如何读取 Amazon RDS for SQL Server 中的服务器端跟踪?

上次更新日期:2019 年 12 月 20 日

如何读取 Amazon Relational Database Service(Amazon RDS)for SQL Server 中的服务器端跟踪?

简短描述

Amazon RDS 是一项托管式服务,因此不会授予用户访问操作系统的权限。如果您使用 SQL Server 的自托管式安装,则可以访问主机,并可以使用分析器 GUI 打开跟踪文件。您可以通过远程连接到 Amazon RDS 数据库实例并收集跟踪来运行客户端跟踪。随后会在远程客户端上创建跟踪文件。由于分析器是客户端工具,因此如果连接中断,跟踪将会停止。要避免连接中断,您可以运行服务器端跟踪

解决方法

使用 T-SQL 语句读取服务器端跟踪

1.    通过运行类似于以下 T-SQL 语句的命令来确定服务器中当前运行的跟踪:

select * from sys.traces;

注意:sys.traces 目录视图包含系统上当前运行的跟踪。

2.    通过运行类似于以下 fn_trace_gettable 函数的命令来读取跟踪文件:

select * from ::fn_trace_gettable('D:\rdsdbdata\log\rdstest.trc', default);

3.    您可以选择将服务器端跟踪结果保存到数据库表。然后,通过运行类似于以下 fn_trace_gettable 函数的命令,可以将数据库表用作 Tuning Advisor 的工作负载:

SELECT * INTO RDSTrace
FROM fn_trace_gettable('D:\rdsdbdata\Log\RDSTrace.trc', default);

注意:这些命令会将 D:\rdsdbdata\Log 目录中名为 RDSTrace.trc 的所有文件(包括 RDSTrace_1.trc 等所有滚动更新文件)的结果加载到位于当前数据库中的名为 RDSTrace 的表中。

跟踪文件和转储文件会累积,并可能会填满磁盘空间。默认情况下,Amazon RDS 会清除超过 7 天的跟踪文件和转储文件。您可以使用 rds_set_configuration 存储过程来设置跟踪文件保留期,从而修改跟踪文件的保留期。以下存储过程会将跟踪文件保留期设置为 24 小时(1440 分钟):

exec rdsadmin..rds_set_configuration 'tracefile retention', 1440;

Mershad shows you how to
read server-side traces in
Amazon RDS for SQL Server

mershad_BLR0718

How can I read server-side traces in Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) for SQL Server? 

Amazon RDS is a managed service, and therefore it does not give users access to the operating system. If you use a self-hosted installation of SQL Server, you have access to the host, and you can use the profiler GUI to open a trace file. You can run a client-side trace by connecting to the Amazon RDS DB instance remotely and collecting the trace. The trace file is then created on a remote client. Because the profiler is a client-side tool, the trace stops if the connection is lost. To avoid lost connections, you can run a server-side trace.

Read server-side traces using T-SQL statements

1. Identify the currently running traces in the server by running a command similar to the following T-SQL statement:

 select * from sys.traces;

Note: The sys.traces catalog view contains the current running traces on the system.

2. Read the trace file by running a command similar to the following fn_trace_gettable function:  

 select * from ::fn_trace_gettable('D:\rdsdbdata\log\rdstest.trc', default). 

3. Optionally, you can save server-side trace results to a database table and then use the database table as the workload for the Tuning Advisor by running a command similar to the following fn_trace_gettable function:  

SELECT * INTO RDSTrace
FROM fn_trace_gettable('D:\rdsdbdata\Log\RDSTrace.trc', default); 

Note: These commands load the results of all files named RDSTrace.trc in the D:\rdsdbdata\Log directory—including all rollover files such as RDSTrace_1.trc—into a table named RDSTrace that is located in the current database.

Trace and dump files accumulate, and they can fill up disk space. By default, Amazon RDS purges trace and dump files that are more than seven days old. You can modify the retention period for trace files by using the rds_set_configuration stored procedure to set the trace file retention. The following stored procedure sets the trace file retention period to 24 hours (1440 minutes): 

exec rdsadmin..rds_set_configuration 'tracefile retention', 1440;

Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center.

Published: 2018-07-26