如何排查 Route 53 规则和出站终端节点的反向 DNS 问题?

上次更新时间:2020 年 7 月 16 日

我设置了 Amazon Route 53 解析程序规则和出站终端节点。这些规则和终端节点旨在管理我在本地 DNS 服务器上的 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) 的反向 DNS。但是,它们未按预期方式工作。我应该如何排查此问题?

简短描述

您可以使用反向 DNS 查找来返回 IP 地址的域名。反向 DNS 记录的格式在命名空间“in-addr.arpa.”的涵盖范围之内,其子域表示为倒序的 IP 地址八进制数。记录类型为指针 (PTR)。

例如,假设您有一个 CIDR 范围为 172.31.0.0/16 的 Virtual Private Cloud (VPC)。在 VPC 中,您有一个 IP 地址为 172.31.2.23 的实例。此 VPC 的反向区域是 31.172.in-addr.arpa。此实例的 IP 地址的反向记录是 23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa。

您可以通过运行 dig 或 nslookup 来检查 DNS 响应。这些工具允许您直接测试 IP 地址并代表您自己执行反向查找。在以下输出示例中,请注意查询直接发送到 IP 地址 172.31.2.23。dig 和 nslookup 都针对名称 23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa 执行解析。

在 dig 中使用 -x 参数,您就可以执行反向 DNS 解析。当您使用此参数时,dig 将自动添加名称、类和类型参数。请参阅“问题部分”以观摩 dig 自动查询正确的名称 (23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.)、类 (IN) 和记录类型 (PTR)。

dig -x 172.31.2.23:

; <<>> DiG 9.11.4-P2-RedHat-9.11.4-9.P2.amzn2.0.2 <<>> -x 172.31.2.23
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 58812
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; 
OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.    IN    PTR

;; 
ANSWER SECTION:
23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa. 60    IN    PTR    testresolution.com.

nslookup 对 IP 地址执行反向查找:

nslookup 172.31.2.23
23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa    name = testresolution.com.

解决方法

了解查询流程

请务必了解使用关于 VPC 和出站终端节点的解析规则时的查询流程。了解该流程可帮助您找出可能出现潜在问题的位置并指导您完成排查。该流程如下所示:

  1. VPC 中的客户端对同一 VPC 内的地址执行反向 DNS 解析。
  2. 查询到达 VPC DNS 解析程序(VPC CIDR 范围 + 2)。
  3. 查询由 VPC 上的解析程序规则匹配。
  4. 该查询由出站终端节点通过 VPN 或 AWS Direct Connect 连接发送到目标 IP 地址。
    注意:目标 IP 地址是管理该 VPC 的 CIDR 范围的反向 DNS 的本地 DNS 服务器。

识别预期和实际 DNS 响应

使用 dig 和 nslookup 直接对您的本地 DNS 服务器的 IP 地址执行查询。这些工具尝试解析正确的记录名称。请务必记下返回的实际 DNS 响应代码。请记住,意外响应代码可能并不表示存在规则或终端节点配置问题。例如:

  • NXDOMAIN 可能是意外但有效的 DNS 响应。此响应表示正在查询的服务器不包含请求的记录。
  • SERVFAIL 表示查询路径上存在超时或其他问题。此响应需要进一步调查,本文中随后将会阐述。
  • ANSWER SECTION 中的意外回复可能表示使用了不同的规则。

确定查询是否到达了 VPC DNS 解析程序

为了使查询可被 VPC 上的规则匹配,该查询必须到达 VPC DNS 解析程序。检查 VPC 设置以确认启用了 DNS Support(DNS 支持)。

请参阅 dig 和 nslookup 中的服务器字段以检查解析程序 IP 地址。

dig:

;; SERVER: 172.31.0.2#53(172.31.0.2)

nslookup:

Server:		172.31.0.2

查找正在匹配的最具体的规则

当查询到达 VPC DNS 解析程序时,它必须被 VPC 上的规则匹配。评估规则时,将会匹配最具体的规则。在内部,创建规则以涵盖对源和连接的 VPC 内的每个 IP 地址进行的所有反向查找。这些规则不显示在 AWS 管理控制台中。这些规则称为自动定义规则,它们由 Route 53 解析程序创建。

  1. 识别 VPC 和连接的 VPC 上的任何自动定义规则。如果您有对等 VPC 或通过传输网关连接的 VPC(并启用了 DNS 支持),请记下为连接的每个 CIDR 的反向解析创建的所有规则。
    注意:当 DNS 主机名设置为 true 时,解析程序创建这些自动定义规则。如果您想覆盖自动定义规则,您可以为相同域名创建条件转发规则。
  2. 如果已启用 DNSSupport 和 DNSHostnames,请注意关联到该 VPC 的任何私有托管区域。
    注意:如果解析程序转发规则和私有托管区域重叠,则解析程序规则优先。然后,该查询会被转发到本地服务器。
  3. 对照查询比较您的规则列表和关联的私有托管区域,以确定哪些规则已被选定以及查询发送到的位置。

排查您的出站终端节点

  • 确认您的出站终端节点已配置为将查询发送到规则中指定的目标 IP 地址。
  • 确认出站终端节点所用的安全组允许至本地 DNS 服务器的 IP 地址和端口的出站 TCP 和 UDP 流量。
  • 确认访问控制列表 (ACL) 允许至本地 DNS 服务器的 IP 地址和端口的 TCP 和 UDP 流量。该 ACL 还必须允许至临时端口 (1024-65535) 的流量。
  • 确认出站终端节点的路由表中包含本地服务器的 IP 地址至 VPN 或 Direct Connect 连接的路由。

检查出站终端节点是否可通过其路由表中指定的连接发送查询

您可以直接对本地 DNS 解析程序的 IP 地址运行 dig 或 nslookup,以验证 VPN 或 Direct Connect 连接允许通信。您还可以向允许 Internet 控制消息协议 (ICMP) 的本地主机发送 ping 以排除连接问题。


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

How can I troubleshoot reverse DNS issues with Route 53 rules and outbound endpoints?

Last updated: 2020-07-16

I set up Amazon Route 53 Resolver rules and outbound endpoints. These rules and endpoints are intended to manage the reverse DNS of my virtual private cloud (VPC) at an on-premises DNS server. However, they aren't working as intended. How can I troubleshoot this?

Short description

You can use reverse DNS lookup to return the domain name of an IP address. The format of a reverse DNS record falls under the namespace "in-addr.arpa.", where the subdomain is represented by the octets of the IP address in reverse order. The record type is pointer (PTR).

For example, suppose you have a virtual private cloud (VPC) with the CIDR range 172.31.0.0/16. In the VPC, you have an instance with an IP address of 172.31.2.23. The reverse zone for this VPC is 31.172.in-addr.arpa. The reverse record of this instance's IP address is 23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.

You can check the DNS response by running dig or nslookup. These tools allow you to test directly to the IP address and perform the reverse lookup on your behalf. In the following output examples, notice that the query is sent directly to the IP address 172.31.2.23. Both dig and nslookup perform a resolution against the name 23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.

Using the -x parameter with dig, you can perform a reverse DNS resolution. When you use this parameter, dig automatically adds the name, class, and type arguments. Refer to the QUESTION SECTION to see that dig automatically queried the correct name (23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.), class (IN), and record type (PTR).

dig -x 172.31.2.23:

; <<>> DiG 9.11.4-P2-RedHat-9.11.4-9.P2.amzn2.0.2 <<>> -x 172.31.2.23
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 58812
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; 
OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa.    IN    PTR

;; 
ANSWER SECTION:
23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa. 60    IN    PTR    testresolution.com.

An nslookup on an IP address performs a reverse lookup:

nslookup 172.31.2.23
23.2.31.172.in-addr.arpa    name = testresolution.com.

Resolution

Understand the query flow

It's important to understand the query flow when using resolver rules on a VPC and outbound endpoints. Understanding the flow can help you identify where potential issues might occur and guide your troubleshooting approach. The flow is as follows:

  1. A client in the VPC performs a reverse DNS resolution for an address within the same VPC.
  2. The query arrives at the VPC DNS resolver (VPC CIDR range plus 2).
  3. The query is matched by a resolver rule on the VPC.
  4. The query is sent by the outbound endpoint to the target IP addresses over a VPN or AWS Direct Connect connection.
    Note: The target IP addresses are on-premises DNS servers that manage the reverse DNS for the CIDR range of the VPC.

Identify the expected and actual DNS responses

Use dig and nslookup to perform queries directly to the IP address of your on-premises DNS server. These tools try to resolve the correct record name. Be sure to note the actual DNS response code that's returned. Keep in mind that an unexpected response code might not indicate an issue with the rule or endpoint configuration. For example:

  • NXDOMAIN might be an unexpected but valid DNS response. This response indicates that the server that's being queried doesn't contain the requested record.
  • SERVFAIL indicates that there's a timeout or other issue on the path of the query. This response requires further investigation, as described later in this article.
  • An unexpected answer in the ANSWER SECTION might indicate that a different rule was used.

Determine if the query arrives at the VPC DNS resolver

For a query to be matched by a rule on a VPC, the query must arrive at the VPC DNS resolver. Check the VPC settings to confirm that DNS Support is enabled.

Refer to the server fields in both dig and nslookup to check the resolver IP address.

dig:

;; SERVER: 172.31.0.2#53(172.31.0.2)

nslookup:

Server:		172.31.0.2

Find the most specific rule that's being matched

When the query arrives at the VPC DNS resolver, it must be matched by a rule on that VPC. When rules are evaluated, the most specific rule is matched. Internally, rules are created to cover all reverse lookups of every IP address in the source and connected VPCs. These rules don't display in the AWS Management Console. These rules are known as autodefined rules and they're created by Route 53 Resolver.

  1. Identify any autodefined rules on the VPC and connected VPCs. If you have peered VPCs or VPCs connected through a transit gateway (and DNS support is enabled), make note of all rules created for the reverse resolution of each connected CIDR.
    Note: Resolver creates these autodefined rules when DNS Hostnames is set to true. If you want to override an autodefined rule, you can create a conditional forwarding rule for the same domain name.
  2. If DNSSupport and DNSHostnames are enabled, note any private hosted zones associated to the VPC.
    Note: If the resolver forwarder rule and private hosted zone are overlapping, the resolver rule takes precedence. Then, the query is forwarded to the on-premises server.
  3. Compare your list of rules and associated private hosted zones against the query to determine which rule is selected and where the query goes.

Troubleshoot your outbound endpoints

  • Confirm that your outbound endpoints are configured to send the query to the target IP addresses specified in the rule.
  • Confirm that the security group used by the outbound endpoints allow outbound TCP and UDP traffic to the IP addresses and ports of the on-premises DNS server.
  • Confirm that the access control lists (ACLs) allow TCP and UDP traffic to the IP addresses and ports of the on-premise DNS server. The ACLs must also allow traffic to the ephemeral ports (1024-65535).
  • Confirm that the route tables for the outbound endpoints have a route for the IP addresses of the on-premises server to the VPN or Direct Connect connection.

Check if the outbound endpoint can send the query over the connection specified in its route table

You can run a dig or nslookup directly to the IP address of the on-premises DNS resolver to verify that the VPN or Direct Connect connection is allowing communication. You can also send a ping to an on-premises host that allows internet control message protocol (ICMP) to rule out issues on the connection.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?