如何排查我的 RDS for SQL Server 实例上的高 CPU 使用率问题?

上次更新日期:2022 年 10 月 4 日

对于 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库实例,我的 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 上的 CPU 使用率很高。我该如何排查并解决高 CPU 使用率的问题?

简短描述

CPU 使用率增加的常见原因包括:

  • 用户发起的繁重工作负载、多个并发查询或长时间运行的事务
  • 为工作负载使用预置不足的实例类
  • 过时的统计数据和索引碎片或缺少索引
  • 有改进余地的查询
  • 阻塞和死锁
  • 并行性
  • 频繁的编译和重新编译
  • 参数嗅探
  • 线程耗尽

要确定 Amazon RDS for SQL Server 实例中 CPU 使用率的来源,请使用以下工具:

  • Amazon RDS 的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标
  • 增强监控
  • Performance Insights
  • SQL Server 原生工具

在确定产生原因之后,您可以分析和优化工作负载,以减少 CPU 使用率。

解决方法

Amazon RDS 的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标

您可以使用 CloudWatch 指标来确定长期的 CPU 模式。将 WriteIOPs、ReadIOPs、ReadThroughput 和 WriteThroughput 的图表与 CPU 利用率进行比较,以找到工作负载导致高 CPU 利用率的时间。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon RDS 的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标

如果您使用的是 t2 或 t3 实例类中的实例,请检查您的实例是否预置不足。如果您看到 CPU 积分余额持续减少,CPU 积分使用率持续增加,则您的 CPU 内核不足以应对工作负载。

确定时间范围后,您可以查看与数据库实例关联的增强监控数据。您可以将增强监控设置为每隔 1、5、10、15、30 或 60 秒收集一次数据。这样做让您可以在比 CloudWatch 更精细的级别收集数据。

增强监控

如果您已设置增强监控,则可以使用它来监控数据库实例上运行的操作系统。要使用增强监控来检查 CPU 使用率,请执行以下操作:

  1. RDS 控制台中,选择 Databases(数据库),然后选择您的数据库。
  2. Monitoring(监控)选项卡上,从Monitoring(监控)下拉菜单中选择 OS process list(操作系统进程列表)。验证高 CPU 是由操作系统、RDS 进程、SQL Server 进程还是 SQL 代理进程驱动的。您还可以检查这些进程使用的 CPU 百分比和内存百分比。
  3. Enhanced monitoring(增强监控)下拉列表中选择指标以检查性能监控器数据。这些指标包括 CPU 空闲时间、内核和用户。这些指标表明 CPU 的大部分时间是闲置、运行内核还是运行用户进程。
  4. 选择 Manage Graphs(管理图表)查看其他指标。然后,您可以选择与 I/O 和磁盘吞吐量相关的指标。这些指标包括读取/秒、写入/秒、读取 Kb/s 和写入 Kb/s。您还可以查看与内存相关的参数,包括可用内存、SQL Server 内存和总内存。这些指标很有用,因为如果您的 CPU 花费大量时间等待资源,就可能会看到 CPU 利用率很高。

有关更多信息,请参阅在 RDS 控制台中查看操作系统指标

    Performance Insights

    您可以使用 Amazon RDS 性能详情来识别造成数据库负载的查询。为此,

    1. 选中与要分析的时间范围相对应的 SQL 选项卡
    2. 确定耗时最长的查询。
    3. 检查资源密集型查询和在此期间观察到的等待事件。以下是经常与 CPU 利用率过高相关的等待事件:
      SOS_SCHEDULER_YIELD:此等待表示工作线程屈服于其他工作线程运行。较高的等待次数和较短的等待时间通常表示查询 CPU 受限。此处的等待时间过长可能是由屈服问题造成的。如果看到此处的等待时间很长,则必须进一步审查工作负载。
      如果 SOS_SCHEDULER_YIELD 是普遍的等待类型,则可能表明 CPU 压力是问题所在。审查工作负载类型并进行其他调整。
      CXPACKET 和 CXCONSUMER:与并行性相关的等待事件通常不是问题。但是,如果等待事件频繁发生并会影响性能,请审查查询并为并行性的成本阈值设置合适的值。确保 SQL Server 在参数组中选择成本较低的并行性参数。
      您还可以根据使用案例将查询或实例级别的 MAXDOP(最大并行度)提高到 1。
      ThreadPool:此等待事件表示线程耗尽。如果您的实例类能够处理此问题,请增加最大工作线程数参数。由于使用过多的线程,可能会发生 ThreadPool 等待。由于阻塞、高工作负载或大量并行查询,会使用过多的线程。或者,这种等待可能是由最大工作线程数参数的配置错误引起的。
    4. 查看数据库指标以了解批量请求、SQL 编译和 SQL 重新编译的次数。检查查询是否被多次编译,这表明存在临时的查询。还要检查是否频繁为给定批次重新编译查询,这表明在查询代码中使用了 with recompile。这两者都会导致 CPU 使用率过高。

    SQL Server 原生工具

    CPU 故障排查的特定查询:有关更多信息,请参阅 Microsoft 文档网站上的 排查 SQL Server 中的高 CPU 使用率问题。重点关注 CPU 密集型查询、更新统计信息、缺失索引和参数嗅探。

    检查执行计划中是否存在性能不佳的查询,然后进行其他调整。 有关更多信息,请参阅 Microsoft 文档网站上的显示实际执行计划

    使用查询和扩展事件排查过度锁定、阻塞和死锁相关问题。 有关更多信息,请参阅 Microsoft 文档网站上的了解和解决 SQL Server 阻塞问题

    注意:在 RDS for SQL Server 中配置扩展事件时,不能使用普通方法保存 XEL 文件。有关如何配置扩展事件的说明,请参阅在 Amazon RDS for SQL Server 中设置扩展事件

    使用 SQL Server 报告可获得在 SQL Server 中原生提供的性能报告。 使用这些报告来微调您的工作负载。有关更多信息,请参阅 Microsoft 文档网站上的性能控制面板


    这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


    您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How do I troubleshoot high CPU utilization on my RDS for SQL Server instance?

Last updated: 2022-10-04

I'm experiencing high CPU utilization on my Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for Microsoft SQL Server DB instances. How can I troubleshoot and resolve high CPU utilization?

Short description

Common reasons for increases in CPU utilization include the following:

  • User-initiated heavy workloads, multiple concurrent queries, or long-running transactions
  • Using an under-provisioned instance class for the workload
  • Out-of-date statistics and index fragmentation or missing indexes
  • Queries with scope for improvement
  • Blocking and deadlocks
  • Parallelism
  • Frequent compilation and recompilation
  • Parameter sniffing
  • Thread exhaustion

To identify the source of the CPU usage in your Amazon RDS for SQL Server instance, use the following tools:

  • Amazon CloudWatch metrics for Amazon RDS
  • Enhanced Monitoring
  • Performance Insights
  • SQL Server native tools

After you identify the source, you can analyze and optimize your workload to reduce CPU usage.

Resolution

Amazon CloudWatch metrics for Amazon RDS

You can use CloudWatch metrics to identify CPU patterns over extended periods. Compare the graphs for WriteIOPs, ReadIOPs, ReadThroughput, and WriteThroughput, along with the CPU utilization to find the times when the workload caused high CPU. For more information, see Amazon CloudWatch metrics for Amazon RDS.

If you're using an instance from the t2 or t3 instance class, check if your instance is under-provisioned. If you see a consistent decrease in the CPU credit balance and consistently increased CPU credit usage, your CPU cores aren't enough for your workload.

After identifying the time frame, you can review the Enhanced Monitoring data associated with your DB instance. You can set Enhanced Monitoring to collect data at intervals of 1, 5, 10, 15, 30, or 60 seconds. Doing this allows you to collect data at a more granular level than CloudWatch.

Enhanced Monitoring

If you have set up Enhanced Monitoring, you can use it to monitor the OS running on your DB instance. To check CPU utilization using Enhanced Monitoring, do the following:

  1. In the RDS console, select Databases, then choose your database.
  2. On the Monitoring tab, select OS process list from the Monitoring drop down menu. Verify if the high CPU is driven by the OS, an RDS process, a SQL Server process, or a SQL Agent process. You can also check the percentage of CPU and percentage of memory being used by these processes.
  3. Select metrics from the Enhanced monitoring dropdown list to check performance monitor data. These metrics include CPU idle, Kernel, and User. These metrics tell you if the CPU is spending most of the time idle, running the kernel, or running user processes.
  4. View other metrics by selecting Manage Graphs. You can then select the metrics related to I/O and disk throughput. These metrics include Read/s, Write/s, Read Kb/s, and Write Kb/s. You can also view memory-related parameters including Available Memory, SQL Server Memory, and Total Memory. These metrics are helpful because if your CPU is spending a lot of time waiting for resources, you might see high CPU utilization.

For more information, see Viewing OS metrics in the RDS console.

    Performance Insights

    You can use Amazon RDS Performance Insights to identify queries responsible for the database load. To do this,

    1. Check the SQL tab that corresponds to the time-frame you want to analyze.
    2. Identify the query that is taking the longest.
    3. Check the resource-intensive query and the wait events observed during this period. The following are wait events frequently associated with high CPU utilization:
      SOS_SCHEDULER_YIELD: This wait indicates that a worker yielded for someone else to run. High wait counts with low wait times usually indicate CPU-bound queries. High wait times here might be caused by issues with yielding. If you see a long wait time here, you must further review the workload.
      If SOS_SCHEDULER_YIELD is the prevalent wait type, it might indicate that CPU pressure is the problem. Review the type of workload and perform additional tuning.
      CXPACKET and CXCONSUMER: Parallelism-related wait events usually aren't a concern. But, if wait events are frequent and impacting performance, review the queries and set suitable values for the cost threshold of parallelism. Make sure that SQL Server is choosing the lower cost parallelism parameter in the parameter group.
      You can also increase the MAXDOP (max degree of parallelism) to 1 at the query or instance-level based on your use case.
      ThreadPool: This wait event indicates thread exhaustion. If your instance class is capable of handling it, increase the max worker threads parameter. ThreadPool waits might occur due to excessive threads being used. Excessive threads are used due to blocking, a high workload, or a high number of parallel queries. Or, this wait might be caused by misconfiguration of the max worker threads parameter.
    4. Check the Database Metrics for batch requests, SQL compilations, and SQL recompilation's. Check if queries are being compiled many times, indicating improvised queries. Also check if queries are recompiled frequently for a given batch, indicating the use of with recompile in the query code. Both of these cause high CPU usage.

    SQL Server native tools

    Specific queries for CPU troubleshooting: For more information, see Troubleshoot high-CPU-usage issues in SQL Server on the Microsoft documentation website. Focus on the CPU intensive queries, update statistics, missing indexes, and parameter sniffing.

    Check the execution plan for poor performing queries and perform additional tuning. For more information, see Display an actual execution plan on the Microsoft documentation website.

    Troubleshoot excessive locking, blocking, and deadlock-related issues using queries and Extended Events. For more information, see Understand and resolve SQL Server blocking problems on the Microsoft documentation website.

    Note: You can't use the normal method for saving XEL files when configuring Extended Events in RDS for SQL Server. For instructions on how to configure extended events, see Set up Extended Events in Amazon RDS for SQL Server.

    Use SQL Server reports to get the performance reports available natively in SQL Server. Use these reports to fine tune your workload. For more information, see Performance Dashboard on the Microsoft documentation website.


    Did this article help?


    Do you need billing or technical support?