Why can't I delete my snapshot in Amazon Redshift?

Last updated: 2020-10-15

I'm trying to delete a snapshot of my Amazon Redshift cluster. However, I receive an error message that states that my snapshot is shared with another account. How do I resolve this?

Short description

If you're trying to delete a snapshot that is shared with another AWS account, you might encounter the following error message:

"Cannot delete the snapshot- xxx-xxx-xxx because other accounts still have access to it."

To resolve this error message, remove the shared access from the AWS account that created the cluster snapshot in Amazon Redshift. Then, delete your cluster snapshot.

Resolution

To delete a shared cluster snapshot using the Amazon Redshift console, perform the following steps:

1.    Sign in to the AWS Management Console with the AWS account that created the cluster snapshot.

2.    Open the Amazon Redshift console.

3.    Under Clusters, choose the snapshot that you want to delete.

4.    Choose Actions.

5.    Choose Manage Access to view the access settings for your cluster.

6.    Choose Remove Account to delete the shared access of your cluster snapshot.

7.    Delete your cluster snapshot.

To delete a shared cluster snapshot using the AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI), perform the following steps:

Note: If you receive errors when running AWS CLI commands, make sure that you’re using the most recent AWS CLI version.

1.    Revoke the shared snapshot access using the revoke-snapshot-access command:

aws redshift revoke-snapshot-access --snapshot-id my-snapshot-id --account-with-restore-access <AWS-account-id-with-access>

2.    Delete your Amazon Redshift cluster snapshot using the delete-cluster-snapshot command:

aws redshift delete-cluster-snapshot --snapshot-identifier my-snapshot-id

Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?