我为什么无法执行 Amazon Redshift 集群的弹性大小调整?

上次更新时间:2020 年 9 月 2 日

我尝试使用 AWS CloudFormation 为我的 Amazon Redshift 集群执行弹性大小调整。但是,它执行了一个经典的大小调整。为什么会发生这种情况?

解决方法

重要提示:如果您使用 Amazon Redshift 控制台调整集群的大小,则该集群不会在 AWS CloudFormation 模板中注册。反之,使用 AWS CloudFormation 模板确保 numberofNodes 参数得到更新。否则,尽管满足了调整大小的要求,但 Amazon Redshift 仍可能会执行经典的大小调整。如果自上次调整大小以来节点计数没有任何更改,Amazon Redshift 将采用这种方式。

如果以下任何要求未得到满足,Amazon Redshift 将执行经典的大小调整:

  • 仅修改了 numberofNodes 参数。
  • 对于 dc2.large 或 ds2.xlarge 节点类型,您只能将节点数加倍或将节点计数减少到原始集群的一半。
  • 对于 dc2.8xlarge 或 ds2.8xlarge 节点类型,您最多可以将大小调整为原始节点计数的两倍,或者将大小调整到原始节点计数的一半。例如,您可以将 16 个节点集群的大小调整为 8 与 32 个节点之间的任何大小。
  • 节点数量不能超过切片数量。切片数量在 Amazon Redshift 集群启动时确定。例如,如果您启动具有两个 dc2.large 节点的集群,则该集群有四个切片。因此,在使用弹性调整大小时,您只能将节点计数增加到四个节点。

如果您的 Amazon Redshift 集群执行了经典大小调整,请调查以下方面:

  • 检查 Amazon Redshift 控制台以确认您的集群中的实际节点数量。验证它是否与您的 AWS CloudFormation 模板中的 numberofNodes 参数匹配。
  • 使用 DescribeClusters API 从 AWS CloudTrail 中检索信息并确定根本原因分析。在 AWS CloudTrail 日志中查找 elasticResizeNumberOfNodeOptions 参数,以验证您的 Amazon Redshift 集群是否符合弹性大小调整资格。如果参数未列出用于更新节点计数的选项,则会确认集群切片无法满足弹性调整大小的要求。

注意:在为您的 Amazon Redshift 集群更新节点计数之前,请使用 DescribeNodeConfigurationOptions APIDescribeNodeConfigurationOptions API 可以帮助您为节点计数和类型等弹性大小调整确定适当的节点配置。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

Why am I unable to perform elastic resize for my Amazon Redshift cluster?

Last updated: 2020-09-02

I tried to perform an elastic resize using AWS CloudFormation for my Amazon Redshift cluster. However, it performed a classic resize instead. Why is this happening?

Resolution

Important: If you resized the cluster using the Amazon Redshift console, it isn't registered in the AWS CloudFormation template. Instead, use the AWS CloudFormation template to be sure that the numberofNodes parameter gets updated. Otherwise, Amazon Redshift might perform a classic resize, despite meeting the resize requirements. Amazon Redshift behaves this way when there are no changes to the node count since the last resize.

Amazon Redshift performs a classic resize if any of these requirements aren't met:

  • Only the numberofNodes parameter is modified.
  • For dc2.large or ds2.xlarge node types, you can only double the node count or decrease the node count by half of the original cluster.
  • For dc2.8xlarge or ds2.8xlarge node types, you can resize up to two times the original node count, or resize down to half of the original node count. For example, you can resize a 16 node cluster to any size that is between 8 and 32 nodes.
  • The number of nodes cannot exceed the number of slices. The number of slices are determined when the Amazon Redshift cluster is launched. For example, if you launch a cluster with two dc2.large nodes, then there are four slices of the cluster. Therefore, you'll only be able to increase your node count to four nodes when using elastic resize.

If your Amazon Redshift cluster performed a classic resize, investigate the following areas:

  • Check the Amazon Redshift console to confirm the actual number of nodes in your cluster. Verify whether it matches the numberofNodes parameter in your AWS CloudFormation template.
  • Use the DescribeClusters API to retrieve information from AWS CloudTrail and determine root cause analysis. Look for the elasticResizeNumberOfNodeOptions parameter in the AWS CloudTrail logs to verify whether your Amazon Redshift cluster is eligible for an elastic resize. If the parameter does not list an option to update node count, it confirms that the cluster slices failed to meet the elastic resize requirements.

Note: Before updating the node count for your Amazon Redshift cluster, use the DescribeNodeConfigurationOptions API. The DescribeNodeConfigurationOptions API can help you determine the appropriate node configurations for an elastic resize such as node count and type.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?