如何解决 Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL 和 Aurora for PostgreSQL 中的主要版本升级问题?

上次更新日期:2022 年 11 月 21 日

我的 Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)for PostgreSQL 或兼容 Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL 的版本的引擎版本升级停滞或失败。

简短描述

当 Amazon RDS 支持新版本的数据库引擎时,您可以将数据库实例升级到新版本。您可以对数据库实例执行次要版本等级或主要版本升级。

次要版本升级用于修补安全漏洞和修复错误。这些升级通常不会添加任何新功能,也不会更改内部存储格式。它们始终与同一主要版本的早期和更高版本的次要版本兼容。但是,主要版本升级包含非向后兼容现有应用程序的数据库更改。这些升级可能会更改系统表、数据文件和数据存储的内部格式。Amazon RDS 使用 PostgreSQL 实用程序 pg_upgrade 执行主要版本升级。

在 PostgreSQL 实例的主要版本升级期间,Amazon RDS 会运行预检查程序。此过程可识别任何可能导致升级失败的问题。预检查程序检查所有数据库中是否存在潜在的不兼容条件。如果 Amazon RDS 在预检查过程中发现问题,则会为失败的预检查创建日志事件。有关所有数据库的预检查过程的更多信息,请查看 pg_upgrade_precheck.log 升级日志。Amazon RDS 会将时间戳附加到文件名。RDS 事件也可能提供升级失败的原因。但是,对于特定于引擎的问题,必须检查数据库日志文件。

有关详细信息,请参阅针对 RDS for PostgreSQL 查看和列出数据库日志文件。或者,请参阅针对 Aurora for PostgreSQL 查看和列出数据库日志文件

在主要版本升级期间,RDS 将完成以下步骤:

  1. 在升级前创建实例的快照。仅在将数据库实例的备份保留期设置为大于 0 的数字时,才会发生这种情况。
  2. 关闭实例。
  3. 使用 pg_upgrade 实用工具在实例上运行升级作业。
  4. 在升级后创建实例的快照。

解决方法

尽管 Amazon RDS 管理这些升级,但在版本升级期间您可能会遇到以下问题:

  • 升级需要更长时间。
  • 升级失败。

升级需要很长时间

待处理的维护活动:任何待处理的维护活动都会在引擎版本升级时自动应用。这可能包括在您的 RDS 实例上应用操作系统补丁。在这种情况下,首先应用操作系统补丁,然后升级引擎版本。因此,执行操作系统维护活动会增加完成升级所花费的时间。

此外,如果您的 RDS 实例处于多可用区部署中,则操作系统维护会引发失效转移。在多可用区中设置实例时,通常会在辅助实例上创建实例的备份。如果发生失效转移,则会在升级后于新的辅助实例上创建备份。新辅助实例上的此备份可能不是最新的备份。因此,可能会触发完全备份,而不是增量备份。创建完全备份可能需要很长时间,尤其是在数据库规模非常大的情况下。

为避免此问题,请在 RDS 控制台的待处理维护部分中查找待处理的维护活动。有关 Aurora for PostgreSQL,请参阅查看待处理维护

或者,在您的实例上使用 AWS 命令行界面(AWS CLI)命令 describe-pending-maintenance-actions

aws rds describe-pending-maintenance-actions --resource-identifier example-arn

注意:在执行数据库引擎版本升级之前,请完成这些维护活动。

升级前未创建快照:最佳实践是在执行升级之前针对 RDS 或 Aurora for PostgreSQL 集群快照创建快照。如果已经为实例启用备份,则会在升级过程中自动创建快照。在升级之前创建快照可以缩短升级过程完成所需的时间。这是因为在这种情况下,升级过程中只会创建增量备份。

RDS for PostgreSQL 只读副本升级:对主数据库实例执行主要版本升级时,同一区域中的所有只读副本会自动升级。升级工作流程启动后,只读副本将等待主数据库实例上的 pg_upgrade 成功完成。然后,主实例升级将等待只读副本升级完成。在所有升级完成之前,您会遇到中断。如果升级的停机时间有限,则可以升级或删除副本实例。然后,在升级完成后重新创建只读副本

为安全地升级构成集群的数据库实例,Aurora for PostgreSQL 会使用 pg_upgrade 实用程序。写入器升级完成后,每个读取器实例在升级到新的主要版本时都会经历短暂的中断。

长时间运行的事务或升级前的高工作负载:长时间运行的事务或升级前的高工作负载可能会增加关闭数据库所需的时间,并延长升级时间。

运行以下查询以识别长时间运行的事务:

SQL>SELECT pid, datname, application_name, state, 
age(query_start, clock_timestamp()), usename, query 
FROM pg_stat_activity 
WHERE query NOT ILIKE '%pg_stat_activity%' AND 
usename!='rdsadmin' 
ORDER BY query_start desc;

计算容量不足:pg_upgrade 实用程序可能是计算密集型的。因此,最佳实践是在升级生产数据库之前执行空运行升级。您可以还原生产实例的快照,并使用与生产数据库相同的实例类执行空运行。

升级失败

不支持的数据库实例类:如果数据库实例的实例类与您要升级到的 PostgreSQL 版本不兼容,则升级可能会失败。请务必检查实例类与引擎版本的兼容性。有关更多信息,请查看支持的 RDS for PostgreSQL 的数据库实例类数据库引擎。或者,查看支持的 Aurora for PostgreSQL 的数据库实例类数据库引擎

开放的准备事务:在数据库中开放的准备事务可能会导致升级失败。在开始升级之前,请务必提交或回滚所有开放的准备事务。

运行以下查询来检查您的实例上是否有开放的准备事务:

SELECT count(*) FROM pg_catalog.pg_prepared_xacts;

在这种情况下,pg_upgrade.log 文件中的错误类似于以下内容:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Upgrade could not be run on Wed Apr 4 18:30:52 2018
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
The instance could not be upgraded from 9.6.11 to 10.6 for the following reasons.
Please take appropriate action on databases that have usage incompatible with 
the requested major engine version upgrade and try the upgrade again.

*There are uncommitted prepared transactions. Please commit or rollback 
all prepared transactions.*

不支持的数据类型:如果尝试使用不受支持的数据类型升级数据库,升级将失败并出现错误,例如:

  • regcollation
  • regconf
  • regdictionary
  • regnamespace
  • regoper
  • regoperator
  • regproc
  • regprocedure

注意:支持数据类型 regclass、regrole 和 regtype。

PostgreSQL 升级实用程序 pg_upgrade 不支持使用引用 reg* OID 的系统数据类型升级包含表列的数据库。在尝试升级之前,请删除 regclass、regrole 和 regtype 之外的所有 reg* 数据类型使用情况。

运行以下查询以验证不支持的 reg* 数据类型的使用情况:

SELECT count(*) FROM pg_catalog.pg_class c, pg_catalog.pg_namespace n, pg_catalog.pg_attribute a
  WHERE c.oid = a.attrelid
      AND NOT a.attisdropped
      AND a.atttypid IN ('pg_catalog.regproc'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regprocedure'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regoper'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regoperator'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regconfig'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regdictionary'::pg_catalog.regtype)
      AND c.relnamespace = n.oid
      AND n.nspname NOT IN ('pg_catalog', 'information_schema');

逻辑复制槽:如果您的实例有任何逻辑复制槽,则无法进行升级。逻辑复制槽通常用于 AWS Database Migration Service(AMS DMS)迁移。它们还用于将表从数据库复制到数据湖、商业智能工具和其他目标。升级之前,请确保您知道正在使用的逻辑复制槽的用途,并确认它们可以删除。

如果逻辑复制槽仍在使用,则不能将其删除。在此情况下,您无法继续升级。

pg_upgrade 日志文件中的相关错误类似于以下内容:

"The instance could not be upgraded because one or more databases have logical replication slots. Please drop all logical replication slots and try again."

如果不需要逻辑复制槽,请运行以下查询将其删除:

SELECT * FROM pg_replication_slots;
SELECT pg_drop_replication_slot(slot_name);

存储问题:当 pg_upgrade 脚本运行时,实例可能会耗尽空间。这会导致脚本失败,并且您会看到类似于以下内容的错误消息:

pg_restore: [archiver (db)] Error while PROCESSING TOC: 
pg_restore: [archiver (db)] could not execute query: ERROR: could not create file "base/12345/12345678": No space keyword" left  on device

要解决此问题,请确保实例有足够的可用存储空间,然后再开始升级。

未知数据类型:PostgreSQL 版本 10 及更高版本不支持未知数据类型。如果 PostgreSQL 9.6 版数据库使用未知数据类型,则将 PostgreSQL 升级到版本 10 时会显示类似于以下内容的错误消息:

"The instance could not be upgraded because the 'unknown' data type is used in user tables. Please remove all usages of the 'unknown' data type and try again."

这是 PostgreSQL 的限制,RDS 自动化不会修改使用未知数据类型的列。在升级之前,您可能需要手动修改这些列。

运行以下查询,在数据库中查找带有未知数据类型的列:

SELECT DISTINCT data_type FROM information_schema.columns WHERE data_type ILIKE 'unknown';

标识列后,您可以删除这些列或将其修改为支持的数据类型。

只读副本升级失败(仅 RDS for PostgreSQL):PostgreSQL 实例具有只读副本,则只读副本升级失败可能会导致您的主实例升级卡滞。只读副本升级失败也可能导致主实例升级失败。失败的只读副本将置于 incompatible-restore 状态,并在数据库实例上停止复制。

只读副本升级可能由于以下原因之一而失败:

  • 即使在等待时间过后,只读副本也无法赶上主数据库实例。
  • 只读副本处于终止或不兼容的生命周期状态,例如 storage-full 或 incompatible-restore。
  • 主数据库实例升级开始时,只读副本上正在运行单独的次要版本升级。
  • 只读副本使用了不兼容的参数。
  • 只读副本无法与主数据库实例通信以同步数据文件夹。

要解决此问题,请删除只读副本。然后,在主实例升级后,根据升级后的主实例重新创建新的只读副本。

主用户名不正确:如果主用户名以“pg_”开头,则升级失败,并且您会看到以下错误消息:

PreUpgrade checks failed: The instance could not be upgraded because one or more role names start with 'pg_'. Please rename  all roles with names that start with 'pg_' and try again

要解决此问题,请创建另一个具有 rds_superuser 角色的用户。您可以联系 AWS Support,将此用户更新为新的主用户。

不兼容的参数错误:如果将与内存相关的参数(如 shared_bufferwork_memory)设置为更高的值,则会出现此错误。这可能会导致升级脚本失败。要解决此问题,请减少这些参数的值,然后再次尝试运行升级。

升级前未更新扩展:主要版本升级不会升级任何 PostgreSQL 扩展。如果您在执行主要版本升级之前没有更新扩展,则会在 pg_upgrade.log 文件中看到以下错误:

The Logs indicates that the RDS instance ''xxxx'' has older version of PostGIS extension or its dependent extensions (address_standardizer,address_standardizer_data_us, postgis_tiger_geocoder, postgis_topology, postgis_raster) installed as against the current version required for the upgrade.

此错误消息表示 PostGIS 扩展存在问题。

请运行以下查询以检查 PostGIS 及其相关扩展的默认版本和已安装版本:

SELECT name, default_version, installed_version
FROM pg_available_extensions WHERE installed_version IS NOT NULL AND
name LIKE 'postgis%' OR name LIKE 'address%';

如果 installed_version 的值小于 default_version 的值,则必须将 PostGIS 更新到默认版本。为此,请运行此查询:

ALTER EXTENSION extension_name UPDATE TO 'default_version_number';

有关更多信息,请参阅升级 PostgreSQL 扩展(针对 RDS for PostgreSQL)或升级 PostgreSQL 扩展(针对 Aurora PostgreSQL)。

由于目标版本的系统目录发生变化而导致视图问题:某些视图中的列在不同的 PostgreSQL 版本中有所不同。

例如,您可能会看到以下错误消息:

PreUpgrade checks failed: The instance could not be upgraded because one or more databases have views or materialized views which depend on 'pg_stat_activity'. Please drop them and try again.

将数据库从版本 9.5 升级到 9.6 时会出现此错误。此错误是由 pg_stat_activity 视图引起的,因为在 9.6 版中,waiting 列替换为 wait_event_typewait_event 列。

pg_restore: from TOC entry xxx; xxx xxxx VIEW sys_user_constraints art 
pg_restore: error: could not execute query: ERROR: column c.consrc does not exist LINE 18: "c"."consrc" AS "search_condition", ^ HINT: Perhaps you meant to reference the column "c.conkey" or the column "c.conbin".

之所以出现此错误,是因为目录 pg_constraint 的结构在 PostgreSQL 版本 12 中已更改。

可以通过删除基于目标版本系统目录的视图来解决这些问题。

注意:删除这些视图时请务必小心。请务必咨询您的 DBA。

其他注意事项

  • pg_upgrade 实用程序会生成两个日志:pg_upgrade_internal.logpg_upgrade_server.log。Amazon RDS 会将时间戳附加到这些日志的文件名。查看这些日志以获取有关升级期间遇到的问题和错误的更多信息。有关更多信息,请参阅监控 Amazon RDS 日志文件(针对 RDS for PostgreSQL)或监控 Amazon Aurora 日志文件(针对 Aurora for PostgreSQL)。
  • 升级完成后,通过对所有用户数据库运行 ANALYZE 来升级 pg_statistics 表。主要升级不会将 pg_statistics 表的内容移至新版本。跳过此步骤可能会导致查询运行缓慢。
  • 如果升级到 PostgreSQL 版本 10,则会在您拥有的任何哈希索引上运行 REINDEX。哈希索引在版本 10 中已更改,必须重新构建。要查找无效的哈希索引,请为每个包含哈希索引的数据库运行以下 SQL:
SELECT idx.indrelid::regclass AS table_name, 
   idx.indexrelid::regclass AS index_name 
FROM pg_catalog.pg_index idx
   JOIN pg_catalog.pg_class cls ON cls.oid = idx.indexrelid 
   JOIN pg_catalog.pg_am am ON am.oid = cls.relam 
WHERE am.amname = 'hash' 
AND NOT idx.indisvalid;

这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I troubleshoot issues with major version upgrades in Amazon RDS for PostgreSQL and Aurora for PostgreSQL?

Last updated: 2022-11-21

My engine version upgrade for Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for PostgreSQL or Amazon Aurora PostgreSQL-Compatible Edition is stuck or has failed.

Short description

When Amazon RDS supports a new version of a database engine, you can upgrade your DB instances to the new version. You can perform a minor version grade or a major version upgrade for your DB instances.

Minor version upgrades are used to patch security vulnerabilities and fix bugs. These upgrades usually don't add any new functionality, and don't change the internal storage format. They are always compatible with the earlier and later minor releases of the same major version. However, major version upgrades contain database changes that aren't backward-compatible with existing applications. These upgrades might change the internal format of system tables, data files, and data storage. Amazon RDS uses the PostgreSQL utility pg_upgrade to perform major version upgrades.

During a major version upgrade of a PostgreSQL instance, Amazon RDS runs a precheck procedure. This procedure identifies any issues that might cause the upgrade to fail. It checks for potential incompatible conditions across all databases. If Amazon RDS identifies an issue during the precheck process, it creates a log event for the failed precheck. For more information on the precheck process for all databases, check the pg_upgrade_precheck.log upgrade log. Amazon RDS appends a timestamp to the file name. RDS events might also provide the reasons for upgrade failure. But for issues that are engine specific, you must check the database log files.

For more information, see Viewing and listing database log files for RDS for PostgreSQL. Or, see Viewing and listing database log files for Aurora for PostgreSQL.

During a major version upgrade, RDS completes these steps:

  1. Create a snapshot of the instance before the upgrade. This happens only if you set the backup retention period for your DB instance to a number greater than zero.
  2. Shut down the instance.
  3. Use the pg_upgrade utility to run the upgrade job on the instance.
  4. Create a snapshot of the instance after the upgrade.

Resolution

Although Amazon RDS manages these upgrades, you might encounter the following issues during a version upgrade:

  • Upgrade takes a longer time.
  • Upgrade fails.

Upgrade takes a long time

Pending maintenance activities: Any pending maintenance activities are automatically applied with engine version upgrades. This might include applying an operating system patch on your RDS instance. In this case, the operating system patch is applied first, and then the engine version is upgraded. So, performing operating system maintenance activities leads to an increase in the time taken to complete the upgrade.

Also, if your RDS instance is in a Multi-AZ deployment, then operating system maintenance results in a failover. When you set up your instance in Multi-AZ, the backup for the instance is usually created on the secondary instance. In case of a failover, a backup is created on a new secondary instance after the upgrade. This backup on the new secondary instance might not be the latest backup. So a full backup might be triggered instead of an incremental backup. Creating a full backup can take a long time, especially if the database is very large.

To avoid this issue, look for pending maintenance activities in the Pending maintenance section in your RDS console. For Aurora for PostgreSQL, see Viewing pending maintenance.

Or, use the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) command describe-pending-maintenance-actions on your instance.

aws rds describe-pending-maintenance-actions --resource-identifier example-arn

Note: Complete these maintenance activities before performing the database engine version upgrades.

No snapshot created before the upgrade: It's a best practice to create a snapshot of the RDS or Aurora for PostgreSQL cluster snapshot before performing the upgrade. If you already turned on backups for your instance, then a snapshot is created automatically as part of the upgrade process. Creating a snapshot before the upgrade reduces the time needed for the upgrade process to complete. This is because only an incremental backup is created during the upgrade process in this case.

RDS for PostgreSQL Read replica upgrades: When you perform a major version upgrade of your primary DB instance, all the read replicas in the same Region are automatically upgraded. After the upgrade workflow starts, the read replicas wait for pg_upgrade to complete successfully on the primary DB instance. Then, the primary instance upgrade waits for the read replica upgrades to complete. You experience an outage until all the upgrades are complete. If the downtime window for the upgrade is limited, then you can promote or drop your replica instance. Then, recreate the read replicas after the upgrade is complete.

To safely upgrade the DB instances that make up your cluster, Aurora for PostgreSQL uses the pg_upgrade utility. After the writer upgrade completes, each reader instance experiences a brief outage while it's upgraded to the new major version.

Long-running transactions or high workload before the upgrade: Long-running transactions or high workload before the upgrade might increase the time taken to shut down the database and increase upgrade time.

Run this query to identify long-running transactions:

SQL>SELECT pid, datname, application_name, state, 
age(query_start, clock_timestamp()), usename, query 
FROM pg_stat_activity 
WHERE query NOT ILIKE '%pg_stat_activity%' AND 
usename!='rdsadmin' 
ORDER BY query_start desc;

Insufficient compute capacity: The pg_upgrade utility can be compute-intensive. So, it's a best practice to perform a dry-run upgrade before upgrading your production databases. You can restore a snapshot of the production instance and perform a dry run with the same instance class as that of the production database.

Upgrade fails

Unsupported DB instance classes: The upgrade might fail if the instance class of your DB instance isn't compatible with the PostgreSQL version that you're upgrading to. Be sure to check the compatibility of the instance class with the engine version. For more information, review the supported DB engines for DB instance classes for RDS for PostgreSQL. Or, review the supported DB engines for DB instance classes for Aurora for PostgreSQL.

Open prepared transactions: Prepared transactions that are open on the database might lead to upgrade failure. Be sure to commit or roll back all open prepared transactions before starting an upgrade.

Run this query to check if there are open prepared transactions on your instance:

SELECT count(*) FROM pg_catalog.pg_prepared_xacts;

In this case, the error in the pg_upgrade.log file looks similar to this:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Upgrade could not be run on Wed Apr 4 18:30:52 2018
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
The instance could not be upgraded from 9.6.11 to 10.6 for the following reasons.
Please take appropriate action on databases that have usage incompatible with 
the requested major engine version upgrade and try the upgrade again.

*There are uncommitted prepared transactions. Please commit or rollback 
all prepared transactions.*

Unsupported data types: The upgrade fails with an error if you attempt to upgrade the database with unsupported data types, such as the following:

  • regcollation
  • regconfig
  • regdictionary
  • regnamespace
  • regoper
  • regoperator
  • regproc
  • regprocedure

Note: The data types regclass, regrole, and regtype are supported.

The PostgreSQL upgrade utility pg_upgrade doesn't support upgrading databases that include table columns using the reg* OID-referencing system data types. Remove all uses of reg* data types, except for regclass, regrole, and regtype, before attempting an upgrade.

Run this query to verify the usage of unsupported reg* data types:

SELECT count(*) FROM pg_catalog.pg_class c, pg_catalog.pg_namespace n, pg_catalog.pg_attribute a
  WHERE c.oid = a.attrelid
      AND NOT a.attisdropped
      AND a.atttypid IN ('pg_catalog.regproc'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regprocedure'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regoper'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regoperator'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regconfig'::pg_catalog.regtype,
                         'pg_catalog.regdictionary'::pg_catalog.regtype)
      AND c.relnamespace = n.oid
      AND n.nspname NOT IN ('pg_catalog', 'information_schema');

Logical replication slots: An upgrade can't occur if your instance has any logical replication slots. Logical replication slots are typically used for AWS Database Migration Service (AMS DMS) migration. They are also used for replicating tables from databases to data lakes, business intelligence tools, and other targets. Before upgrading, be sure that you know the purpose of logical replication slots that are in use and confirm that they can be deleted.

If the logical replication slots are still being used, you must not delete them. In this case, you can't proceed with upgrade.

The related error in the pg_upgrade log file looks similar to this example:

"The instance could not be upgraded because one or more databases have logical replication slots. Please drop all logical replication slots and try again."

If the logical replication slots aren't needed, run these queries to delete them:

SELECT * FROM pg_replication_slots;
SELECT pg_drop_replication_slot(slot_name);

Storage issues: While the pg_upgrade script runs, the instance might run out of space. This causes the script to fail, and you see an error message similar to this:

pg_restore: [archiver (db)] Error while PROCESSING TOC: 
pg_restore: [archiver (db)] could not execute query: ERROR: could not create file "base/12345/12345678": No space keyword" left  on device

To resolve this issue, be sure that the instance has sufficient free storage before starting the upgrade.

Unknown data types: PostgreSQL versions 10 and later don't support unknown data types. If a PostgreSQL version 9.6 database uses the unknown data type, an upgrade to version 10 shows an error message like this:

"The instance could not be upgraded because the 'unknown' data type is used in user tables. Please remove all usages of the 'unknown' data type and try again."

This is a PostgreSQL limitation, and RDS automation doesn't modify columns using the unknown data type. You might need to modify these columns manually before the upgrade.

Run this query to find columns in your database with unknown data type:

SELECT DISTINCT data_type FROM information_schema.columns WHERE data_type ILIKE 'unknown';

After identifying the columns, you can remove these columns or modify them to a supported data type.

Read replica upgrade failure (RDS for PostgreSQL only): PostgreSQL instance has read replicas, then read replica upgrade failures might cause your primary instance upgrade to get stuck. Read replica upgrade failure might also result in failure of the primary instance upgrade. A failed read replica is placed in the incompatible-restore state, and replication stops on the DB instance.

A read replica upgrade might fail for one of these reasons:

  • The read replica is unable to catch up with the primary DB instance even after the wait time.
  • The read replica is in a terminal or incompatible lifecycle state, such as storage-full or incompatible-restore.
  • When the primary DB instance upgrade starts, a separate minor version upgrade is running on the read replica.
  • The read replica uses incompatible parameters.
  • The read replica is unable to communicate with the primary DB instance to synchronize the data folder.

To resolve this issue, delete the read replica. Then, recreate a new read replica based on the upgraded primary instance after the primary instance is upgraded.

Incorrect primary user name: If the primary user name starts with "pg_", then the upgrade fails, and you see the following error message:

PreUpgrade checks failed: The instance could not be upgraded because one or more role names start with 'pg_'. Please rename  all roles with names that start with 'pg_' and try again

To resolve this issue, create another user with the rds_superuser role. You can contact AWS Support to update this user as the new primary user.

Incompatible parameter error: This error occurs if a memory-related parameter, such as shared_buffer or work_memory, is set to a higher value. This can cause the upgrade script to fail. To fix the issue, reduce the values of these parameters, and then try running the upgrade again.

Extensions not updated before the upgrade: A major version upgrade doesn’t upgrade any PostgreSQL extensions. If you didn't update the extensions before performing a major version upgrade, then you see this error in the pg_upgrade.log file:

The Logs indicates that the RDS instance ''xxxx'' has older version of PostGIS extension or its dependent extensions (address_standardizer,address_standardizer_data_us, postgis_tiger_geocoder, postgis_topology, postgis_raster) installed as against the current version required for the upgrade.

This error message indicates an issue with the PostGIS extension.

Run this query to check the default and installed versions for PostGIS and its dependent extensions:

SELECT name, default_version, installed_version
FROM pg_available_extensions WHERE installed_version IS NOT NULL AND
name LIKE 'postgis%' OR name LIKE 'address%';

If the value for installed_version is less than that of the default_version, then you must update PostGIS to the default version. To do this, run this query:

ALTER EXTENSION extension_name UPDATE TO 'default_version_number';

For more information, see Upgrading PostgreSQL extensions for RDS for PostgreSQL or Upgrading PostgreSQL extensions for Aurora PostgreSQL.

Issue in views due to change in system catalog of the target version: Columns in the certain views vary across different PostgreSQL versions.

For example, you might see an error message like this:

PreUpgrade checks failed: The instance could not be upgraded because one or more databases have views or materialized views which depend on 'pg_stat_activity'. Please drop them and try again.

This error occurs when you upgrade the database from version 9.5 to 9.6. This error is caused due to the pg_stat_activity view because the column waiting is replaced with wait_event_type and wait_event columns in version 9.6.

pg_restore: from TOC entry xxx; xxx xxxx VIEW sys_user_constraints art 
pg_restore: error: could not execute query: ERROR: column c.consrc does not exist LINE 18: "c"."consrc" AS "search_condition", ^ HINT: Perhaps you meant to reference the column "c.conkey" or the column "c.conbin".

This error occurs because the structure of the catalog pg_constraint has changed in PostgreSQL version 12.

You can resolve these issues by dropping the views based on system catalogs of the target version.

Note: Use caution when dropping these views. Be sure to consult with your DBA.

Other considerations

  • The pg_upgrade utility produces two logs: pg_upgrade_internal.log and pg_upgrade_server.log. Amazon RDS appends a timestamp to the file name for these logs. View these logs to get more information about the issues and errors encountered during the upgrade. For more information, see Monitoring Amazon RDS log files for RDS for PostgreSQL or Monitoring Amazon Aurora log files for Aurora for PostgreSQL.
  • When the upgrade is complete, upgrade the pg_statistics table by running ANALYZE on all user databases. A major upgrade doesn’t move the content of the pg_statistics table to the new version. Skipping this step might result in slow running queries.
  • If you upgraded to PostgreSQL version 10, then run REINDEX on any hash indexes you have. Hash indexes were changed in version 10 and must be rebuilt. To locate invalid hash indexes, run this SQL for each database that contains hash indexes:
SELECT idx.indrelid::regclass AS table_name, 
   idx.indexrelid::regclass AS index_name 
FROM pg_catalog.pg_index idx
   JOIN pg_catalog.pg_class cls ON cls.oid = idx.indexrelid 
   JOIN pg_catalog.pg_am am ON am.oid = cls.relam 
WHERE am.amname = 'hash' 
AND NOT idx.indisvalid;

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?