queries:

SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_DICTIONARY_STATS;
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_FIXED_OBJECTS_STATS;

Invalid objects: Verify and make sure that your database doesn't contain invalid objects. You can do so by running the following query:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, STATUS, COUNT (*) FROM DBA_OBJECTS GROUP BY OWNER, STATUS;

If invalid objects are found, check which object is invalid by running the following query:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, OBJECT_NAME, OBJECT_TYPE FROM DBA_OBJECTS WHERE STATUS != 'VALID';

You can compile all the invalid objects in the schema by running the following query:

SQL> EXEC DBMS_UTILITY.compile_schema(schema => 'ADMIN', compile_all => false);

Be sure to replace ADMIN in the query with the name of your schema.

Audit trails: Be sure that the audit trails aren’t lengthy. Pre-upgrade checks and upgrades might take longer with lengthy audit trails. To truncate audit trails, see How do I truncate the sys.aud$ table on my Amazon RDS DB instance that is running Oracle? You can also use the DBMS_AUDIT_MGMT.CLEAN_AUDIT_TRAIL procedure to delete the audit trails.

Passwords: Verify you are not using older version of passwords by running the following query:

SQL> SELECT USERNAME,PASSWORD_VERSIONS FROM DBA_USERS;

From the query results, if you find that a user uses only the 10g version of passwords, check if the user can be recreated with a newer version of password. If you can't fix the user password version, then set the SQLNET.ALLOWED_LOGON_VERSION_SERVER parameter appropriately to avoid connection errors.

When the parameter sqlnetora.sqlnet.allowed_logon_version_server is defined in an RDS for Oracle instance, the parameter denotes the minimum version of authentication protocol that's allowed when connecting to the database server. A setting of 8 permits most password versions and allows any combination of the DBA_USERS.PASSWORD_VERSIONS values 10G, 11G, and12C.

When the parameter sqlnetora.sqlnet.allowed_logon_version_client is defined in an RDS for Oracle instance, the parameter denotes the minimum authentication protocol to be used when the database acts as the client.

For more information, see Oracle documentation for Checking for accounts using case-insensitive password version.

DBMS_JOB: The DBMS_JOB package is discontinued with the upgrade of Oracle database 12c Release 2. If you are upgrading to version 19c, it's a best practice to convert all DBMS_JOB jobs to DBMS_SCHEDULER jobs before the upgrade. During the upgrade, Oracle converts the DBMS_JOB jobs to DBMS_SCHEDULER jobs. For more information, see Oracle documentation for Support for DBMS_JOB. If you have a large number of DBMS_JOB entries, the upgrade might take longer.

FreeStorageSpace: Verify that your instance is not nearing its storage capacity. Be sure that you have enough free storage space available for the upgrade to complete successfully by checking the FreeStorageSpace CloudWatch metric. For more information, see How can I create CloudWatch alarms to monitor the Amazon RDS free storage space and prevent storage full issues?

Maintenance actions: Check if your instance has any pending maintenance actions in the Amazon RDS console. These actions are applied during the upgrade window. For Multi-AZ instances, if no operating system updates are required, then the primary and standby upgrades occur at the same time. If operating system updates are required, then Amazon RDS applies the upgrade as outlined in Oracle upgrades in a Multi-AZ deployment.

Manual snapshot: Create a manual snapshot of your RDS for Oracle database instance for the following reasons:

  • The snapshot can be used to roll back to the previous version, as long as the version is supported by Amazon RDS.
  • An automated snapshot is usually created as part of the major version upgrade process. As Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) snapshots are incremental, the new snapshot has fewer changes to back up. Therefore, creating a manual snapshot might reduce the time taken to create the automated snapshot and the total time spent in completing the upgrade.

Current configuration: Run the following query to view the current configuration of your instance and save the output. The output provides you with information on the option group, parameter group, security groups, and tags that are attached to the current RDS for Oracle instance. To rollback and perform a restore from snapshot or perform point-in-time recovery, use the information that you retrieve from this command:

> aws rds describe-db-instances --db-instance-identifier example-instance-name --region example-region

Be sure to replace the following values in the query:

  • example-instance-name with the name of your RDS for Oracle instance.
  • example-region with the Region of your choice.

Undo tablespace: Be sure that your Undo Tablespace is set to the right size to avoid resize operations during the upgrade.

Triggers: Run the following query to list your logon, logoff, and startup triggers:

SQL> SELECT OWNER, TRIGGER_NAME, TRIGGER_TYPE, TRIGGERING_EVENT, TABLE_OWNER, STATUS, ACTION_TYPE, TRIGGER_BODY FROM DBA_TRIGGERS WHERE TRIGGERING_EVENT LIKE '%LOGO%' or TRIGGERING_EVENT LIKE '%STARTUP%';

Check if the triggers are valid and functional. Although the trigger is valid and compiles well, the trigger might throw an error at runtime and interfere with database reboots. Check if there are any logon, logoff, or startup triggers that throw an error when they run. You can deactivate these triggers by running the following queries:

SQL> ALTER TRIGGER EXAMPLE-OWNER.EXAMPLE-TRIGGER DISABLE;

Be sure to replace the following values in the query:

  • EXAMPLE-OWNER with the name of the schema where you created the trigger.
  • EXAMPLE-TRIGGER with the name of the trigger.

For example:

--To disable AUDIT_USERS trigger in MYADMIN schema
SQL> ALTER TRIGGER MYADMIN.AUDIT_USERS DISABLE;

During the upgrade

After you initiate the upgrade, you can monitor the progress of the upgrade by checking the following in the Amazon RDS console:

  • Alert log located under the Logs & events tab of your instance
  • Recent events located under the Logs & events tab of your instance

After the upgrade

  • Run the following queries to verify the patch version after connecting to the database:
SQL> SELECT * FROM sys.registry$history;
SQL> SELECT INSTALL_ID,PATCH_ID,ACTION,STATUS,ACTION_TIME,DESCRIPTION FROM DBA_REGISTRY_SQLPATCH;
  • Amazon RDS updates the lsinventory-dbv.txt files within an hour of applying the patch. You can download this file from the Logs & events tab of your instance in the Amazon RDS console. Verify the applied patches by reading the Isinventory-dbv.txt file.
  • Run the following queries to gather dictionary statistics and fixed object statistics:
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_DICTIONARY_STATS;
SQL> EXEC DBMS_STATS.GATHER_FIXED_OBJECTS_STATS;
  • Run the following query to verify that the number of valid and invalid objects match with those before the upgrade:
SQL> SELECT OWNER, STATUS, COUNT(*) from DBA_OBJECTS GROUP BY OWNER, STATUS;
  • Run the following query to compile all the invalid objects in the schema:
SQL> EXEC DBMS_UTILITY.compile_schema(schema => 'ADMIN', compile_all => false);
  • If you have query performance issues after the upgrade due to the optimizer features of the new major version, then consider using the OPTIMIZER_FEATURES_ENABLE parameter. You can alter this parameter at the session level and system level. For example, if you upgrade your database from release 18.1 to release 19.1, but you want to keep the release 18.1 optimizer behavior, then you can do so by setting the value of the OPTIMIZER_FEATURES_ENABLE parameter to 18.1.0.

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?