当我使用 AWS KMS 在 Amazon S3 存储桶上启用默认加密时,新的或现有的对象会怎样?

上次更新日期:2020 年 12 月 18 日

我想在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶上使用 AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) 启用默认加密。我已在存储桶中存储了对象。如果启用默认加密,现有对象的加密会怎样? 当我上传具有不同加密设置的新对象时会怎样?

解决方法

您在存储桶上启用默认 AWS KMS 加密后,Amazon S3 仅将默认加密应用于您上传的、未指定加密设置的新对象。

默认存储桶加密不会更改现有对象的加密设置。例如,如果您使用 AWS KMS (SSE-KMS) 在存储桶上启用服务器端加密,则存储桶中已有的所有未加密对象仍处于未加密状态。此外,已使用 SSE-KMS、SSE-S3 或 SSE-C 加密的所有对象均处于使用各自密钥加密的状态。

默认存储桶加密也不会覆盖上传新对象时指定的加密设置。例如,如果您使用默认 SSE-KMS 加密在存储桶的 PutObject 请求中指定 AES256 加密,则该对象会保持 AES256 加密 (SSE-S3) 状态。

如果您的存储桶已启用默认加密,但是您看到的是新上传的、具有不同加密设置的对象,请检查 AWS CloudTrail 数据事件日志。PUT、POST 和 InitiateMultipartUpload API 请求的日志都有 SSEApplied 字段。如果此字段的值为 Default_SSE_S3Default_SSE_KMS,则该对象已启用默认加密。如果值为 SSE_S3SSE_KMS,则该对象采用的是 PutObject 请求中指定的加密设置。

注意:要请求使用 SSE-KMS 上传的对象,您可以使用存储桶策略接入点策略或 AWS Organizations 服务控制策略。</p


这篇文章对您有帮助吗?


您是否需要账单或技术支持?

What happens to new or existing objects when I enable default encryption with AWS KMS on my Amazon S3 bucket?

Last updated: 2020-12-18

I want to enable default encryption using AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) on my Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) bucket. I already have objects stored in the bucket. If I enable default encryption, what happens to the encryption of existing objects? What happens when I upload new objects with different encryption settings?

Resolution

After you enable default AWS KMS encryption on your bucket, Amazon S3 applies the default encryption only to new objects that you upload without any specified encryption settings.

Default bucket encryption doesn't change the encryption settings of existing objects. For example, if you enable server-side encryption with AWS KMS (SSE-KMS) on the bucket, then any unencrypted objects already in the bucket remain unencrypted. Additionally, any objects already encrypted using SSE-KMS, SSE-S3, or SSE-C remain encrypted their respective key.

Default bucket encryption also doesn't override the encryption settings specified in the upload of a new object. For example, if you specify AES256 encryption in your PutObject request to a bucket with default SSE-KMS encryption, then the object maintains AES256 encryption (SSE-S3).

If your bucket has default encryption but you're seeing newly uploaded objects with different encryption settings, then check AWS CloudTrail data event logs. Logs for PUT, POST, and InitiateMultipartUpload API requests have an SSEApplied field. If the value of this field is Default_SSE_S3 or Default_SSE_KMS, then the object has default encryption. If the value is SSE_S3 or SSE_KMS, then the object has the encryption settings specified in the PutObject request.

Note: To require that objects are uploaded with SSE-KMS, you can use a bucket policy, access point policy, or AWS Organizations service control policy.


Did this article help?


Do you need billing or technical support?