如何处理您使用 Amazon SES 发送的电子邮件的高退回率问题?

上次更新时间:2020 年 9 月 25 日

我的 Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) 账户的退回率比正常情况下高。或者,我的退回率激增或者突然增加。它使我的账户处于账户审查或发送暂停风险。如何确定导致退回率增加的原因? 如何防止高退回率?

解决方法

确定退回率增加的原因

要停止退回率增加,您必须确定导致退回的电子邮件地址。要执行此操作,您可以使用 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 主题配置退回通知。从 SNS 通知中,找到导致退回的电子邮件地址。

要确定导致回退率升高或激增的原因,请查看 Amazon SNS 退回通知消息正文中的以下字段:

  • bounceType:临时性退回类型为软退回,它属于临时性失败或拒绝,通常可以进行重试。永久性退回类型为硬退回,它是接收邮件服务器的永久性送达失败或拒绝。硬退回不能重试,因此您的收件人不会收到电子邮件消息。
  • diagnosticCode:此字段中的代码提供有关退回原因的更多信息。

停止向退回率增加的地址发送电子邮件

确定导致退回的电子邮件地址字后,您必须停止向这些地址发送邮件,从而使退回率不会再进一步增加。请务必将这些电子邮件地址从您的电子邮件收件人列表中删除。

此外,请确认您的 Amazon SES 账户已启用账户级黑名单。启用后,此功能可以阻止您的账户向导致硬退回或投诉的地址发送电子邮件,这有助于阻止退回率增加。

解决退回率增加或激增的根本原因

在立即采取措施以停止向导致退回的地址发送电子邮件之后,您必须标识并解决退回增加的根本原因。

导致退回率升高或突然激增的一些最常见原因包括:

  • 如果您将邮件发送至包含具有无效邮箱的收件人的电子邮件列表,您的退回率可能会激增。如果您使用不正确或过时的收件人列表,可能会发生此情况。再次发送消息之前,您必须从列表中删除所有无效的电子邮件地址。有关管理电子邮件列表的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon SES 最佳实践:列表管理的前 5 大最佳实践
  • 根据您的声誉指标,邮箱提供商可以阻止您的 IP 地址发送电子邮件。如果产生大量订阅者投诉,邮箱提供商可能会阻止您的消息。按照邮箱提供商的邮件管理员网站提供的指南移除阻止。
  • 邮箱提供商可以使用第三方黑名单来筛选电子邮件。如果您在邮件被列入黑名单后继续向邮箱发送电子邮件,则您的退回率可能会升高。您可以联系邮箱提供商或黑名单提供商,以了解有关邮件被列入黑名单的原因的信息。当您被移出黑名单后,您必须解决这些问题并相应改变您的发送习惯。否则,您仍存在再次被列入黑名单的风险,并且会收到更多退回邮件。请务必检查将 Amazon SES IP 地址从 IP 黑名单移除的策略

确定退回增加的根本原因之后,请务必检查发送应用程序的设计,因为该设计可能会影响您的退回率。例如,如果您的应用程序在用户注册并输入无效的电子邮件地址时发送确认电子邮件给用户,该确认电子邮件将被硬退回。此外,如果您将应用程序设置为在出现故障和收件人邮箱存在问题时重新发送电子邮件,则您将会继续收到退回邮件。有关您可以在应用程序中为获得成功发送指标而实施的机制的更多建议,请参阅构建并维护列表

有关保持低退回率的方法的更多信息,请参阅如何最大限度地减少退回邮件?

实施退回和投诉监控系统。

为了避免出现高退回率,或者为了快速解决退回增加的问题,最好实施退回和投诉监控系统。

使用 Amazon SES 声誉控制面板来检查您的账户退回和投诉率。使用电子邮件反馈转发、Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 或 Amazon SES 事件发布设置与退回和投诉相关的通知。

对于基于阈值的通知,请为退回和投诉率设置 Amazon CloudWatch 警报。对于在电子邮件发送过程中出现的基于阈值的暂停,请使用 CloudWatch 和 AWS Lambda 以在特定退回或投诉率时自动暂停电子邮件发送。最佳做法是将退回率和投诉率分别维持在 5% 和 0.1% 以下。

通过监控系统和通知,您还可以实施一个解决方案来实现退回处理的自动化,例如在下面的示例中:

How can I handle a high bounce rate with emails that I send using Amazon SES?

Last updated: 2020-09-25

The bounce rate of my Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) account is higher than normal. Or, my bounce rate spiked or increased suddenly. It's putting my account at risk for an account review or a sending pause. How can I identify what's causing the increase in bounce rate? What can I do to prevent a high bounce rate?

Resolution

Identify the cause of the increase in bounce rate

To stop the bounce rate from increasing, you must identify the email addresses that are causing the bounces. To do this, you can configure bounce notifications using an Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) topic. From the SNS notifications, find the email addresses that are resulting in bounces.

To identify what's causing the increase or spike in bounce rate, review the following fields in the message body of the Amazon SNS bounce notifications:

  • bounceType: A Transient bounce type is a soft bounce, which is a temporary failure or rejection that can generally be retried. A Permanent bounce type is a hard bounce, which is a persistent delivery failure or rejection from the receiving mail server. Hard bounces aren't retried, so your recipient doesn't receive the email message.
  • diagnosticCode: The code in this field provides more information on what's causing the bounces.

Stop sending email to the addresses that are increasing your bounce rate

After you identify the email addresses that are resulting in bounces, you must stop sending messages to those addresses so that your bounce rate doesn't increase further. Be sure to remove the email addresses from your email recipient lists.

Additionally, confirm that your Amazon SES account is enabled for an account-level suppression list. When enabled, this feature can prevent your account from sending email to addresses that result in hard bounces or complaints, which can help prevent an increasing bounce rate.

Resolve the root cause of the increase or spike in your bounce rate

After you take the immediate action to stop sending emails to addresses that result in bounces, you must identify and resolve the root cause of the increase in bounces.

Some of the most common reasons for an increase or sudden spike in bounce rate include:

  • You can get a spike in bounces if you send messages to an email list that contains recipients with invalid mailboxes. This can happen if you use an incorrect or out-of-date list of recipients. You must remove any invalid email addresses from the list before sending messages again. For more information on managing email lists, see Amazon SES best practices: Top 5 best practices for list management.
  • Based on your reputation metrics, mailbox providers can block the IP address that you're sending email from. If there's a large number of subscriber complaints, then a mailbox provider might block your messages. Follow the guidance that you find on the mailbox provider's postmaster site to remove the block.
  • Mailbox providers can use a third-party blocklist to filter email. If you continue to send messages to a mailbox after your messages are blocked, then your bounce rate can increase. You can contact the mailbox provider or blocklist provider to get information on why your messages are blocked. After you're removed from a blocklist, you must address the issues and change your sending habits accordingly. Otherwise, you risk getting blocked again and getting more bounces. Be sure to review the policies for removing Amazon SES IP addresses from IP blocklists.

After you identify the root cause of the increase in bounces, be sure to review the design of your sending application because the design can impact your bounce metrics. For example, if your application sends a confirmation email to the user when they sign up and the user enters an invalid email address, then the confirmation email results in a hard bounce. Additionally, if you set up your application to retry sending emails whenever there's a failure and there are issues on the recipient's mailbox, then you continue to get bounces. For more recommendations on mechanisms that you can implement in your application for successful sending metrics, see Building and maintaining your lists.

For more information on ways to keep a low bounce rate, see What can I do to minimize bounces?

Implement a bounce and complaint monitoring system

To avoid a high bounce rate, or to address increasing bounces quickly, it's a best practice to implement a bounce and complaint monitoring system.

Use the Amazon SES reputation dashboard to check your account's bounce and complaint rates. Set up notifications about bounces and complaints using email feedback forwarding, Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), or Amazon SES event publishing.

For threshold-based notifications, set up Amazon CloudWatch alarms for your bounce and complaint rates. For threshold-based pauses in email sending, use CloudWatch and AWS Lambda to automatically pause your email sending at a certain bounce or complaint rate. It's a best practice that you maintain a bounce rate under 5% and a complaint rate under 0.1%.

With a monitoring system and notifications, you can also implement a solution to automate how bounces are processed, such as in the following examples: